We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Favourite in Beautiful Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agriturismo La Sovana
Ranked #2 of 9 Sarteano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin,Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Favourite in Beautiful Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We are visiting La Sovana for the fifth time this year. As a holiday destination it is a family favourite. It is situated in a most beautiful location in southern Tuscany within easy reach of many of the most famous and picturesque towns and villages of Tuscany.
La Sovana has top class accommodations and the food is always excellent. A day by the pool is an ideal way to relax with the anticipation of a beautiful dinner and wine. The wine and olive oil are the produce of the owners and they are of the highest quality.
The hospitality of Guiseppi Olivi and his family is another most charming feature of this unique location.

Room Tip: Self catering apartments excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
81
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights earlier this month at La Sovana and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The setting was beautiful, the service excellent and the opportunity to take dinner at the hotel was a nice touch. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool with a glass of wine, as well as exploring the surrounding areas, both by car and by bike. Also played a bit of tennis. Loved the tour of the winery and tasting both the wine and olive oil.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcalcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Rarely we have experienced such warm and friendly welcoming on a holiday. The hospitality of the Olivi family is genuine and they will do anything to make you feel comfortable and at home.
What a difference from the big tourist hotels where you are nothing more but another number.
The surroundings are very beautiful. The atmosphere is elegant, relaxing and open. Rooms are nicely decorated and very well kept. Very nice pool and hot spa as well.
The home cooked meals were delicious and the have excellent wines from the El Buch estate which is part of the agriturismo. Guiseppe took great pleasure in looking after his guests personally.
Here you can totally relax and find the peace you have been longing for. I would not advise to go with children as there is very little to do for them.
The location of the property is ideal for making daytrips to Siena, Montepulciano, Firenze, Arezzo, Cortona, Perugia, Assisi, Todi, Orvieto.
We will try to certainly go back in the future

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Fells, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

The room was spacious and beautiful with the best bathroom I've ever seen anywhere! Quiet and private with a little patio area. (I think we booked a large double) It was an easy drive to many of the hill towns in southern Tuscany such as Orvieto, Cortona, Pienza, Montepulciano, Chiusa. We never had a bad meal the entire 2 weeks we were in Tuscany, but we particularly enjoyed meals at a local restaurant in Sarteano (La Locanda dei Tintori) a few miles up the road, and another place in Chiusa (Ristorante Zaira). Meanwhile, the owner and vintner Giuseppe takes everybody under his wing. One guest came down with a bad cold and he personally arranged for a doctor to visit him in his room- on a Sunday! We were lucky enough to be there at the end of the grape harvest and he and his manager, Alessandro, took a bunch of us on an impromptu tour to watch the grapes being pressed. Wow, more like a lab - so clean and modern! They have a wine tasting every Monday afternoon, but we weren't there on a Monday so I can't comment. The wine produced at La Sovana (Le Buche) is wonderful and we are planning to buy a lot here in the States, since it is just being distributed here now. The olive oil produced there is amazing - and my biggest disappointment is that I forgot to find out how to buy some to bring home. Breakfast was an amazing buffet - cold cuts, pastries, juice, cereal, yougurt, fruit. A whole leg of prosciutto was there at one point, with Giuseppe carving it himself. We prefer American coffee, and all over Italy, they seem to understand "cafe Americano" even if they think we're crazy for wrecking good espresso with hot water. On a cool evening, Giuseppe started a fire in the lounge and it was fun sitting around sipping wine and chatting with other guests. By the way, most of the other guests were European. The staff all speak very good English. Another evening hors d'oeuvres and sparkling wine were served before dinner. The room itself was an excellent value - with discounts because we visited for more than 4 days in October. We ate dinner there three nights - Wednesday is beef Fiorentina - a Tuscan specialty, and Saturday is another meat extravaganza, each about 37 euros a person plus wine -- but it becomes an event with Giuseppe creating quite a lot of drama with the carving and the truffles - and let's face it, it was nice not to have to drive after dark especially after a bottle of terrific wine and a glass of amazing grappa. Note that "house wine" is not served in a carafe. Since this is a vineyard, the various vintages come in nice bottles starting at 19 euros. Many other choices on the wine list, too. Back to the food: Sunday was pizza night. Italians seem to make a big deal about going out for a special dinner of pizza as we observed on another occasion, but it was hard for us as Americans to get that sense of excitement about pizza for dinner. To sum it up .... we loved the stay. It was a great combination -- the lovely, spacious, accommodations at a good price, beautiful location, and the personal hospitality extended by our host, and the experience of staying at at vineyard and the short drive to interesting places.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pasha_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife, our son (9 months) and myself went there for 10 days this summer (2011). We have to admit that the place it utterly bautiful and the hotel has all you can neeed and dream of in a nice relaxing hotel. The acomodation is great, the pool wonderful and the amenities to a 4 star level.
We hoever have to add that it is NOT a child friendly hotel, eventhough we were always welcome by the people, it is definitely not a child riendly hotel as nothing it thgought for parents with your children. We did not know this when booking the hotel. Our opinion is this hotel should be a adult only hotel. Because it is so relaxing and peaceful, if you bring a 9 months old child, evrytime he cries or wants to enjoy the pool for example by screaming and being loud you don't really feel comfortable as the rest of the people are here to relax and be away from all!.
Also we should mention the really early hour imposed by the owner for the evening dinner, you have to start dinner at 19:30 and they are also lacking flexibility on a couple of things such as : not being able to move your terrace furniture around, not being able to picnic on the premises (it is away from teh center and they offer no lunch service).
We found Giusepe the owner fairly friendly, his wife not quite friendly (we'll just blame it on her very basic English), however we found Alessandro the most helpful and friendly staff of the hotel.
We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for peac and quet and have a car to get out of the hotel when you want to, we woudl NOT recommend this hotel to families with children under 15 years old.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have jut returned from holidaying in Italy; La Sovana was a highlight in our itinerary. The property is extremely well run and the grounds are maintained to the highlest level; dinner is available most evenings in an elegant setting and Giuseppe's Olivi's pizzas are among the best in Italy! The complimentary wine and olive oil tour is very interesting and the wine produced of a high quality. Make sure you add this gem to your itinerary but you must have a car to explore the surrounding areas and for easy access to the property. There is a shopping centre close by which includes a self service laundry if you want to do your own as well as a great supermarket, cafe and various other shops.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Great place for a honeymoon or anniversary getaway. Spectacular views, elegant, comfortable, modern rooms, outstanding breakfast and dinners. Great central location for Tuscany/Umbria exploring by car. Not walking distance anywhere (it's a working vineyard). Helpful staff. Dinners ar very pricey.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Projournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarteano
1.7 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Santa Chiara
1.9 mi away
Albergo Roberta
Albergo Roberta
#1 of 5 in Sarteano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Lanterna
Hotel La Lanterna
#4 of 5 in Sarteano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Torre ai Mari
La Torre ai Mari
#3 of 5 in Sarteano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
#1 of 24 in Chianciano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ai Lecci in Centro
Ai Lecci in Centro
#1 of 9 in Sarteano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Sovana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Sovana

Property: Agriturismo La Sovana
Address: SP 478 Sarteano 1.6 km, 53047 Sarteano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sarteano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sarteano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agriturismo La Sovana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Sovana Hotel Sarteano
Agriturismo La Sovana Sarteano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing