We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family driven hotel with faboous view to Gaustatoppen”
Review of Gaustablikk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaustablikk Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rjukan
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice family driven hotel . This is the place to stay in the winter with very good off piste opportunitues og Mountain Gaustatoppen 1882 m.o.ocean. Take Gaustabanen inside the mountain to the top and go skiing down. Alson possible for children to ski one of the pistes down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortenNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed here on a couple occasions, so it's definitely a place I come back to. The hotel is in part a ski resort, but both my stays have been in the summer so I can't really comment on that. It has nice and friendly staff, very nice and clean and a large lounge to relax, which part of has a bar. It has a swimming pool which I didn't try.

My biggest complaint here is the bed, it's much too hard for me. Next time I'll probably bring a thin inflateable mattress to put on top. Breakfast serving is top-notch, a huge selection of everything and beautifully presented.

The restaurant serves a all you can eat buffet with both hot and cold food in the evenings, again a huge selection of everything. Three or four meats with a chef slicing and serving it, different potatoes, and other things to go with. A good selection of seafood including crab, lobster, shrimp, caviar, and more. Also a very good selection of vegetables, desserts. My only disappointed is a limited selection of beer. I'll add that I find it a little pricey at about 400 NOK. Although not an issue for me, but for my travel company - everything at their buffet was gluten free.

Scenerey is lovely with an amazing view of Mount Gausta, it's a quiet and peaceful area. It's located just a short drive from the usual starting point for going up on the mountain, but also just a short drive from the more historical sites of Tinnsjøen and Vemork with had significance during WW2 - also this area is the start of Norsk Hydro and it's invention of artifical fertilizer which revolutionized food production (read about norwegian heavy water sabotage).

I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oladunk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Only stayed one night, as on a motor bike tour of Norway.Unfortunately,there was a low heavy mist,so we could not see the large mount Gausta, behind the hotel,we would have had a great view from our bedroom window. The bedroom was fine for one night,a bit on the small side.There is a good size swimming pool and a steam room,both I found too cold, and this was in August. I fancied the Jacuzzi, it was behind closed doors, bubbling away, but to my disappointment,I found you had to pay equivalent to £5 for 13mins.use. Thought, that expensive! The evening buffet was outstanding,everything was well cooked and well presented, with reindeer,lamb,veal and beef on offer.The reindeer is popular,and goes quick, I missed out.
It is a ski destination,so expect to pay plenty.But nothing is cheap in Norway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngandsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Absolutely amazing place, scenes are fab. The staff are a credit and the food superb. I had the best nights sleep ever, then to be met by a superb Norwegian style breakfast, what more can I say. We left with a longing to return and return we will. If you want open unchanged and vistas to die for then this is it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Friendly people,excellent food and a place to relax.
Bathrooms are upgraded as well as poolarea.
Have a look at "gaustablikk.no". The webcam and even
live video speaks for themselves.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DagSorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Although the snow was almost gone, we spent a nice easter break at Gaustablikk. Luckily enough, there are several activities that are not ski-related in the area - as the newly opened tunnel tram to Gaustatoppen. For the teenagers, the pool area was highly appreciated.

We loved the food at the hotel and enjoyed moutaintop view in one of the newly decorated family rooms.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moutainfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Gaustablikk hoyfjellshotel is situated in one of the best parts of the norwegian mountains, facing the beautiful mountain "Gaustatoppen".
We stayed at Gaustablikk for a weekend last desember, and we know this place from a few visits over the years. The problem is - nothing has changed in Gaustablikk - its the same furniture, curtains and painting as in 1970!
We are sorry, but this is not a hotel but more like a worn-out mountainlodge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Insiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rjukan hotels
15.3 mi away
Skinnarbu hoyfjellshotell
1.3 mi away
Gaustatoppen Booking
Gaustatoppen Booking
#2 of 3 in Rjukan
10 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rjukan Hytteby
Rjukan Hytteby
#2 of 5 in Rjukan
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kvitaavatn Fjellstue
Kvitaavatn Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Rjukan
56 reviews
5 mi away
Rjukan Gjestegaard
Rjukan Gjestegaard
#3 of 5 in Rjukan
28 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rjukan Admini
Rjukan Admini
#1 of 5 in Rjukan
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaustablikk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaustablikk Resort

Address: Kvitaavatnvegen 372, Rjukan 3660, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Tinn Municipality > Rjukan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rjukan
Price Range: $216 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaustablikk Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 91 rooms all with a shower/WC, radio, TV and telephone. There are also 6 suites, 3 of which have a Jacuzzi and balcony, and 8 mini suites, ideal for families. The hotel's recreation centre includes a swimming pool, saunas, a jacuzzi, Turkish baths and a solarium. There is a pleasant dining room and spacious lounges with open fireplaces, a fully-licensed bar and large function room with live music 6 days a week. There is also a playroom and billiards/TV room. You can enjoy the views of Gaustatoppen mountain from the hotel's large sunny terrace. Gaustablikk Apartments are situated only a short distance from the hotel. 24 modern and well-equipped flats for 4-6. Gaustablikk Fjellhytter has 6 high standard log cabins, each sleeping 10, for hire at the alpine centre. Guests are welcome to use the facilities at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gaustablikk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing