We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peace and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badia a Coltibuono

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Badia a Coltibuono
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful weekend here. The restaurant is fantastic and the hotel is so peaceful and interesting. The grounds are lovely with beautiful views all around.
I found the place had a healing feel which stayed with me. We will definately go back - in fact we've already booked!

Room Tip: all rooms have superb views.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    43
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
100
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beautiful abbey, full of history but with all modern comforts; an excellent restaurant; great, no, fantastic cookery school with Andrea the chef, who patiently demonstrates and then gets everyone to join in, shows you new skills and techniques, and then you get to eat what you have prepared, this is the way forward for school!
Everyone here makes you immediately feel welcome, at ease and most of all at home. Peaceful, delightful, and the bonus is they make superb wines and olive oils, the whole place is simply stunning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went here basically for a tour and wine tasting. They are welcoming and seem to really enjoy sharing information about the grounds, which are rich in history and organic esthetics. Well worth the long climb to taste the vine, and enjoy the most panoramic of views.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here, occasion was a well-chosen visit.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fabulous historic place to stay.
Cool buildings, extensive gardens, even your own Church to visit.
Very good Restaurant on the property that we had a delicious dinner at.
The highlight though was "graduating" from a one day cooking school in the Badia a Coltibuono kitchen ! We had a blast with that, and even got to eat the results.
Tour the wine caves. Very cool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicxl
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a must try if you have not stayed in a historical bldg before. This place feels like a castle when we step and and all the furniture and walkway makes u feel like u are in a museum!

Parking is free but you need to drive thru some small lanes to reach this magical place. We reached at night so thank god we had gps. The housekeeper was very nice to leave a note at the door for us as we arrived late at night about 10pm.

Breakfast was provided and it was served at the quaint lil breakfast room with classical music. The cakes were delicious!

We also had dinner at the restaurant (Michelin 2012 pending), euro 59 for a meal with chianti wines and olive oil 'tasting'!!!

This accom is quite near SPACE if u are into PRADA/Miu Miu.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I cannot say enough good things about Badia a Coltibuono! We stayed here for 3 nights in between a very busy Florence and Rome trip. It was the perfect 3 nights of rest and relaxation in one of the most beautiful and unique settings we have ever seen. The surrounding hills reminded us very much of the Great Smoky Mountains in Tennessee, which we love very much. But they are different and have that beautiful Tuscan scenery all around. The grounds of the property are amazing. We sat in the courtyard drinking wine many late afternoons and after dinner. We always felt like we had the place to ourselves. The garden was so beautiful and we can't believe that was the view from our room! Our beds were comfortable and the room was a nice size. There is no air conditioning and while I was a bit concerned with that since we were staying in late August, it ended up being no problem at all. The hills are much cooler than the city and the breeze in our window at night was perfect. It was so peaceful and silent at night that we got excellent sleep here! We spent one day hiking in the surrounding property, which was beautiful but a somewhat strenous hike. We saw wild boar tusk and a bone of a leg and a wallowing pool where they sometimes lay and were a bit concerned we would see a live one but it ended up being fine! We ate in the restaurant all three nights we stayed and it was some of the very best food we had in all of our 2 week vacation in Italy. The Tuscan bread soup was one of the best things I have ever had. We also swam in the pool one afternoon and it was very refreshing and maintained well. We took a wine tour with Francesca and found it to be informative and the wine there is fantastic. We loved the Chianti Classico Riserva 2008 and ordered some to be shipped back home to us. The abbey itself was a fascinating place to stay in. We loved the history of the area and the story of the property. We ventured into 2 nearby towns that were not far and easy to drive to. The breakfast was from 8-10 and I wish it had been a bit longer because we wanted to sleep in here. However it was good. It was a buffet with all kinds of different choices that were good and satisfying. The server will also make you a cappuccino as well. I wish we had been able to stay one or two more nights! We would absolutely stay here again and would recommend this to anyone. We couldn't believe we were actually staying here the entire time we were here because it was so amazing and something you only see on TV or read about!

Room Tip: there is no fitness center, the hiking in the woods is the best fitness center!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abct77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent three nights here on our recent honeymoon. The minute we drove up the winding drive and arrived, we were unbelievably impressed with Coltibuono. The grounds were gorgeous, the innkeepers gracious and helpful, and the on-site restaurant divine. The wine and olive oil were out of this world, and we even had some shipped home to enjoy again and again.
I would definitely recommend this hidden gem to anyone who is looking for a true 'back in time' experience in the countryside of Italy.
My only negative was that we left too soon.....we are already talking about returning to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall (room 10) with a view of the courtyard which was just beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieGauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badia a Coltibuono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia a Coltibuono

Property: Badia a Coltibuono
Address: Localita Badia a Coltibuono, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Badia a Coltibuono 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badia a Coltibuono is the first wine resort in Chianti, opening it's doors to travellers and visitors who want to share a truly unique experience. Here it is possible to encounter the magic of a venue, to observe the slow yet intense rhythm of a 1000 year old abbey and farm and to sleep in history in the eight bedrooms with en suite bathroom and the 5 apartments, furnished with all facilities. Guests can relax in the magnificent Italian style garden or, during the summer months, around the large open-air swimming pool. 800 Hectares of forests, crisscrossed with walking or mountain biking paths provide for a pristine natural backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Badia a Coltibuono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia a Coltibuono Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Badia a Coltibuono Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing