We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”
Review of Balsnes Gard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nordfjordeid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balsnes Gard
Ranked #1 of 2 Nordfjordeid B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Norway. We spent 2 days at Balsnes farm as we toured the Nordfjord area. The hosts, Geir and Terese were friendly, gracious, and very helpful answering our endless questions about what to see in Norway (including directions and a map for an exceptional hike and advice about where to see Puffins!) Balsnes Farm is perfect -- personal, relaxing, and comfortable in every way. The food was fantastic -- and even though one of our party has significant dietary restrictions, Terese made an extra effort to ensure that his meals were every bit as good as the meals that she made for the rest of our party. This extra effort and care was so greatly appreciated! We can't wait to return... and highly recommend Balsnes Gard. Geir and Terese, thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephRe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Balsnes farm! The owners, Geir and Teresa, were the perfect hosts: so friendly, personable, took care of us very well & made us feel right at home! We loved all our little conversations with them! They presented us with beautiful and tasty food for breakfasts and dinners, and even packed a lunch for us. This farm was the perfect slice of Norway for us! My husband even got to feed the lamb! And we went to sleep on a super comfortable bed, with the cow bells ringing quietly in the distance! It was a treat to stay at such a small, personal place!! If you are looking for a unique, and very comfortable, pleasant, beautiful place to stay, with excellent food, this is it! Thank you, Geir and Teresa! We treasure the memories! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedtedFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just lovely. in every way. Personal and generous staff, doing everything they can to make you feel comfortable and enjoy your stay. Small hotel with only 4 rooms, but even better for the guests.. Nice food and comfortable new beds. Beautifully decorated with great care to details and mixing old furniture with 'happy' design items and classics. highly recommendable !

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank elisabeth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am a stand up comic and travel around Norway constantly. I've stayed at all sorts of hotels. Balsnes Gård is by far the most personal and uniqe place I have ever performed and stayed at. Terese and Geir is the owners and have renovated a house which has been in Tereses family for 8 generations. Every room is renovated and walking from room to room is like being in a interior magazine and turning to a new page. Each room has it own personality. If you get the chance to stay there, do. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joachimskage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the real version of Norway in a nut shell. Balsnes gard gives you true Norwegian life. And an experience for lifetime. First of all you are hosted by a family that not only gives you superb service. It's delivered with love and real interest in their guests. They say the idea of transforming the old family farm house into a four-room hotel came on an around-the-world-trip some years ago. When they realized they couldn't visit the world on a full time basis, they came up with the solution of inviting the world to their home.
Still - even if you're not interested in interesting people, Balsnes gard is the place to go. There, not only the humans has personality. The hotel itself has an impressive creative touch a boutique hotel worthy. And the food. Mmmmm! Norwegian traditional food in a totally other league than the standard smoked salmon buffet you get at any hotel. And the beds. Zzzz! This is the perfect spot to relax in quiet environment. To read a book. Or to write a book.
And outside is the fjord. The Northwest coast is the best part of Norway, with its mountains, deep valleys, glaciers, fjords. You can look at the nature, or try compete with it - surfing, rafting, skiing (even in summertime). The only drawback with Balsnes is that it's not next door neighbor to any of these attractions. On the other hand, it's right in the middle, with Stryn, Briksdal glacier, Stad surfing and all the other fun within 30-60 min range.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms, and choose the one you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opheia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hans-Olav E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balsnes Gard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsnes Gard

Address: Balsnes, Nordfjordeid 6770, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Eid Municipality > Nordfjordeid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nordfjordeid
Price Range: $178 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small Boutique Hotel in Nordfjordeid, western Norway. An old farm house from 1870 is restored to give our guest a different stay in uniqe rooms, with splendid surroundings and an intimate athmosphere. Local food and beverages are served. Welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing