We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in strategic position to visit southern Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fenice Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have selected the La Fenice as we wanted to stay in Massa Marittima to look around this area. The hotel is located a 5 to 10 minutes foot walk away from the lovely historic center with its cathedral and many restaurants.

The hotel does not offer its own parking ground, there is only public parking available. Due to this fact parking situation might be a problem during high season when also daily visitors come to visit Massa Marittima.

We have booked a suite with two separate rooms which included also a small kitchenette; therefore the suite has the appearance of a comfortable furnished apartment. Rooms were quite large, very comfortable bed and heating worked very well (…we stayed there in the winter…). The whole suite was spotlessly cleaned. Due to environmental protection I would have preferred having towels not changed every day.

This time of the year there are only few guests in the hotel, so it was very quiet. But overall the rooms are really clairaudient – you could hear your neighbour especially from above. Unfortunately this is a problem in most hotels in Italy.

Breakfast was very good with all the things we enjoy: fresh juice, yoghurt, croissants, cakes, toast, local cheese and ham….

We did not ask for much support, as I already knew the town and the region, but service offered at the reception was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the “La Fenice” and we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the garden do not have any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viaggi_CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 102 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent two nights at Le Fenice Park and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bilingual staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Our deluxe suite was huge and comfortably appointed, with ample room for two couples. The historic center of Massa Marittima is just about 5-10 minutes walk, and it is a lovely ancient town. Hotel sent us to an excellent restaurant for dinner, where we got a 10% discount as hotel guests. I would definitely recommend and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efellowsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The staff here was very friendly – we immediately felt welcome as soon as we arrived to this hotel. Located very close to the main piazza where the cafes overlook a beautiful church and tower. Parking at the lot behind the biblioteca – otherwise street parking is very difficult. Rooms were clean and very spacious, with an entire living room with tiny kitchenette. We were too tired at this point to cook, but this would be a good place to cook your own light meal, if desired, though I didn't see any pans for the stove. They also serve a large tasty breakfast. The town has a many beautiful walks around and outside the wall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay at La Fenice. I had checked out another hotel at the base of the town and HATED it. As a walk-in, I was offered a wonderful room for the same price (Euro 90). I enjoyed the grounds (a lovely garden and lawn to wald out upon), quiet quarters, and helpful staff (all three!) throughout my stay. The location is superb and the town is precious. HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: I asked to see a few rooms, but the first selected by the desk clerk ended up being the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great place to stay. Wonderful position. Generous breakfast offering fresh fruit salad. Breakfast should be offered in the garden but is not! Pity.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenbriffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This wonderful hotel has a relaxing atmosphere, big beautiful rooms, a very nice and quiet garden and a very friendly and helpful staff.
There might be some difficulties to communicate with some of the staff that do not speak english.
The hotel is located in the outskirts of the old town, only a 10 min. nice walk from the town centre, via a quite steep hill.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

It was a rainy and cold day we arrived in Massa Maritima. We had no hotel reservation and so we entered in La Fenice to ask for a free room. We got a beautiful 2 room suite for a good price. The charming concierge helped us for all questions in German language. It wasn't season, so I guess we was the only guests in this house. The rooms was clean, furnished with a living room included a little cooking space, eating table, couch and TV, the sleeping room with a doubble bed. The bathroom clean and well equipped.
The rooms are silent and good also for a longer stay. The staff very sypathic and friendly. The breakfast let no wishes open.
If ever we come back to Massa Maritima, we know already where we will stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinamatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Marittima hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Duca del Mare
Hotel Duca del Mare
#3 of 16 in Massa Marittima
132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#4 of 16 in Massa Marittima
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Girifalco
Hotel Girifalco
#2 of 16 in Massa Marittima
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfatti
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfat...
#2 of 41 in Massa Marittima
107 reviews
4.9 mi away
Il Convento di Monte Pozzali
Il Convento di Monte Pozzali
#1 of 41 in Massa Marittima
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fenice Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fenice Park Hotel

Address: Corso Armando Diaz 63, 58024, Massa Marittima, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range: $141 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fenice Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fenice Park Hotel is a 19th century mansion artistically and wisely restructured is a small , especially designed for guests looking for something special. All suites are individualy and tastefully decorated and equipped with all the comforts: Air Conditioning, Satellite TV, Wireless, Safe, Bathroom in precious Carraramarble.In summer you can enjoy a rich buffet breakfast in the garden with swimming pool available.We are happy to arrange appointments for tasting, and excursions. The Hotel is situated about 400 meters from the historic center, where in a few minutes you can reach the restaurants, shops and cafes of Massa Marittima, a splendid medieval jewel that is worth a visit, We will help you discover the secrets of the Maremma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fenice Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing