We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in Tuscany”
Review of Badia a Coltibuono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Badia a Coltibuono
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our family of 5 recently spent three nights at Badia Coltibuono in one of their guest apartments. After 10 days of city travel, we were ready for a break, and this is the perfect place. Sylvia was very welcoming, as was everyone else working at the B&B and the restaurant. Our apartment had 4 bedrooms, kitchen, spacious living area and two baths, and terrace. It was comfortably furnished, and included a small washing machine which was quite welcome at our stage of the trip. There was a breakfast room with a nice selection of cereals, breads, yogurts, fruit, sliced meats, etc. which you can add for 10 euros/person. Or you could easily go into town and get provisions at the COOP. The restaurant was excellent, but was perhaps a bit sophisticated for our kids. They were willing to make a plain pasta with tomato sauce . You can easily take day trips to other towns in Chianti and Sylvia arranged for a personal guide to meet us in Sienna for a 3 hour tour of the city, including the Campo and the famous Duomo. (Our tour guide was Dr. Gianna Chiaretti, by the way, and she was fabulous!) The staff was also able to suggest local restaurants, direct you to the local supermarket, and in general help out with any questions. The custom in Italy is to eat on the later side, which may prove challenging if you are traveling with kids. We did end up eating mostly alone at restaurants and watched Italian families with kids stroll in around 9:30!

If you are driving, you will absolutely need some sort of GPS system. Especially if you drive to Sienna. Without it, we would still be circling, looking for our guide. My husband's ipad was flummoxed by Sienna. Sienna, is a beautiful medieval town, that defies logic in terms of driving. It is quite hilly and also quite crowded. Our teenage kids chose to skip this tour, and had much better time hanging out at the B&B. I felt they were completely safe there. Sienna is a good hour away, so if you plan a day trip, get an early start. We also did a day trip to Greve in Chianti. It is about 45 minutes by car. There is the LBG leather outlet (the B&B has brochures) which is worth a visit. They manufacture for some MAJOR labels and sell their own designs. You can be sure you are getting a bag made in Italy. We spent a lovely Saturday in Greve and walked through the open market and had lunch at Il(la?) Cantina.

Be sure to take the tour at Badia Coltibuono of the monastery, gardens, and wine caves. It is only about an hour and if you do the 5 p.m. tour you finish with a tasting of their excellent wines. The grounds are lovely and include a pool, so be sure to give yourself at least one afternoon just to relax and enjoy the tremendous beauty of the B&B. And don't miss the gift shop right at the entrance from the main road. You can have them ship wine and olive oil anywhere in the world, or they can arrange carrier packs for you to take with you on the plane as checked baggage. In addition to their products (wine, honey, oil) they have a very nice selection of locally made items/gifts including pottery, olive wood bowls/pieces, and other kitchen/wine related items.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 272 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I did the garden & cellar & wine tasting tour at 5pm today and can report that for 7 euros pp it was average value and 'quite interesting' (apologies to Stephen Fry). There were only 4 of us on the tour which started in the garden. Not a huge garden, which is well maintained, and the history of the property is probably the most important information to be gained from the tour. After proceeding through part of the old monastery (which is now a B&B) you are taken to the cellars. There are 80 x 24.5 hl wine barrels for storage and the cellars were originally a crypt for the monks. The wine tasting consisted of only 2 wines - the 2008 Classico and 2007 Reserva - which we could have tasted without charge at the Badia a Coltibuono retail shop down the road. Neither wine was anything other than average in our opinion. The tour guide was new to the role and did a good job of reciting the history. Areas for improvement are the lack of a guide uniform and general presentation. In summary, quite interesting but not an attraction that you must see. You can view the church on this property without charge at any time and there is no charge for parking. A pleasant diversion as you drive around Chianti enjoying the splendid scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I can hardly believe that it was only two weeks ago we stayed at this beautiful converted monastery. The setting is spellbounding and the monastery itself feels as though it has witnessed many interesting times. It was the second time we had stayed at the hotel and we will definitely go back. June is a very good time to go because the garden is blooming. The sense of peace is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. And the swimming pool - albeit a little cold at 10 a.m was great and again the setting here was beautiful. And there is a lovely restaurant as well with some great wines.

A very memorable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAE357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is my absolute favorite place to stay in Tuscany. I always feel like it's slightly surreal here-as though I'm part of a beautiful movie. Rooms are traditional Tuscan style decoration with big private baths, the grounds are phenomenal and the ristorante has amazing cuisine with many of the vegetables and herbs grown right there in the gardens. Badia is up on a bit of a hill so the views from the front are idyllic complete with a pasture of sheep along the drive. Summertime means the gardens are in bloom, fruit is growing on trees, pool temp is refreshing and late afternoons outside are perfect for sipping their wines. Go on a guided tour of the place which includes the underground wine cellars (once a crypt for monks). Be mindful of walking outside the walled fortress-wild boars often cross the pathways!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacredmusic04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Badia a Colibuono for two nights recently on our trip through Northern Italy. It was truly a unique and wonderful experience. The former abbey is set in the hills of Tuscany overlooking the Arno River valley. Each room is very spacious and peaceful (they were the former monks' quarters). The staff was exceptionally welcoming and helpful and the restaurant on site was world-class. I great place in the middle of the Chianti region from which to set out on day trips (we explored Siena and San Gimignano comfortably in one day from here). Would definitely stay here again on future trips.

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastern (front) side of the facility are facing the valley....a beautiful view if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

A completely different type of ristorante for my friends from Austin Texas. My wife and I with Michele and Jim had a splendid meal with regional cuisine that will be long remembered. The waiter was extremely attentive and offered suggestions for superb wines. Truly a Tuscan experience in the hills of Chianti. This is the real thing !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fortemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I stopped for a few nights here on our honeymoon, and we loved every second of our experience. Our hostess, Francesca, could not have been more friendly and informative, and she made us feel right at home! Everyone we met there was very kind and welcoming! The wine is excellent, the grounds/gardens are amazing, and the food at the restaurant was the best we tasted in all of Italy! A very romantic, beautiful, and fantastic place!!! We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klp179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
556 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
870 reviews
7.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badia a Coltibuono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia a Coltibuono

Address: Localita Badia a Coltibuono, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: $134 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Badia a Coltibuono 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badia a Coltibuono is the first wine resort in Chianti, opening it's doors to travellers and visitors who want to share a truly unique experience. Here it is possible to encounter the magic of a venue, to observe the slow yet intense rhythm of a 1000 year old abbey and farm and to sleep in history in the eight bedrooms with en suite bathroom and the 5 apartments, furnished with all facilities. Guests can relax in the magnificent Italian style garden or, during the summer months, around the large open-air swimming pool. 800 Hectares of forests, crisscrossed with walking or mountain biking paths provide for a pristine natural backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Badia a Coltibuono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia a Coltibuono Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Badia a Coltibuono Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing