We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but poor room standard”
Review of Gaustablikk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaustablikk Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rjukan
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great view but poor room standard”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spend one night at the hotel in June in connection with a motorcycle trip. The hotel has a stunning location with the view of Gaustablikk. Absolutely breathtaking. I got a single room. Small room, small bed, small bathroom and old carpet on the floor. Looked like a bed & breakfast motel. Anyway, dinner buffet was great but EXPENSIVE. 450 NOK for a buffet dinner ex. beverage. Quality of the food stuff was good but nothing special. Selection of cold and hot food. Breakfast was much better with a typical Norwegian breakfast.

Conclusion: If you are looking for a hotel with a breathtaking view of Gaustatoppen this is the only hotel available and they know it. Expensive, but you have no other alternative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
30
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Something never change - Norwegian "Høyfjellshotell "are still the same .... I had a feeling of - 90 revisited. But the hotel had a nice atmosphere, with great mountain views. The food and service was excellent. Rooms are neat and clean - and pool/jacuzzi/saunas are recommended. The surroundings are good for hiking (summer/autumn) cross-country skiing, and skiing. Just enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing "Gaustatoppen"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KareMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordstrand, Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just spent a wonderful week-end at Gaustablikk Høyfjellshotel! I really enjoyed the beautiful nature and the fantastic skiin-area. We lived in cabins, but we also took a swin and went to the jacuzzi at the hotel. I highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just spent an amazing weekend on Gaustablikk together with good friends! We had an amazing time skiing and enjoying the fantastic nature!
We lived in nice cabins and had a grate time visiting the hotel with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, and a hot tub. Highly recommend Gaustablikk Høyfjelshotell!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elin128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Every year for 9 years we have taken the whole family here for a few days of relaxation and pleasure. The hotel itself is family driven with a relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and an attractive lobby with a wood-burning fireplace and an outside sun terrace. There is an indoor swimming pool with both a hot sauna and a steam room - both free, but the jacuzzi is at a charge.
The restaurant buffet served every Friday is an outstanding experience with almost every imaginable traditional Norwegian fare like lobster, crayfish, crabs, shrimp, mussels and so on, pluss a number of hot dishes and a carving board serving generous slices of reindeer meat and other delicacies.
The hotel also operates the next door skiing area with several ski lifts and well maintained slopes, pluss a network of groomed trails for cross country skiing, some of them illuminated for nighttime use. A special treat is the free ski and boot rental for children aged 7 or younger, including free lift tickets. Great deal for young families.
There is hardly any other mountain resort in Norway that has such a condensed array of winter leisure activites on their doorstep.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the Gaustatoppen mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice family driven hotel . This is the place to stay in the winter with very good off piste opportunitues og Mountain Gaustatoppen 1882 m.o.ocean. Take Gaustabanen inside the mountain to the top and go skiing down. Alson possible for children to ski one of the pistes down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed here on a couple occasions, so it's definitely a place I come back to. The hotel is in part a ski resort, but both my stays have been in the summer so I can't really comment on that. It has nice and friendly staff, very nice and clean and a large lounge to relax, which part of has a bar. It has a swimming pool which I didn't try.

My biggest complaint here is the bed, it's much too hard for me. Next time I'll probably bring a thin inflateable mattress to put on top. Breakfast serving is top-notch, a huge selection of everything and beautifully presented.

The restaurant serves a all you can eat buffet with both hot and cold food in the evenings, again a huge selection of everything. Three or four meats with a chef slicing and serving it, different potatoes, and other things to go with. A good selection of seafood including crab, lobster, shrimp, caviar, and more. Also a very good selection of vegetables, desserts. My only disappointed is a limited selection of beer. I'll add that I find it a little pricey at about 400 NOK. Although not an issue for me, but for my travel company - everything at their buffet was gluten free.

Scenerey is lovely with an amazing view of Mount Gausta, it's a quiet and peaceful area. It's located just a short drive from the usual starting point for going up on the mountain, but also just a short drive from the more historical sites of Tinnsjøen and Vemork with had significance during WW2 - also this area is the start of Norsk Hydro and it's invention of artifical fertilizer which revolutionized food production (read about norwegian heavy water sabotage).

I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oladunk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rjukan
15.3 mi away
Skinnarbu hoyfjellshotell
4.4 mi away
Rjukan Hytteby
Rjukan Hytteby
#2 of 5 in Rjukan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kvitaavatn Fjellstue
Kvitaavatn Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Rjukan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gaustatoppen Booking
Gaustatoppen Booking
#2 of 3 in Rjukan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rjukan Gjestegaard
Rjukan Gjestegaard
#3 of 5 in Rjukan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sandviken Camping
Sandviken Camping
#1 of 1 in Austbygdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaustablikk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaustablikk Resort

Property: Gaustablikk Resort
Address: Kvitaavatnvegen 372, Rjukan 3660, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Tinn Municipality > Rjukan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rjukan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaustablikk Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 91 rooms all with a shower/WC, radio, TV and telephone. There are also 6 suites, 3 of which have a Jacuzzi and balcony, and 8 mini suites, ideal for families. The hotel's recreation centre includes a swimming pool, saunas, a jacuzzi, Turkish baths and a solarium. There is a pleasant dining room and spacious lounges with open fireplaces, a fully-licensed bar and large function room with live music 6 days a week. There is also a playroom and billiards/TV room. You can enjoy the views of Gaustatoppen mountain from the hotel's large sunny terrace. Gaustablikk Apartments are situated only a short distance from the hotel. 24 modern and well-equipped flats for 4-6. Gaustablikk Fjellhytter has 6 high standard log cabins, each sleeping 10, for hire at the alpine centre. Guests are welcome to use the facilities at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gaustablikk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing