We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in tuscan hills with great heartily hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in tuscan hills with great heartily hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Actually I wouldn't want to write - for selfish reasons: Whistle-blowing this secret and marvellous place might spoil it... All the property and the apartements are in very esthetic shape - keeping the history but also adopting it fully to today's comfort. When you approach the big iron gate that opens when you tap upon your key you enter the path and feel at home all of a sudden. Emy and his team give a 120% of hospitality and are very caring but descreet hosts. If you want to buy good wine and have a great experience at the winery, follow his recommendations. I'll definately be back and will never forget the first time at caminino....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geli_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    14
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
177
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

I went with a group of friends (fellow adult students of the Italian language and our teacher, 6 of us in total) and we stayed in two of their beautiful apartments, Belvedere and Romito. Both apts. were beautiful, roomy, clean, and comfortable. The view from the Belvedere is breathtaking! We were welcomed by the owner, Emiliano, with a glass of wine. He also gave us an olive oil tasting a different night also with a glass of wine. This place is incredibly charming with lots of history. Please keep in mind that it is in the middle of the countryside. You can't really walk to anywhere from here. You will need to rent a car or hire a driver. The driver we had was awesome. He was actually recommended by Caminino.
Like they admit on here, they are NOT a 5 star hotel. This place is rustic and best fit for the traveler who wants to relax and enjoy beautiful surroundings, great food and wine, and really warm, friendly real Italians. Go to Trattoria del Corso, it's five minutes away. They have the best handmade tortelloni filled w ricotta and spinach served with a sage/butter sauce. Yum. Also go to Vanni, in Massa Maritima, about 20 mins away. Food is delicious and not to be missed is the panna cotta w frutte di bosco.
In short, Pieve di Caminino, did not disappoint. Great place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

This place was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Italy. It is like out of a storybook! The proprietor/owner was extremely friendly and helpful, the staff were very nice as well. The stand alone building we stayed in is a place I could envision staying for months, typing a novel and looking out over the olive trees while a fire burns in the background. This place is perfect for a quiet getaway (I recommend March as it is before the area gets busy) or for traveling with family or a group looking to take in the wine and foods and beautiful mountaintop/ walled villages scattered throughout this area....and the olive oil they make at Camino is fantastic!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kip18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home and cater for all your tour needs. they gave us great itenaries and reccomended places to visit and eat slow food style. their attention to detail is second to none. it was a gastronomic delight. we extended our stay as we jus loved the it so much. the residence is family owned ofr centuries, with 3 generatons keeping things ticking over. we loved our stay here, simply beautiful. hidden Tuscany at its best, thank you to all at the Caminino, you made our stay exquisite.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLEEPYHENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Pieve di Caminino was everything we imagined when we dreamt of a trip to Tuscany. The classic stone buildings are beautiful and set in a beautiful part of the countryside. We stayed in the Foresteria apartment which we loved. It was late November and really too cold and wet to spend much time on the porch which was a bit of a shame because the porch is huge. I would love to go back with additional family and friends during a warmer time of year when we could all gather and sit out on that porch late at night drinking wine and just enjoying the countryside. Although it was quite cold, this added to our experience in a way because there is plenty of fire wood and we lit a nice fire in the fireplace every night and just moved the couch right in front of the fire where we could relax.

In terms of the location we thought it was perfect. I must admit that when we were shopping for places we immediately fell in love with the pictures of pieve but were concerned that it seemed to not be near any major towns. What we quickly realized is that it was exactly what we were looking for. There are several small towns nearby (less than half hour drive) where you can find excellent restaurants, and there is a grocery within 10 minutes. And the driving was quite easy, the roads were well marked and in very good shape so it was easy to explore a good chunk of the Tuscan countryside. We also drove to Siena one day which took us about 1 hour taking the scenic route. And pieve itself is nestled sort of at the base of large hill which was very beautiful. Pieve has its own working olive grove which we walked through, and one night we were given olive oil freshly pressed from the day before which was absolutely delicious. The oil was so good that we ordered some to be sent back to us, and are considering ordering more to use as favors for the guests at our upcoming wedding.

Emy and the staff were fantastic. While the locals were all VERY friendly in the surrounding towns, few spoke much English. It was a huge help to have Emy who helped us plan our itinerary for each day and even called ahead to local restaurants to make reservations for us and even suggested what to order. Emy always made himself accessible to us, and gave us great suggestions throughout our stay.

The kitchen is a bit dated, but everything worked well and we had everything we needed. We bought some groceries at the local super market and made breakfast every day. My one complaint about the accommodations is that we had trouble working the thermostat which seemed to reset at least once a day to a temperature colder than we wanted it. I understand the value of this from an eco-standpoint and fully support that, but it reset in the middle of the night which was not ideal in late November when the temperature outside is near freezing. All in all the accommodations were very good and we hope to go back there again. Just keep in mind that the beauty of the place is that it has a great deal of natural character, a rustic feel, and a beautiful location in the countryside. it’s not meant to be a luxury hotel like the Four Seasons.

We highly recommend Pieve and are grateful for the excellent personal service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

My wife and I traveled to Italy for our dream vacation, after many weeks and hours spent researching villa's and castles in Tuscany to stay in, we finally found this place! It was everything we were looking for at a reasonable price. The grounds are beautiful and the staff was incredible. From the moment we entered the Resort we were greeted with a smile. As we checked in, Emy offered us a glass of wine . . . this glass of wine was much needed after driving for a couple hours from Florence, to Pisa, then to this resort all in the same day (my wife and I know very little Italian, so we got lost a few times while driving - but we found the resort and were very happy to get there). Anyways, while we checked in Emy gave us a detailed overview of the area and the small towns nearby, including where a local grocery store was so we could buy food to cook in our Suite (btw - we stayed in the Bifora Suite)! Emy then took us for a Tour of the main lobby and then escorted us to our Suite and gave us a tour of that.

After our Tour, my wife and I got settled in our Suite and just enjoyed the view for awhile, it was a very romantic setting. We then drove to a nearby town to buy groceries, we ended up cooking atleast one meal everyday that we were there. We had a lot of fun cooking with fresh vegetables and enjoying a bottle of wine together.

We also spent a couple hours one morning walking through the Olive Groves and Vineyards . . . It truly is an incredible setting (the setting was just like out of the movies or pictures that you see of Tuscany).

We visited many nearby towns and we also spent a afternoon touring the Banfi Vineyards, which was a lot of fun. After Banfi we went to the town called Montalcino, this was a fun little town and I would suggest checking it out. That evening when we returned to the Resort, we met another couple and we ended up sharing a bottle of wine together and enjoying the sunset, it was fun to hear about the other couples trip and what they had all done. The Resort was not crowded at all, there was probably 10 - 15 guests total during the time we were there.

Overall, the place was incredible and was exactly what we were looking for! This definitely isn't a 5 star hotel (so be prepared for that), it's a bit rustic, but incredibly beautiful and seems very timeless (it was everything we wanted our time to be in Tuscany). I'm very glad we decided to stay here and that we found this hidden gem, we would definitely come back!

After our time here, we drove to Positano for a few nights and then headed back up to Rome. We were in Italy for 2 1/2 weeks, we spent out time in Venice, Florence, Pieve Di Caminino, Positano, and Rome! It was truly an incredible vacation and we can't wait to go back. Feel free to email me with any questions! Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewhubrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

We were at Historic Resort Pieve di Caminino for a friend's 80th birthday party. It was a four-day party, with 26 guests, most of us from Texas. It was an amazing experience. The facility is incredibly charming and beautiful. The grounds are very special, with cork trees, vinyards and olive trees. Each suite is different, with family antiques and artistic objects of great interest and charm. Emiliano and the rest of the family are delightful and very helpful with advice about area points of interest. Two formal events were catered by the resort--an evening cocktail party and a birthday luncheon, with many courses, all delicious and beautifully served. The group also enjoyed a religious observation at the historic chapel on the property. Various impromptu gatherings took place in different suites and rooms, such as a DVD viewing in one large room and a pizza party on Sunday night. The facility is perfect for such a weekend for friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinggal009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccatederighi
3.8 mi away
La Melosa Resort
La Melosa Resort
#1 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
15.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tenuta Casteani Wine Resort
2.5 mi away
Residence Il Ciliegio
Residence Il Ciliegio
#3 of 3 in Roccatederighi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
5.1 mi away
Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm

Property: Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Address: Strada Provinciale 89 snc, 58036 Roccatederighi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccatederighi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Roccatederighi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caminino is an antique farm estate of 200 hectares (500 acres), completely fenced, access to which is reserved exclusively for guests with reservations. A centenary olive grove, a panoramic vineyard where walking or jogging at the sight of the Montemassi castle, and a legendary cork oak forest surround the old exclusive private village, now offering agriturismo hospitality, with swimming pool (in warm season) and two ponds. Silence dominates, pleasantly interrupted by the sounds of nature. The view stretches, on clear days, to the sea, where the horizon is marked by the island of Giglio. The ancient villages of Roccatederighi, Montemassi, Sticciano and Montepescali are nearby located, crowning the landscape with their fortfied walls: they area reachable driving afew minutes and all offer a delicious choice of typical restaurants and wine bars.Not to miss & easily reachable: Massa Marittima, Siena, Montalcino, Pitigliano, Castiglione della Pescaia, Populonia, Bolgheri, the Maremma National Park, The Tarot Garden, Mount Amiata, the Terme di Saturnia, Roselle, S. Galgano, S. Antimo ... The total lack of traffic makes Caminino easy to be reached, both from Rome Leonardo da Vinci (200km / 124mi) and from Pisa Galileo Galilei (140km / 87mi), or from Florence Amerigo Vespucci Airport (128km /80mi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Resort Pieve Di Caminino Hotel Roccatederighi
Pieve Di Caminino Historic Farm Italy/Roccatederighi, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing