We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel with good food and lovely views”
Review of Hotel Girifalco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Girifalco
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The rooms were comfortable and had a lovely view over the surrounding countryside. The staff were friendly and helpful and the prices were reasonable. The breakfast, although the same every day, was fresh and had variety. The evening meal menu was published in advance and there was always salad and the option for fresh fruit instead of dessert. It was an ideal venue and the fact that it was ten minutes walk from the town meant that it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Il Girifalco is just located outside the old town, reachable by foot in 10 minutes. Service is good, owner pretty friendly, swimming pool quite useful since the area during the summer months is pretty hot. You can get a free WI-FI access . My room was very clean and very quite.I asked the front desk for recommendations and were pleased with them.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bobo-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We have stayed twice at Il Girifalco once when our daughter was studying in Massa and more recently whilst on vacation in Tuscany.

Our both occasions we were very impressed with the hotel's cleanliness,its friendly staff,management and good food coupled with a real ambience that is rarely found outside of Italy.

What this hotel lacks in sophistication it more the compensates for in other ways moreover the views over the Maremma from the rear of the hotel are breathtaking and a walk in the lanes nearby takes you to an ancient cattle watering fountain, cultivated fields and cottage vegetable gardens.

A real breath of fresh Tuscan air !

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank solatiumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

Picked Massa Marittima at random, and Il Girifalco on the the net because of price. Have found in the past that most Italian 2* hotels are usually pretty good value. This appears to be a family owned hotel

Went in mid May and unfortunately, the weather had been cold and wet previous to our visit. The room we were allocated was North facing and felt damp and cold with marbled flooring. Probably would have been ideal mid-summer in blazing temps outside. Although our schedule advised that the rooms had heating, these were not working (apparently local bye-laws don't allow heating after May 1st!).

We asked for a sunnier room and were given (at no extra cost) one of the superior rooms which was much warmer (front of hotel + carpet & TV). The younger staff spoke english & I managed to communicate with the elderly owners in my pigeon italian. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Bar prices cheap and the pool was clean, but surrounding areas were again showing signs of damp. Sunbeds were all OK and the weather was excellent all week, no rain & temps mid-high 70's.

The breakfast was actually nearer 4* quality, with cereals, boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, cakes, home made jams and various breads and selections of hot and cold drinks with a tremendous view over the valley from the breakfast (dining) room. The restaurant was only open on the first evening, and served only a set traditional menu at 18 euros, which was interesting but restrictive if you didn't like what was on offer. Bar snacks, especially the toasted sandwiches at 2e each, were excellent value.

Plenty of alternative retaurants in Massa itself, all reasonably priced and we didn't have a duff meal all week. Hotel is easy to get to, but uphill 15 min walk to town. Plenty of parking at the hotel with fair bit of shade from mature trees. Loads of birds in the hotel gardens, with a resident Jay, some Hoopoo's and many smaller unidentified ones and plenty of other wildlife in close proximity to hotel (including a stork / tortoise preservation centre which we found whilst tootling along a very quiet bye-road). Beautiful area, loads of wild flowers in May and only 15 - 20 mins from nearest beaches, most of which were child friendly.

Hotel rating between above average and excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eggwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2005

We stayed at Il Girifalco for the first four nights of a ten-night car tour of Tuscany. It is an excellent base for exploring both the lovely town of Massa Marittima and Grosseto province.

The hotel is perched on a hillside with spectacular views across the Tuscan countryside. It is on the edge of the town and has its own parking, and the rooms are quiet. It is a short walk (though up a steep hill) to the town centre - about 15 minutes to restaurants etc. The hotel has a restaurant although unfortunately this was closed for kitchen refurbishment while we were there. However, there was a good buffet breakfast, reasonable variety for a small hotel, and the food was replenished quickly when it ran out.

The room was spacious and clean. Ours overlooked the view and outdoor pool but some rooms do not have views at all. The pool appeared clean although the pool side furniture was a little scruffy.

1  Thank RDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonyaToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Alessandro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Marittima hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duca del Mare
Hotel Duca del Mare
#2 of 16 in Massa Marittima
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#5 of 16 in Massa Marittima
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Agriturismo Fraschiera
Agriturismo Fraschiera
#4 of 16 in Massa Marittima
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfatti
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfat...
#2 of 41 in Massa Marittima
109 reviews
5.2 mi away
Il Convento di Monte Pozzali
Il Convento di Monte Pozzali
#1 of 41 in Massa Marittima
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girifalco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girifalco

Address: Via Massetana Nord 25, 58024, Massa Marittima, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range: $57 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girifalco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the colours and scents of the Alta Maremma (Upper Maremma), and set in a delightful garden filled with flowers and aromatic plants, is the charming Hotel Girifalco. This 3-star hotel is just a few minutes away from the historic centre of Massa Marittima, a splendid mediaeval town with a fine Cathedral, "Palazzo del Podesta" (Governor's Hall), and Archaeological Museum. Are you looking for a hotel in Massa Marittima? The Hotel Girifalco will be glad to welcome you, and offer you peace and quiet, relaxation, natural surroundings and a family atmosphere. It is the ideal setting for either a family holiday, a romantic break, or as a base for enjoying outdoor sports and activities. The views in this area are spectacular and the climate is mild throughout the year. The sea is within very easy reach: we are only 17 km from Follonica (European Blue Flag 2013) and from the other beautiful beaches of the Tyrrhenian Sea. You can also enjoy excursions to nearby mediaeval villages, or take part in a variety of sports and activities, including cycling, walking, trekking or horse-riding. The Hotel Girifalco at Massa Marittima offers you a choice between our classic rooms and our new, exclusive bedrooms and suites with their bright, spacious atmosphere and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Girifalco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing