We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly good place to stay and eat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi
Ranked #1 of 1 Gambellara B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Well positioned between Vicenza and Verona, and easily accessible from the motorway system. A working organic farm which prides itself on excellence and simplicity. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean with good comfortable bed. Breakfast, included in the price, is usually composed of breads and an assortment of jams made by owner, Michaela, plus fruits grown by Carlo and an array of organic cereals. Coffee is excellent too.

We came back most evenings for dinner which was a lovely communal affair with other visitors. Dinner is usually served at a long, grand table in the majestic dining room with 2 superb glass candelabra. Over a week we never had the same dish twice. Michaela makes dishes, usually from her own grown vegetables, home-made pasta or reared chickens and ducks and they are authentic traditional Italian dishes, often from recipes dating back to the 14th Century which she and Carlo have researched in the nearby agricultural museum, La Vigna, in Vicenza (worth a visit). This is the real thing - excellent food in lovely surroundings in a working farm with a family passionate about excellence in everything. I returned home laden with their bottled preserves, jams and some wine which can be bought from them direct or from their new shop in a nearby town. If you want to experience life with an Italian family on a farm with the highest culinary standards, it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeordieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

The food, accomodation and welcome at the organic Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi are unrivalled. Everything that the lovely owners, Carlo and Michaela ( with little daughter Flora ) do, is creative and beautiful and their organic produce label 'Entusiasmo', correctly evokes their dedication and energy for the cause. Michaela is a talented chef and all the food, except the meat, is homegrown and freshly made; wine, bread, pasta, fruit, vegetables,eggs. They have no olives but their friend's oil is lovely.

Meals are served at a long table with white linen tablecloths and chandeliers. Breakfast included homemade bread, wonderful peaches, apples, grapes,etc. organic cereals and often fresh apple or almond cake. We had wonderful dinners there every night - 3 delicious courses with lashings of wine. The one other place we tried was nowhere near as good and we didn't want to miss a mouthful of Michaela's food and Carlo's wine again. There is even a fresh spring which delivers the water ready cooled at 15 degrees.

We were lucky that the other guests were jewellery designers from around Italy attending the week long huge Vicenza Gold Festival, who were really good company. They are loyal supporters of the Palazzetto and come back every year.

Carlo and Michaela have recently opened a small shop in the nearby town of Lonigo, called Fresco Bio which sells all their Entusiasmo produce; jams, cherries in alcohol, tomato sauce, and fresh vegetables and other things. Carlo is also a jazz fiend and player. It is quite amazing what they manage to fit into their day.

Our room was huge and modern with a good ensuite.

We used the farm for a week and travelled 1,200 kms looking at Palladian villas, Venice and Verona, and whenever we returned, it felt like coming back home. I can't wait to go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I've done a lot of traveling over the years and this place has certainly topped the list. Beautifully rustic & picturesque it felt like something straight from a magazine. I was pretty much in awe my entire stay (May 3rd to 10th 2011). To start things off, the owners were incredible.  Super accommodating, kind, generous and laid back.  In fact, by the end of the first day, I felt like part of the family.

My room was fantastic. It was two stories with a King bed and modern bathroom on the ground floor and another King upstairs along with a sofa. It looked out over rows of grape vines and lush mountains in the distance.  

The grounds were beautiful: scattered with grape vines, rows of apple, pear, cherry, fig, peach, mulberry, hazelnut & apricot trees. In fact, it was cherry & mulberry season when I was there and the owners let me pick as much as I wanted from the trees every morning. That made my mornings.

The food was bliss! I ate all 3 meals there, even when I went into Verona for the day, they would pack me a lunch! Unbelievable - I felt like a kid again heading off to school for the day. Breakfast was always fresh-baked bread with their home-made jam(s) and in my case, cherries and mulberries. Lunches were usually a fresh-picked salad (and when I say fresh I mean like 15 minutes before eating!) lightly dressed with local olive oil and some of their home-made strawberry vinegar (yum!) followed by either risotto made with local rice and farm vegetables or their home-made pasta and sauce, again with farm vegetable and local cheese. Dinners were equally amazing and were varied. Oh, and of course I cannot forget about their home-made wine which tasted exquisite.

The location was awesome. Only a 10 minute walk to the nearest little town (Locara) which had all the essentials, (they have bikes to use). Also, I never had a car so was relying on the train for my travel. The Station, from farm-door to train-door was only a 15 minute walk away via quiet country roads. Then once at the station it was only only 30 minutes by to Verona and 20 minutes to Vicenza which are both beautiful cities. I really couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasonedVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I'd planned a trip to Verona with my parents, and at the last minute had decided to try to fufill my mother's wish to visit an organic farm. Since I'd already booked our accomodation in Verona, I'd contacted Carlo to arrange for lunch at his farm. Carlo's wife, Michela, cooked us a most delicious lunch accompanied by their own organic wine. Even though the lunch was simple, my parents and I agreed that it is one of the best Italian food we've ever eaten. Before lunch, Carlo gave us a brief tour of his lovely home and guest accomodation facilities. After lunch, we were taken on a short tour of his farm, which has ducks, turkeys, chickens, geese, many cats, two dogs, lots of different types and varieties of fruit trees (apples, pears, figs, strawberries, plums, pomogranate) and vegetables, and a vineyard. Before we left, we bought several bottles of Carlo's own organic wine and some organic fruits to take home with us. The trip to the farm was definately the highlight of our trip - if you are a foodie, with an interest in organic vegetable farming/wine, and would like to see how a family has achieved self-sufficiency, then there is no better place to visit/stay than this farm!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We were met by our host Carlo who showed us around, saying, "This is a real place," meaning that it's a true working farm. They raise organic fruits, vegetables and grapes, and make both white and red wine plus grappa. Our room was one of three plus a small suite built into the voluminous former hay loft. It overlooks a large barn-like work space/storage/processing area with stacks of cherries in crates, fresh zucchini blossoms, bottles ready for canning fruit and juice, and miscellaneous farm equipment.

Our room was nicely furnished, with a spacious modern bathroom and an upper level with more beds, a couch and TV. No WiFi here when we stayed, but there is a computer guests can use. The main house dates from 1455 and has a huge ancient fireplace in the kitchen and another in the spacious dining room (seats 30).

Carlo’s wife, Michela, is an inventive and talented chef, and her breads are delicious at breakfast with the farm’s jam. Multi-course dinners are also sometimes offered featuring farm-fresh vegetables, homemade pasta, specialty dishes of the Veneto region and creative and delicious desserts, accompanied by their award-winning Entusiasmo organic wines (€60-80/couple). Michela can also give cooking classes.

We found Palazzetto Ardi to be a good home base for visiting Vicenza and Verona as well as nearby Palladian villas and walled cities like Montagnana and Soave. We were charmed by the place and even more by our hard-working hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panettone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We spent two wonderful weeks at the Palazzetto Ardi. Our goal was to see as many Palladian Villas as possible. We could not have found a more lovely place to stay, or more helpful hosts. There are B&B rooms available, and we had a lovely apartment complete with gourmet kitchen appliances.
Just an example of Carlo and Michela's helpfullness--We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon when the local grocery was closed. Carlo insisted we have dinner with them, and said he would go to the grocery early Thursday and leave us the makings for breakfast outside our door. Sure enough, by 7:30 am a basket appeared with Coffee, milk, Orange Juice, fresh eggs, Carlo's homemade bread and wonderful local honey.
Michela's supper was to die for rissoto with artichokes, a platter of Carlo's homemade sausage and wonderful local cheeses, all with Carlo's red or white wine.
This agritourismo is a wonderful organic farm, with orchard, vineyard, huge vegetable garden, chickens, ducks, turkeys, and four pigs ( to make sausage). We had fresh eggs and were invited to pick from the vegetable garden.
We were invited to dinner many evenings and on our last night there to a winetasting that featured local wines paired with Michela's food.
Carlo was invaluable in helping us to gain access to the Villas, but if we had not had this agenda, we would have had plenty to do. Carlo was a fountain of information, always suggesting local activities for us. He would draw us maps, and even lead us to places in his car.
This was by far the best travel experience we have had. We would return to the area just to stay with Carlo and Michela again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VirginiaAvidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank elena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzetto_ardi, Owner at Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi

Address: Via Ciron 4/5, 36053 Gambellara, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Gambellara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gambellara
Price Range: $117 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the best country house tradition our hospitality extends to offering accommodation too. Reasons for staying with us are varied: perhaps a tour of the art centres, the farm lies between Verona and Vicenza but Venice is not too far away either and thanks to the nearby railway station in Lonigo you can get there quickly with no traffic problems or worries about parking;it is possible to arrange a convertible classic car hire service by Sprintage Company.They will let you find a beautiful series of convertible classic cars in the Venice Airport. Detailed maps of the area for your tours around will be provided and for those on business just think of the Vicenza goldsmith exhibition area and tanneries and shows like Vinitaly at the Verona exhibition centre. We can also accommodate company conferences with space for up to about 30 people. The Palazzetto bedrooms For those who love the feel of bygone days then the choice is to opt for one of the two double rooms on the main residential floor of the old building with its huge beams and the square pattern wooden floors as well as antique furniture and tasteful furnishings not to mention the beautiful views of the countryside. Detail. Three suites have been made in the large space that was the hay loft. Each one has a double (or twin ) room with ensuite bathroom and a bright mezzanine floor which can be used as a living room or can sleep two other people. Both places have a certain charm, halfway between antique and modern, with antique furniture but also state of the art comfort and services: air conditioning, minibar and internet connection. In addition to the suites there is also a completely independent apartment, similar in atmosphere, with double room, living room, kitchen, TV area, bathroom and laundry. FOOD FOR SPECIAL OCCASIONS The setting is the great hall of the Palazzetto warmed by a huge fire in the large fireplace in winter, and kept cool in summer by its thick walls. Just the right kind of privacy for a special family occasion - birthday , baptism, anniversary - or for a special candlelit dinner, but also for a business lunch or dinner. Take your aperitif in the courtyard and dine off a menu which offers everything that is in season on the farm each day. Michela's cooking, flavoured with tradition and laced with imagination, produces rich yet light dishes, real flavours, refined combinations, dandelion risotto, tagliatelle and peas, eggs and asparagus, capon salad with herbs and flowers, duck with sweet fruit pickles. And of course washed down with their own wine and accompanied with Carlo's home made bread, made with organic flour and cooked in a wood-fired oven. TABLE IN THE LEAN -TO-BARN Alternatively, out in the orchard - garden or in the cool shade of the open arches. An informal "osteria" type atmosphere but with that slightly refined touch that is never out of place: modern white tables for the wine tasting, country style chairs, old style plates and glasses. The place to go when the better weather inspires you to take your children out into the country, to go on a bike ride or a motorbike ride in the hills but also when you need to celebrate someone's graduation or have a reunion of old friends, when wives or husbands are on holiday. Their own wine, the salamis, cheeses and the most delicious pickles served with polenta not to mention the terrine pate, fresh pasta, salads made even tastier with flowers and herbs, light boiled white meat. And then the dessert trolley and the Recioto dessert wine!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi Gambellara, Italy - Province Of Vicenza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing