We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Architecture and Views to die for!”
Review of Villa Il Tesoro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Il Tesoro
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We had a lovley two night stay ay this hotel which took a little finding but is tucked away up country lanes with breath taking views over the countryside. The staff were very friendly (in a nice way), very helpful and knowledgable about their wine and food. The menu was not extensive but perfect and the food to some of the best I have had. Il Tesoro also has it's own wine and Olive Oil which you can arrrange a tasting of and purchase (which we did). The lounge is separate from the main bedrooms which are also are in 3 separate buildings. The views from the lounge are wonderful with huge glass windows to watch the sun go down (it was April and still a little cool for sitting outside). There are also several terraces and an out door pool. Our room was well equipped but a little impersonal but we did have our own log heater a design I've never seen before! It's a little pricey but still a great getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2008

The Villa il Tesoro grounds consist of several buildings, many of which are restored, converted, centuries-old farmhouses. The rough stone masonry, exposed timber support beams, and terra cotta tile contrast with the minimalist decor, white paint, and naturalistic decorative elements. For example, some small tables are rough-hewn slabs of stone set into the wall. The setting is marvelous; the view is of hundreds of acres of silvery olive groves, vineyards, stone pine forests, and rolling Tuscan hills. Around the buildings grow citrus trees, roses, hundreds of meters of rosemary, lavender, and other herbs. Several kilometers to the northeast, you can see Massa Marittima perched atop its hill. Of course, the small pool was closed in April.

I believe all of the rooms are suites. Our suite had a very effective wood-burning stove as well as modern heating and AC. It was hot enough for T-shirts and cold enough to snow in the 3 days we stayed. The beds had puffy, white duvets and comfortable mattresses. Our shower was large with nice toiletries.

Breakfast was excellent, and it was included in our rate. It consisted of a beautifully laid buffet of fruit, cakes, tarts, meats, cheese, and yoghurt. The breakfast room/evening lounge occupies a separate building with large picture windows. The staff treated us very kindly. One of our party had a fever, and we were well-cared for. Even the staff who spoke no English were solicitous and friendly.

The handsome, romantic restaurant is expensive and good. The menu is a blend of traditional and haute, and the kitchen and staff are proud of the good work they do. That being said, the prep is a little bit forced, and the menu is not extensive. But we were happy, and the local wines are a must. There is a small shop/enoteca on-site where one may buy olive oils and wine from the parent organization that runs the hotel.

The hotel is peaceful and quiet because of its remote location. Heading south from Massa Marittima, the hotel is to the right side of the road (west), but one must exit to the left and come back around under the highway. Confusing. Then one wends along tiny country roads, through farming country, following the signs to the hotel. Voila.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We had never been to the Maremma before, so we didn't know what to expect. Our visit could not have started on a better note. We drove to Villa il Tesoro from the Rome airport and found this gem of a boutique hotel. The views of the surrounding countryside are stunning; from vineyards and olive trees to farms and beautiful residences nearby to Massa Marittima perched on a hillside.

We were in love with the place before we ever got to our room, which was actually a very comfortable suite. The service was flawless and friendly, never a down moment. From the reception, to breakfast, drinks and dinner, the classy staff made you feel as if you got great value. The restaurant, while not inexpensive, was superb. Attractive dining room, excellent food, a very good wine list and the seamless, perfect service.

There is a separate building in which breakfast is served. This same beautiful room is also used for cocktails and snacks. Guytano is responsible for the room and he could not be friendlier or more attentive.

There is an attention to every design and architectual detail on this stunning property. A travel companion offered that the hotel was done with an artist's eye. That says it best

And oh yes, the wines of Terrabianca are as good as everything else about Villa il Tesoro.

Take it from a couple that has seen a lot of Italy. Villa il Tesoro is a very special place.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

The property itself is outstanding. Elegant, manicured, surrounded in every direction by rolling hills of vineyards which you must drive through to get to the property. The sky is star filled and the starlike lighting on the ground is dramatic. The property is a lesson in architectural contrasts. The traditional stone tuscan facades are filled with modern interiors, interesting design elements and colorful furniture. The dining room and the dining experience is five star with the prices you would expect to match. If you are looking for a property in the middle of tuscany, this isn't it, although the autostrada isn't too far away so a day trip for instance up the coast to Pisa is about an hour and half drive. Masa Maritima only munites away is a genuine town, not a tourist trap like San Gimigano. The breakfast included all the cheeses, meats and fruit you would expect, plus eight different freshly baked cakes each day. My only small complaint is, at these prices they shouldn't charge extra for the cappacino with breakfast.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank MGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We just returned from a stay at the wonderful Villa il Tesoro. We stayed for 6 nights of our honeymoon and it was a great base camp for touring Tuscany. It is definitely off the beaten track - at night, you can see more stars there than I knew existed. The views - stunning. The service in the hotel/restaurant/bar were great. The food at the restaurant was very good - though the selection very limited (especially for picky eaters). I ended up having the lamb chops twice, because they were the only thing I was brave enough to try. My husband had pigeon one night and said the lamb chops were better.
The place is very well run and maintained, our suite was spacious, though a bit bare (lots of empty space, small love-seat sized couch and television, lots of white). The only complaint I'll share is that there was no alarm clock, so we needed to rely on a wake-up call (which makes me nervous anywhere) and the reception desk closed at 9pm, so if we didn't decide what time to get up before then, we were at the mercy of the sun to wake up in time. It also drove me nuts because I had to search for a watch in the middle of the night to find out what time it was.

Breakfast was overpriced (looks like it's included in some rates, but wasn't in ours). But we found great food nearby in Massa Marittima.

We will definitely go back (taking our own clock next time)!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelSnob19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We spent four nights at Il Tesoro. The hotel is set amongst vinyards and olive groves in the countryside outside Massa Marittima. The views are stunning in every direction. A beautifully stylish hotel. It is about 10 minutes drive from Massa Marittima - where there are various restaurants. In the other direction is the bustling town of Follonica which is on the sea. We had an enormous suite beautifully decorated. The breakfast was sumptious - with delicious hams and cheeses and a huge of selection of cakes.
The restaurant was very disappointing. It was overpriced and the menu overambitious. It was a shame as we would have loved to have eaten at the hotel restaurant more - but it just wasn't tempting.
Cayetano - who ran the outside bar was a massive asset to the hotel. He was very charming, helpful and polite. It was great to have internet access (without having to submit ID every time we used - as seemed to be the case in other hotels).

The front office were OK.

Overall a stunning location and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MiriamG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Il Tesoro with our two infants. We had a Junior Suite which was nice and spacious with a huge bed. The location is wonderful and it would make a fantastic spot to take over for a wedding. My only complaint was that the sofa bed was one was sharp edges (sound like a neurotic mother but the kids did keep bashing themselves on it), the restaurant was lovely but quite haute cuisine which is perfect for the evening but I thought their lunch menu to be very limited - i.e pasta or salad. Overall though, the place was spotless and in a great location for relaxing. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank LucyMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Marittima hotels
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Fraschiera
Agriturismo Fraschiera
#4 of 16 in Massa Marittima
19 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Fenice Park Hotel
La Fenice Park Hotel
#8 of 16 in Massa Marittima
102 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Agriturismo Pian del Vescovo
Agriturismo Pian del Vescovo
#7 of 16 in Massa Marittima
13 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#5 of 16 in Massa Marittima
430 reviews
4.1 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfatti
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfat...
#2 of 41 in Massa Marittima
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Il Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Tesoro

Address: Localita Valpiana, 58024, Massa Marittima, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Il Tesoro 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Il Tesoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Tesoro Hotel Massa Marittima
Hotel Il Tesoro
Il Tesoro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing