We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A haven of peace revisited!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badia a Coltibuono

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Badia a Coltibuono
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A haven of peace revisited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited this converted monastery for a third time last week and the welcome we received was as warm and friendly as ever. The gardens are beautiful and the rooms beautifully appointed. Standing in the courtyard leading to the gardens it is as though time stood still centuries ago.

The restaurant is wonderful too.

There is so much to see and do in the area we could have stayed longer but we will return! another memorable trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAE357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    42
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
98
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Badia a Coltibuono. We stayed in a room overlooking the beautiful renaissance gardens. It was spacious, comfortable and charming. There's a restaurant on site as well that's very good. The location made a great base for exploring Siena, San Gimignano and other places. We took a tour of the building and wine cellar the first day, which was a nice way to start our stay, and gave us a lot of appreciation for the history of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stegner889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When you make the turn in to Badia from the mainroad, there's a cute little gift shop selling wine and ceramics, a great stop for some gift items. When you curve up and around the hill, all of a sudden Badia a Coltibuono comes into view and I must say it's really breathtaking. We parked by the chapel and headed in to check in at the courtyard, passing by their many sheep and their sheep dogs. When you enter the courtyard, it feels like you are entering a different century!

We stayed in the Magnolia apartment for 4 nights. It was HUGE!!! Must have been at least 1500 sq ft. We were two couples sharing the space. The Magnolia apartment is on the 2nd floor of the building and has views to both the courtyard and the back formal gardens. You enter via stairs and then have foyer at the top with loads of books, plus wine awaiting you (for purchase, of course). At the end of the foyer is one bedroom with a queen sized bed. This room overlooks the courtyard and is a bit small. It has a full bathroom plus washing machine here (no dryer). From the foyer you go up a few stairs and enter the main part of the apartment which includes a small gallery style kitchen, a huge living/dining room, and then another bedroom "wing". On the wing was a large bathroom with shower plus tub, a HUGE walkin closet, a small bedroom with one twin bed, and then a HUGE master bedroom.

The kitchen had some basics in it for cooking. Salt, pepper, great olive oil, plus pots, pans, dishes and of course, wine glasses. We cooked breakfast here almost every morning after picking up some items from the local town. Our first morning we had breakfast for 10 euro/pp with the folks staying at the B&B but I did not think it was worth the money. Cereal, yogurt, homemade cakes, cheese and cold meats. Nothing too special.

The large living room was equipped with a decent stereo system and lots of CDs. We also brought our ipod and could hook that into the system. They had a small TV but not many channels, but honestly, who needs it when you are in such a gorgeous place?

The master bedroom was huge and pretty comfortable with beautiful views of the formal gardens.

All throughout the apartment were personal touches, it's clear that this apartment is used for the family that owns the place for whenever they are in town. There are family pictures everywhere, costume jewelry in the bathrooms, nightgowns in the drawers, etc. You feel as though you are staying in someone's house, which may or may not be something that everyone would like.

A tip: this place can easily sleep 5 because of the twin bedroom. It's billed as sleeping 4, though. If you are splitting with another couple, as we did, it's a little unfair if you split the bill equally. The master bedroom is really huge, you basically have your own wing. The 2nd bedroom is quite small and feels like "maids quarters".

We had fun wandering the grounds and gardens, and swimming in their VERY cold pool! The place was quite quiet and apart from the occasional wine tour going through, it felt like our own villa. No one else was at the pool the entire day we spent there.

We did the wine tasting the first day we stayed here and it was very nice and informative. We are not wine affectionados, so cannot comment on the quality of the wine, but it tasted great to us! The tourguide was very sweet and spoke English well.

We also ate at the restaurant on site one night, which I will write up in a separate review, but all I can say is WOW.

One con: it's rather difficult to get here, lots of winding roads, no close stores/attractions. BUT if you're looking for a getaway, this very well may be the perfect place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had I known how enjoyable this stay would have been, I would have stayed longer. The restaurant should not be missed. Interesting history, and you should probably join in on a tour. We explored on our own because of time constraints, but will return and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The restaurant is now very 'chic' but the food was still excellent and represented good value and the service was very professional.
The rooms have been added more recently and we had a superior room that was to put it bluntly austere - I know the monks lived there but at almost 200 euros a night one would have expected a little luxury. No telephone, no television not even a flower and very intermittent internet access. Breakfast was unexciting and again in fairly bleak surroundings. The whole place is fab but 1 night is probably enough !
The wine was better before it became organic !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbkPaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Badia for one week at the end of September 2012. Everything about this place was awesome! The people that run the place are extremely accommodating, the food and service at the resturant is top notch and the wine.. very good. I would highly recommend the Badia experience. I hope to some day return. They go above and beyond there.

Room Tip: The apartment we stayed in was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful weekend here. The restaurant is fantastic and the hotel is so peaceful and interesting. The grounds are lovely with beautiful views all around.
I found the place had a healing feel which stayed with me. We will definately go back - in fact we've already booked!

Room Tip: all rooms have superb views.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badia a Coltibuono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia a Coltibuono

Property: Badia a Coltibuono
Address: Localita Badia a Coltibuono, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Badia a Coltibuono 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badia a Coltibuono is the first wine resort in Chianti, opening it's doors to travellers and visitors who want to share a truly unique experience. Here it is possible to encounter the magic of a venue, to observe the slow yet intense rhythm of a 1000 year old abbey and farm and to sleep in history in the eight bedrooms with en suite bathroom and the 5 apartments, furnished with all facilities. Guests can relax in the magnificent Italian style garden or, during the summer months, around the large open-air swimming pool. 800 Hectares of forests, crisscrossed with walking or mountain biking paths provide for a pristine natural backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Badia a Coltibuono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia a Coltibuono Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Badia a Coltibuono Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing