We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic good for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rjukan Hytteby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rjukan Hytteby
Ranked #2 of 5 Rjukan B&B and Inns
israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very basic good for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights since we wanted to enjoy the hiking in the area. It is a good starting point if you have a car, the area has a lot to offer.The cabin itself is very basic but clean.
Since we stayed there with our 3 children me and my husband had to sleep in bunk beds! Definitely a new experience. It was convenient that we could cook a meal, so we had a great supper. They advertised that they have Wifi but were told that it was out of order. I don't regret reserving the cabin but one time was enough. If you do go ask for a cabin looking on to the river (that we did not have).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysuitcase5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Rjukan Hytteby is a collection of cabins built to a traditional style in the township of Rjukan in the Telemark district. People come to Rjukan for the scenery, walking and to see the famous power station which was the scene of one of the most famous commando raids in WW2 - The Heroes of Telemark. The cabins are cosy, romantic, well equipped and comfortable and fairly spacious. The grounds are attractive and Rjukan is surrounded by towering mountains. The accommodation is very different from your standard hotel and we found it great fun to stay there. There is a restaurant on site and a supermarket nearby. Note there is only one cash machine in town and it was out of order! We had no trouble with our WiFi connection. There is fantastic scenery in all directions and the drive from Oslo to Rjukan is very pleasant as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I've now stayed in the cabins at Rjukan Hytteby twice on successive years. First, the positives (which as you'll see from my four star rating I feel vastly outweigh the few negatives). The cabins are warm, dry, clean and relatively spacious in the living area if you're good friends. The limitless hot water supply, large bathroom and TV are also bonuses, as is the geographical location close to the swimming pool and only a 10 minute walk from the town centre. They are also attractively priced.

There are some negatives however. The cabins are not as spacious as they appear on the photos, consisting of an open plan downstairs living/kitchen area, perhaps about 3m square, with little privacy overall. The kitchen area is extremely basic and borders on the under equipped for five people (two hot plate stove, no grill or kettle, six knives, forks, spoons, plates and mugs, only a limited range of kitchen utensils), but you can make it work with some imagination. The WiFi has not been good on either of my trips, it's certainly not been high speed on either my friend's iPad or android phone this year, or my netbook last year.

In summary, I'd definitely go back, and if you're prepared for the facilities being slightly more limited than advertised you won't be disappointed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank emitchell@1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Clean spacious cabins, a very nice town to stay in. We stayed over Rjukan Hytteby as a stop over for a night before visiting Bergen the next day. The supermart and the gas station is a quick drive from the lodging. Our room was self equipped with a Teflon frying pan and a cooking pot.

Very scenic. The river runs behind the cabin houses, and you can take a slow easy stroll or jog along it in the mornings or evenings.

Wifi however was erratic at best in the cabin and we could not log in unless we went over the restaurant area to connect.
We did not find any heater in our room, and it got pretty cold at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kej_58, Manager at Rjukan Hytteby, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and good critics. We just want to inform our guests that we have installed new wifi. Each cabin now has their own wireless wifi connection. Just to make it clear: All our cabins have electric heating and are warm even on the coldest winter days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is the 4th time we hav stayed here for our annual Mountain Rescue ice climbing trip! would recommend it to anyone! A GEM! The appartment above the shop is worth a visit!

Room Tip: The appartment above the shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

The cabins are superb, we climbed out on the icefalls in Feb 2010 and used the cabin as a halfway house. The showers and cooking area were clean and tidy, superb for a cabin. Lovelly and warm with a great little seating area at the back inc TV and free wifi. The restaurant over the way had great food and the service was great. if you fancy a swim the local swimming baths were just up the rd, inc a good range of shops in the town centre for self catering needs. Highly reccommend this location, we are booked back in in feb 2011.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Rjukan Hytteby cabins are well furnished and equipped. They are in a good location just a few minutes walk to the village and are located alongside a river and at the foot of large mountains....very scenic, especially in the late evening/early morning mist.

They are also a good base to explore from in both directions, as we did with a rented car.

I would definately reccomend this accomodation, as i would a visit to Rjukan itself. Beautiful place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil-grasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rjukan hotels
11.1 mi away
Skinnarbu hoyfjellshotell
4.4 mi away
Gaustablikk Resort
Gaustablikk Resort
#1 of 4 in Rjukan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gaustatopppen Hostel / Kvitaavatn Fjellstoge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rjukan Admini
Rjukan Admini
#1 of 5 in Rjukan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rjukan Gjestegaard
Rjukan Gjestegaard
#4 of 5 in Rjukan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gaustatoppen Booking
Gaustatoppen Booking
#2 of 3 in Rjukan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rjukan Hytteby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rjukan Hytteby

Property: Rjukan Hytteby
Address: Brogata 9, Rjukan 3660, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Tinn Municipality > Rjukan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rjukan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 cabins which are copies of the first workers' houses built in Rjukan during the town's industrialisation at the beginning of the 20th century. Big cabins have a bedroom, sleeping loft, kitchen/lounge, bathroom with shower and WC. Equipped for 5 persons in each cabin. The small cabins are for 2 persons. They have a small kitchen and bathroom with shower and WC. All cabins have cabel-TV and free wireless internet access. Situated in the town centre, close to Rjukan Swimming pool and the sports arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rjukan Hytteby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing