We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“20 years - progress ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Badia a Coltibuono

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Badia a Coltibuono
Certificate of Excellence
paphos
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“20 years - progress ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The restaurant is now very 'chic' but the food was still excellent and represented good value and the service was very professional.
The rooms have been added more recently and we had a superior room that was to put it bluntly austere - I know the monks lived there but at almost 200 euros a night one would have expected a little luxury. No telephone, no television not even a flower and very intermittent internet access. Breakfast was unexciting and again in fairly bleak surroundings. The whole place is fab but 1 night is probably enough !
The wine was better before it became organic !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbkPaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    43
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
100
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Badia for one week at the end of September 2012. Everything about this place was awesome! The people that run the place are extremely accommodating, the food and service at the resturant is top notch and the wine.. very good. I would highly recommend the Badia experience. I hope to some day return. They go above and beyond there.

Room Tip: The apartment we stayed in was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful weekend here. The restaurant is fantastic and the hotel is so peaceful and interesting. The grounds are lovely with beautiful views all around.
I found the place had a healing feel which stayed with me. We will definately go back - in fact we've already booked!

Room Tip: all rooms have superb views.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beautiful abbey, full of history but with all modern comforts; an excellent restaurant; great, no, fantastic cookery school with Andrea the chef, who patiently demonstrates and then gets everyone to join in, shows you new skills and techniques, and then you get to eat what you have prepared, this is the way forward for school!
Everyone here makes you immediately feel welcome, at ease and most of all at home. Peaceful, delightful, and the bonus is they make superb wines and olive oils, the whole place is simply stunning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went here basically for a tour and wine tasting. They are welcoming and seem to really enjoy sharing information about the grounds, which are rich in history and organic esthetics. Well worth the long climb to taste the vine, and enjoy the most panoramic of views.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here, occasion was a well-chosen visit.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fabulous historic place to stay.
Cool buildings, extensive gardens, even your own Church to visit.
Very good Restaurant on the property that we had a delicious dinner at.
The highlight though was "graduating" from a one day cooking school in the Badia a Coltibuono kitchen ! We had a blast with that, and even got to eat the results.
Tour the wine caves. Very cool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicxl
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a must try if you have not stayed in a historical bldg before. This place feels like a castle when we step and and all the furniture and walkway makes u feel like u are in a museum!

Parking is free but you need to drive thru some small lanes to reach this magical place. We reached at night so thank god we had gps. The housekeeper was very nice to leave a note at the door for us as we arrived late at night about 10pm.

Breakfast was provided and it was served at the quaint lil breakfast room with classical music. The cakes were delicious!

We also had dinner at the restaurant (Michelin 2012 pending), euro 59 for a meal with chianti wines and olive oil 'tasting'!!!

This accom is quite near SPACE if u are into PRADA/Miu Miu.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badia a Coltibuono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia a Coltibuono

Property: Badia a Coltibuono
Address: Localita Badia a Coltibuono, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Badia a Coltibuono 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badia a Coltibuono is the first wine resort in Chianti, opening it's doors to travellers and visitors who want to share a truly unique experience. Here it is possible to encounter the magic of a venue, to observe the slow yet intense rhythm of a 1000 year old abbey and farm and to sleep in history in the eight bedrooms with en suite bathroom and the 5 apartments, furnished with all facilities. Guests can relax in the magnificent Italian style garden or, during the summer months, around the large open-air swimming pool. 800 Hectares of forests, crisscrossed with walking or mountain biking paths provide for a pristine natural backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Badia a Coltibuono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia a Coltibuono Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Badia a Coltibuono Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing