We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
160
46
13
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
46
13
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sole one night first floor in town restaurant terrace private parking standard room star hotel lovely room large bathroom charming hotel junior suites overlooking the main square thoroughly enjoyed our stay beyond expectations lovely spot wonderful food
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 229 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for a few nights in this wonderful hotel in gorgeous Asolo. It was all quite delightful, from check in to check out. A very spacious and well appointed room, comfortable bed, quiet and peaceful location, overlooking the little town's main piazza. Sitting on their terrace sipping an Aperol cocktail and watching the sun set and the sky slowly darken is lovely, as is breakfast. The breakfast was of high quality, with good variety.

All staff were thoroughly professional and delightful, from reception through bar, restaurant and cleaning staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everything could be and was arranged, including wonderful 'cafe americano' for those of us who haven't developed a taste for Italian expressos.

Our group had a dinner in the restaurant one night, which was superb. Other nights we found various restaurants in the town that we tried. All our group loved the hotel and voted it the stand-out highlight hotel of the trip. I wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend it.

Room tip: Higher floors are preferable; the lower ones give onto a street (but quiet, with little traffic).
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed five nights at Albergo al Sole in Sept. during our two week stay in Europe. Everything was a wonderful experience. The staff, room and the food was the best we experienced during our entire vacation. The staff was excellent especially Oscar who made sure my early morning appetite for American coffee was satisfied. The room was clean and bright and the breakfast and dinner couldn't be beat. Do not miss this gem in Asolo.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I notice that the owner of the hotel and restaurant has responded to one of my fellow diners, Sara O. I understand that she found us to be 'arrogant' and that she is pleased to hear that we will not be returning to her restaurant if I have translated accurately. Other potential diners should be aware that although it is true that we had dimmed the lights without asking, not only was there no one to ask anyway as we were entirely alone in the restaurant with not another guest present but the brightness of the halogen light was blinding. When we explained that it had been shining in our eyes, Elena De Checchi replied that the lights were on full so that people in the square below could see that the restaurant was open!! I usually find that proprietors are more interested in looking after the guests who have actually come in than people in the street who have not. Two of our party had ordered lamb chops, one person had excellent chops and the other had ones that were so fatty that she could hardly find any meat. When we mentioned this to Ms De Checchi, she said that 'this sometimes happens in the kitchen'. The method of dealing with issues in the restaurant appears to be to confront and argue back which is not a customer service technique that I have been familiar with. That style of dealing with us has continued with the comments responding to Sara O following her review.

You are correct, Ms De Checchi, we will ensure that we do not come back.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Service
7  Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Four of us went to dinner there last week and the food was good though a bit precious. Perhaps we should have been warned by the fact we were the only ones in the restaurant. The manageress was a fright however and total control freak who put us off ever going back. All over dimming the lights a bit! Shame because it looked like a potentially nice place.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4  Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena D, Owner at Albergo Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente,
le recensioni diventano utili quando mostrano ENTRAMBI i punti di vista. Chi legge la sua ... per esempio.... tra le altre cose... dovrebbe sapere che lei è entrato nel nostro ristorante e si è permesso di abbassare le luci della sala senza nemmeno chiedere "PERFAVORE".
Per non parlare dei suoi atteggiamenti arroganti... non commento oltre... ma sono sollevata dal sapere che lei non desidera tornare a farci visita. Grazie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Asolo is a delightful medieval town in the Veneto and Albergo Al Sole is its nicest hotel. The hotel is perched on a steep hill above the town's main piazza and if the weather is warm enough you can have breakfast and dinner on the terrace overlooking the centre of the town. We spent a perfect week at this lovely place. We had room 201 at the front of the hotel with views of the town and also the formal garden of the villa next door. It makes such a difference having windows facing in two directions, as the rooms are not large. I had booked the 'gourmet package', without much idea of what this entailed. It turned out to be a five-course menu chosen by the young and enthusiastic chef plus a bottle of (good) house wine. We had that each of the nights we were there, and it was a little adventure each night waiting to see what would be on the menu. We left it entirely up to the chef, but it was clear we could have expressed preferences if we had wanted to. We loved the whole food experience. The hotel is immaculately clean and bright, the reception area modern and ultra-stylish and the bedrooms more traditional but still with an eye to good design. White orchids everywhere. The staff were friendly and helpful and contributed a lot to the pleasure of our stay. Local tip: If you are arriving by car on a Saturday or Sunday and maybe Friday evening too you should notify the reception staff of your car registration number so they can notify the traffic police, as only local residents can drive into the centre of the town then, plus guests of the hotels. No drama if you forget, they can fix it up later, but you can avoid the hassle.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews