We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pieve di Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pieve di Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at Pieve Di Caminino for 10 days as the second part of our honeymoon (after staying in Florence) and it was by far our most favorite part of the entire trip! It is really easy to get to Pieve from either Pisa or Florence by hire car (which is what we did)...and as soon as you enter Tuscany...and in particular the Maremma, it is just magical!

Pieve is tucked away in a lovely secluded spot, from which the views are stunning and the landscape incredibly peaceful and relaxing. The owner, Emi is an absolute star - the perfect host...plying us with amazing wine and his own delicious olive oil throughout the entirety of our stay (you really must try it and buy several bottles to take home!). Nothing was ever too much trouble and Emi was always on hand when needed, although was discrete and not intrusive the rest of the time (plus, his English is excellent). In fact, Emi helped us out of a very tricky situation when we missed our flights home by an entire day (we were sooo relaxed!) and he arranged our extended car hire for us and put us up for an additional night! The staff at Pieve are also wonderful and attend to your every need.

We stayed in both the Library Loft and La Foresteria during our stay and both are completely stunning...and enormous! There is no way you could be underwhelmed by either choice of room. Both are decorated in a beautiful rustic way, with lovely antiques and old maps and deeds of the Pieve estate. The beauty of La Foresteria is the outdoor space...but there are so many lovely secluded sitting spots throughout the grounds that you are somewhat spoilt for choice.

Our suggestion would be to listen to Emi's local recommendations, as our very best dining out experiences were those that he gave us - the quality of the local 'real-Italian' food was just amazing. We also enjoyed many a night eating simple pasta dishes we made in the ample kitchen, sourced locally, on the outside terrace of La Foresteria drinking Emi's own vineyards' wine.

This is such a special place that we will definately be going back.

Room Tip: La Foresteria and the Library Loft are both enormous and beautiful. The Library Loft doesnt have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittycatKym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    14
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
177
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited here in September 2013, not quite knowing quite what to expect. It turned out to be possibly the best holiday of my life. Part of that was attributable to the beauty and historical interest of Tuscany but the accommodation here played a major part too. It is located in a large estate on a wooded hillside, with its own olive groves and vineyard. The accommodation itself is located in what appears to have been an ancient monastery, which the owner, architect Emiliano Locatelli (what a splendid name!), has converted lovingly into holiday apartments. We stayed in the charming one bedroom apartment "Le Bifora" tastefully furnished and decorated with what I believe are original artworks from the Locatelli family who number artists amongst the ancestors. The kitchen is small but functional and it was great to be up in the roof of the old church, with its terrace area, providing stupendous views over a wide area. We loved sitting up there during the evening drinking the excellent estate organic white wine, available to guests for a small charge, admiring the stupendous sunsets and watching the bats flitting around as dusk descended. The owner and his family are a delight too. Emiliano is extremely friendly and helpful with brilliant suggestions for days out and recommendations of local restaurants. He would also invite us in to the main part of the old monastery (a fabulously interesting room) to share an espresso or glass of wine and have a general chat (his English is excellent). If you like walking, this is a superb location. There are pleasant walks around the estate and long distance footpaths cross it too. For an energetic excursion take the long distance route on footpaths no 308/307/ 304/ 308 up to Roccatederighi, which boasts an excellent trattoria and stunning views from its rocky outcrops. It is a round trip of about 12 miles, so allow plenty of time. You could also walk or drive to the nearby pretty little hilltop village of Montemassi and enjoy the solitude of its ruined fort. It also has a reasonable restaurant. There is a vast range of possibilities in this area and we easily found enough to keep us occupied for two weeks. I cannot recommend this place highly enough - would give it six stars if that were an option! We are of course intending to go back and see what it is like at a different time of year, perhaps May would be pleasant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived at the gates of Pieve di Caminino a little later than planned, after a slightly trying drive down from Florence. We pressed the buzzer and were immediately greeted with a hearty 'hello' from Emiliano. We were warmly welcomed, shown to our apartment (Bifora) and helped with luggage. Bifora is on the first floor of the main building and has a delightful little terrace overlooking the estate's olive groves and vineyards, and beyond. Walking into the apartment and out onto the terrace for the first time was a definite 'wow' moment. We were then offered a glass of wine while the local shops and attractions were pointed out on maps given to us. The apartment was simply furnished with antique furniture and the walls were hung with art, mostly by the family. We stayed for a total of two weeks and anytime we had a question or needed something, the family couldn't have been more helpful. We were often offered an espresso or glass of the delicious organic white wine produced on the estate. There were several other holiday guests staying at Caminino, but it always felt a place of calm and tranquility. Guests have use of the swimming pool, cleverly placed to take advantage of the often stunning sunsets and are free to wander through the forest, olive groves and vineyards that are part of the estate. After days out exploring picturesque historic hilltop villages, the beach or some other attraction, our favourite time of day was early evening, watching the sun setting from the terrace (obviously with a glass of the estate wine!) and waiting for the bats to start their nightly excursions. We loved our stay and definitely intend to return. The only thing I might ask for next time would be a feather pillow!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Superb facility consisting in an old middle age church now used as resort's hall, surrounded by many, unique and very nice apartments having originally been the priest's ones.
Everything is restored with a wonderful taste, preserving the original atmosphere of the site (owner's family is an architect and artists one).
Final feeling is to live into a middle age tale, with all current comforts.
Every apartment is fitted with its own kitchen, bathroom and living room.
Furnishing is made of restored antique-trade, conferring to each apartment a very unique and special atmosphere.
In addition, for warm periods, there is an outside pool immersed into the superb olive trees garden.
We spent a long weekend together with two couple of friends.
We had an excellent, warm welcome by the owner who explained us everything about the fascinating history of the site, about the facility and about what/where to do, immediately transmitting a "feel at home" sensation.
In-room served breakfast with freshly pressed orange juice, coffee and brioches, eaten on the terrace with all Maremma "at your feet" is a must.
The bottle of Morisfarms wine, we were gifted of has been a nice and appreciated surprise.
Unforgettable will also remain the visit, organized for and with us at the Morisfarms, 15 mins, by car from the resort, one of Maremma's most famous wine producer, belonging to the owner's wife family and actually managed by his brother in law.
There we were offered an excellent lunch based up on local dishes as tagliatelle with boar, roasted boar...everything literally "submerged" by a rain of their excellent wines, under these also the world famous well known "Avvoltore".
At Morisfarms there also is a wine shop (with all local specialities as honey, olive oil…), we of course visited for a long time :)
During our stay, it was also olive pressing time, so we had the possibility to see and learn how does it happen, right at resort: they have a huge olive oil plantation.
And of course to taste their (and Morisfarms's) excellent oil.
Finally, resort is very conveniently located, 20 mins. by car from the nice Massa Marittima and 20 mins. by car from the sea and the famous Castiglione della Pescaia and Punta Ala.
Ideal for relaxing, trekking, biking, hunting, visiting surroundings, spending time into the nature.

Definitely, a where-to-go place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razlupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meilen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Imagine to sleep in a perfectly and in al details authentic refurbished 12th century landmark on the feet of tuscany's hills. Hidden behind a rusty gate, covered from bushes and old olive trees lays the resort. Family owned farm since ever offers this special place wonderful cosy, spacious and unique apartements. We stay some nights and feel as prince and princess in every way. Trully the place to stay for encounter the beautiful region around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auer_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for a week at Caminio and were greeted with a big smile from Emy and a glass of wine from the Vinyard! If you like a beautiful setting and historic building and furniture then this is the place for you.

We shared a 2 bedroom apartment with friends and had our own private terrace with great views to the countryside. Although small it was well equipped if we wanted to cook a little pasta and eat at the big kitchen table! My only complaint (outwith managements control) is the mozzies which come out at sunset - damn those things!

Emy is very thoughtful and gives you a couple of information sheets when you check in recommending local restaurants, vineyards, places to grocery shop (even on a Sunday) etc. We ticked off most of his recommendations and each day we spent in the local area was a joy!

The pool is just beautiful with enough sun loungers that you can have your own space if any other guests venture down.

They grow their own olive oil on the grounds too and when we enquired, a bottle appeared to our room (you do have to pay but that's obviously fair enough). It's delicious stuff!

Another small thing I love is that when you return at night there are candles lit outside each room which adds to the magic!

I would certainly love to go back one day and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: If you are there in hot weather try for a room with air conditioning - we had a twin room in our apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks in Tuscany last July. We have visited Italy throughout the years....but never returning to the same Inn/Resort. After our beautiful stay at Caminino, however, this need to search out something "new" will no longer be what guides us. Caminino and our lovely host Emy, made our (too short) 4 night stay no less than utterly magical.
As an avid traveler and someone who has been fortunate to enjoy 5 star experiences throughout the world, i can tell you, hands down, that this place is a gem. And an affordable one, at that!
From the Art that adorns the walls (the talent in this family spans generations and is as worth seeing as anything hanging in nearby florentine museum) to the wine produced by an ancient on-site vineyards.....you'll enjoy ALL there is to be discovered. The property has wonderful grounds to explore, as well.

I will be returning. Maybe even gathering friends and family for my upcoming wedding. This should tell you something! You'll leave with a happy heart.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccatederighi
3.8 mi away
La Melosa Resort
La Melosa Resort
#1 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
15.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tenuta Casteani Wine Resort
2.5 mi away
Residence Il Ciliegio
Residence Il Ciliegio
#3 of 3 in Roccatederighi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
5.1 mi away
Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm

Property: Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Address: Strada Provinciale 89 snc, 58036 Roccatederighi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccatederighi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Roccatederighi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caminino is an antique farm estate of 200 hectares (500 acres), completely fenced, access to which is reserved exclusively for guests with reservations. A centenary olive grove, a panoramic vineyard where walking or jogging at the sight of the Montemassi castle, and a legendary cork oak forest surround the old exclusive private village, now offering agriturismo hospitality, with swimming pool (in warm season) and two ponds. Silence dominates, pleasantly interrupted by the sounds of nature. The view stretches, on clear days, to the sea, where the horizon is marked by the island of Giglio. The ancient villages of Roccatederighi, Montemassi, Sticciano and Montepescali are nearby located, crowning the landscape with their fortfied walls: they area reachable driving afew minutes and all offer a delicious choice of typical restaurants and wine bars.Not to miss & easily reachable: Massa Marittima, Siena, Montalcino, Pitigliano, Castiglione della Pescaia, Populonia, Bolgheri, the Maremma National Park, The Tarot Garden, Mount Amiata, the Terme di Saturnia, Roselle, S. Galgano, S. Antimo ... The total lack of traffic makes Caminino easy to be reached, both from Rome Leonardo da Vinci (200km / 124mi) and from Pisa Galileo Galilei (140km / 87mi), or from Florence Amerigo Vespucci Airport (128km /80mi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Resort Pieve Di Caminino Hotel Roccatederighi
Pieve Di Caminino Historic Farm Italy/Roccatederighi, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing