We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good choice staying in Massa Marittima” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Girifalco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Girifalco
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Hampshire, the old one.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good choice staying in Massa Marittima”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly staff and large rooms offering very attractive views.

It is on the edge of Massa Marittima, so requires a fairly step, but short walk into town, and perhaps therefore misses some of the buzz that the town offers in season, but conversely, it offers more tranquillity and more open views over the attractive countryside around the town.

The rooms are large, but otherwise fairly ordinary frankly, but good for what they are - and after all you are going to use the hotel as a base, not somewhere to spend hours in the room - and the view from the window improves the otherwise plainness!

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are plentiful and really good.

All round a very good Italian family run hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shower_Says_It_All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    75
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
38
61
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We love this town and were happy to return after 20 years. This hotel is just outside the town overlooking the countryside. Just a quick uphill walk of about 8 minutes to get to the town, which is charming. Many things about this hotel are great-- the pool makes for a pleasant diversion in the afternoon and the breakfast is good, with lots of fresh fruit. We needed a triple and the was only one in the older part if the hotel on the bottom floor. They let us know that it was not the nicest and indeed it was plainly decorated but clean and comfortable -- except for a strange smell which actually kept me awake (no one else suffered the same fate so maybe I am just super sensitive. I would stay here again, but would try for a nicer room if available. Great views from many parts of the hotel.

Love this town!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xandersmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here on a group holiday on a half board basis,
The hotel is in a good quiet location. In the countryside just outside - I woke up to bird song every day. But close enough to walk into the centre of MM (up a hill),
I didn't like the room I was initially allocated, so as all the rooms of that grade were taken, I paid a supplement to upgrade and had a lovely room, recently refurbished, large comfortable bed, good bathroom with wonderful shower.
But the best bits of the hotel are the staff and the food.
The staff are all really friendly and helpful, attentive, with an excellent memory for room numbers and food preferences.
The food was plentiful and tasty, with salads, vegetables and fresh fruit. There was plenty of choice at breakfast too. The group had some people with dietary requirements, These had been considered before the menu was presented to us, with proposed alternatives.
I'd very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: When booking, make sure it is clearly stated what sort of room it is, its location in the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa,ca
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel within easy walking to old town of !assa Marittima. Our room seemed brand new, and had a beautiful bed and large bathroom with a terrific shower (plus plenty of hot water and great water pressure). Nice double glass doors opened to a small outside patio with views. Not all rooms has this, but we did enjoy ours (no 29). Had a nice breakfast od cold meats, cheese, toast, jam, rolls (they also had cereals as well); coffee and juice. There was plenty of coffee and hot milk. All for 95 euros. Staff was nice as well. We'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank paulfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The rooms were comfortable and had a lovely view over the surrounding countryside. The staff were friendly and helpful and the prices were reasonable. The breakfast, although the same every day, was fresh and had variety. The evening meal menu was published in advance and there was always salad and the option for fresh fruit instead of dessert. It was an ideal venue and the fact that it was ten minutes walk from the town meant that it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Il Girifalco is just located outside the old town, reachable by foot in 10 minutes. Service is good, owner pretty friendly, swimming pool quite useful since the area during the summer months is pretty hot. You can get a free WI-FI access . My room was very clean and very quite.I asked the front desk for recommendations and were pleased with them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bobo-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

We have stayed twice at Il Girifalco once when our daughter was studying in Massa and more recently whilst on vacation in Tuscany.

Our both occasions we were very impressed with the hotel's cleanliness,its friendly staff,management and good food coupled with a real ambience that is rarely found outside of Italy.

What this hotel lacks in sophistication it more the compensates for in other ways moreover the views over the Maremma from the rear of the hotel are breathtaking and a walk in the lanes nearby takes you to an ancient cattle watering fountain, cultivated fields and cottage vegetable gardens.

A real breath of fresh Tuscan air !

  • Liked — the ambience
  • Disliked — some areas externally in need of attention
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank solatiumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Marittima
1.8 mi away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#2 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Fenice Park Hotel
La Fenice Park Hotel
#4 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duca del Mare
Hotel Duca del Mare
#5 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#7 of 14 in Follonica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfatti
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfat...
#2 of 39 in Massa Marittima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girifalco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girifalco

Property: Hotel Girifalco
Address: Via Massetana Nord 25, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the colours and scents of the Alta Maremma (Upper Maremma), and set in a delightful garden filled with flowers and aromatic plants, is the charming Hotel Girifalco. This 3-star hotel is just a few minutes away from the historic centre of Massa Marittima, a splendid mediaeval town with a fine Cathedral, "Palazzo del Podesta" (Governor's Hall), and Archaeological Museum. Are you looking for a hotel in Massa Marittima? The Hotel Girifalco will be glad to welcome you, and offer you peace and quiet, relaxation, natural surroundings and a family atmosphere. It is the ideal setting for either a family holiday, a romantic break, or as a base for enjoying outdoor sports and activities. The views in this area are spectacular and the climate is mild throughout the year. The sea is within very easy reach: we are only 17 km from Follonica (European Blue Flag 2013) and from the other beautiful beaches of the Tyrrhenian Sea. You can also enjoy excursions to nearby mediaeval villages, or take part in a variety of sports and activities, including cycling, walking, trekking or horse-riding. The Hotel Girifalco at Massa Marittima offers you a choice between our classic rooms and our new, exclusive bedrooms and suites with their bright, spacious atmosphere and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Girifalco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing