We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time in Meleto”
Review of Castello di Meleto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello di Meleto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Another great time in Meleto”
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We have just arrived back from another trip in Meleto. As usual, Penny and GAbriella the hotel / wine shop staff were fabulous. The Castello is not like any normal hotel - it is a very old castle and therefore the rooms are a bit dated but if you look beyond that it is something very special. The atmosphere is unique and the views across the Chianti hills are amazing. If staying in the castello I would advise room number 5 and go when it is hot enough to chill out by the wonderful pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    101
    27
    17
    11
See reviews for
65
211
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We had big support in getting the key after 7.00 when the reception closes but then the disappointment starts. The room we stayed is located in an annex - which appears to be recently built. NO window in the room in sunny Tuscany 32C!!! Service is at fixed time, ok, everyone can live with that. The rooms are not well sound isolated, your neighbour sneezes and caughs and you clearly believe there is someone else in the room. Guess they hear every noise too. The rooms upstairs also help you keep awake. For the price they charge, might be much better. They do have better rooms, we just did not have the pleasure to be in one of them although we stayed three nights. Keep away from the room PIO BOSCO! The landscape is amazing but you have no view to it unless you are outside. The landscape will not be forgotten, this Hotel definitly will!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — No window
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TuscanyZANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I stayed in Castello di Meleto for a few days last autumn. Its location on a typical tuscan hill is spectacular, however the castle itself is rather run down and fortunately we were accomodated in the modern bungalows around it. Food was pretty dissappointing - it would arrive cold on the table and it was pretty bland.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OlaLazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed at the Castle for only one night in Sept 2007. We wanted to have at least one night in a real castle during our trip. The 'ambiance' was fun - old castle, thick walls, uneven floors, looks neat - but there were a few items that, taken all together, would cause us to find another place on our next trip.

Good things: Great views, authentic small castle/old feeling, treated well by reception staff, no problems with direct reseservation or payment, comple. bottle of wine in room, very large room with modern bathroom. Offered a free winery tour and castle tour. Great restaurant down at the bottom of the hill.

Not so good: Room was not very clean - canopy beds were extremely dusty, cobwebs in corners and throughout the bathroom. Beds were the most uncomfortable have ever stayed in - was tempted to try the floor. Rooms dark, but OK - this is a castle without much in the way of modern electricity. No one to help with luggage and of course, no elevator - so not good for anyone with mobility problems. We left most of the luggage in the car and took only a small bag up the flights of stairs. Good breakfast, but it was marred by some type of a loud argument in the kitchen area- made us and another couple in the breakfast room uncomfortable.

Also, there is not any staff on the premises after 7PM, the note we were given that that is case of emergencies, call the housekeeper, ______, who does not speak English.!!!!?????

The castle was undergoing some construction/renovation work, so perhaps the dust/cobweb situation would improve in the future. It did surprise us - this was my 5th visit to Italy and staying in a great variety of different places, I've never had any 'clean' issues.

So overall, it was kind of a strange stay and I don't think we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NanComm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Meleto the last week in November and we had a very nice stay. We stayed in the building behind the old church with a nice room and a good size bathroom. We were going to stay in the castle but there is no heat.

The location is great and there are many nice resturants close by. The castle's resturant is very good I highly recommend it.

The castle itself is amazing you get a tour and it was just like you would imagine a castle. Anyone that is going to stay at any castle estate has to remember this is not a hotel. At night there is no one around. This is the second castle we stayed at and we love the peace and quiet.

On our third night they had a problem with a gas line that was hit and we had no heat. They moved us to a beautiful appartment attached to the castle.

Overall we had a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

The reception closes at 7 pm. After 7 pm you cannot get any service or help. They don't even answer the phone!

Rooms are very! modest and simple! If you looking for simplicity you will definietely find it there.
You can't find anything to drink in the mini-bar.

Cleaning of the rooms takes place only at speciefied times (but they don't inform you about that). Suddenly, the cleaning lady just entered my room and told me that she is going to clean now or no sooner than tomorrow. She didn't care that when she entered my room I was only in my underwear and she continued conversation that she wanted me to leave the room immediately or I wouldn't get the cleaning service.

I must admit that ladies at breakfast were nice - opposite to the ladies working at the reception desk. They are unpleasent and unwilling to help.

In the castel building is a strong smell of some kind of rotten onion. At entrance to the castle they keep very strange objects like parts of old clothing and vacuum cleaner and such...

They want you to check-out at 10.

The location as usually in Tuscany is very nice especially swimming - pool (not heated!) - but poor service can spoil it.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria-pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

After staying in a Chateau in the Loire Valley two years ago and loving it we looked for similar in Tuscany and found the website Tuscany.net which had a number of castles in the Chianti region. Picked the Castello di Meleto as it offered b&b rooms in the actual castle. It was exactly as we had pictured it and was an amazing experience - absolutley beautiful scenery, lovely pool area and the castle itself was perfect. We particularly the bathroom in one of the castle turrets.
We also wanted to be reasonably close to a town or village with restaurants (the castle only does dinner on a Thursday) and Gaiole was very close. Radda was not far either. Reception is in the wine shop and is not open all the time but that was no problem as there was information on nearby restaurants in the room and we like to explore and experiment. Loved it and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaBeachbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
1.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
540 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
125 reviews
13.0 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
440 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Meleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Meleto

Property: Castello di Meleto
Address: Loc. Meleto | 53013, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castello di Meleto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castello di Meleto is in the center of an ideal geographical triangle formed by the cities of Siena, Florence and Arezzo. Surrounded by six beautiful houses, painstakingly restored in 2000, preserving its rustic Tuscan style. Each house has a private garden or terrace that overlooks the countryside surrounded by green vineyards and olive groves.Easily accessible and close to the accommodation we have two infinity pools from which you can enjoy an unforgettable view. In the basement of the castle, a real historical monument, a charming wine shop allows you to taste our wines, our organic extra virgin olive oil and salami of Cinta Senese from our farm. On request we can organize banquets in medieval and Renaissance style in the picturesque setting of the frescoed rooms. In addition, daily guided tours of the ground floor of the castle, the eighteenth-century theater, the dungeons with ancient cellars, prisons and the secret tunnel to escape from the Castle .. will make you to live an unique and unforgettable experience in a real castle in the Chianti area.Daily walks are possible on roads and paths in the area.From the same roads, the "Eroica”, an fascinating extreme racing with vintage bikes, takes place every year.The staff of the Reception of the Castle will be pleased to arrange excursions departing from the Castello di Meleto to major art centers such as Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Arezzo and Val D'Orcia. On the territory of the Castle of Meleto guests can enjoy cycling, horse riding and walking, immersed in pristine nature of the Chianti hills. Our restaurant, “ La Fornace di Meleto” , at the bottom of the hill, offers typical Tuscan menu and innovative dishes.The Castle's history is also a history of Weddings, such as those of Alberto Ridolfi's daughter Lucrezia and, in 1852, Baron Bettino's daughter Elisabetta: it could also become the history of Your wedding, against a background imbued with extraordinary beauty.Meleto Castle can offer Religious ceremonies in its catholic church, the Pieve di Spaltenna.The Celebrations can be organized as you wish: the entire Piano Nobile (a series of furnished and frescoed rooms) can be put at Guests' disposal together with the garden, a splendid terrace overlooking the unspoilt panorama of the Chianti hills for enjoying a touch of sun, and the Stables ( Scuderia in Italian) , where guests can relax or let themself go in dancing.We specialise in providing the perfect atmosphere for a truly unique party, whether a Tuscan Castle wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Castello di Meleto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Meleto Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Meleto Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing