We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away”
Review of Villa Vistarenni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Vistarenni
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This villa looks good via the internet pictures but has nothing to offer. Four of us stayed one night out of a weekly rental agreement, found another place in Radda and sped down the driveway the next day! We rented in high season but we were only people there! The one day we were there others came in, looked around and also sped down the driveway! I do not know where all the positive reviews came from! We have stayed in Tuscany before and have never been so disappointed. Also stay away from the agent, Divino Villas! Truly a very bad experience. I have stayed in better tents in the Boy Scouts as a kid. Any e-mails will be returned with more details.

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobabygo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vistarenni, Proprietario at Villa Vistarenni, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I am very sorry that you forgot to mention in your feedback the reasons why you decided to leave our villa just one day after your check-in:
1.- The lack of air/conditioning system
2.- The lack of a restaurant
3.- The fact that you didn’t like the Chianti area.
Once again I might repeat that we are very sorry about the circumstances that have caused all his discomfort for your group, but obviously nowhere on the website advertised that we had a/c or a restaurant in the property. For this reason I have to say that your complaint and your feedback is not supported by any valid argument and I only regret that you didn’t spend more time to enjoy our warm hospitality and the wonderful Chianti. I am pleased to remind you that Villa Vistarenni is now a listed building protected by the Architectural Heritage and Landscape Superintendency and there are many visitors coming to see the Villa even for a daytrip and obviously they go away after the visit, without speeding away down the driveway as you wrote.

As you can read we have 55 reviews on this website from which 32 rated as excellence our Villa and 18 very good, so I don’t think I might need to add anything else.

Regarding our agent Divino Villas, I wish to underline that we have spent many years working with them with a high level of satisfaction both by us and by guests who have booked through this website that is a leader company in the market for luxury rentals in Tuscany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Villa Vistarenni is a great property for a large group seeking relaxation, time together, and great little day trips to Tuscan towns, vineyards, food markets, etc.... I stayed with extended family (16 people) in the main house, and we enjoyed every minute of the stay. I can't comment on the apartments, etc., but was great for our group.

The positives:

1) Beautiful property, with loads of space, good decor (mix of classic with modern touches to keep it from being too stuffy/grandma-ish), and comfortable rooms. More space than you need, with many common areas, etc.
2) Great pool and tennis court for use of main house - kids loved it
3) Kitchen better stocked than some others suggested. We had everything we needed, and cooked nearly every day with no issues (for all of us). Also used barbecue by pool frequently
4) Basic supplies/groceries within 4 km in Radda - not a major issue for us.
5) Elisabetta very gracious host, and gave some great tips during the week
6) Wine on hand in house very useful for those nights when you wanted to indulge a bit more
7) Just a beatiful place to eat, drink, walk, watch kids play, and enjoy company. We'd do it again.

Things to think about:

1) If you are restaurant only group, there are numerous options in Radda, Panzano (15 minutes), and other small towns, but you do have to drive, and you will run out of new stuff if staying for more than 3-4 days. Not issue if you like to get the fantastic local ingredients and cook yourself at least some of the time(really - with tomatos this good, just some salt makes them great!)
2) No nightlife to speak of, but really - is that why you go to the countryside?
3) It is a villa rental, so buy everything you need for the kitchen on the way in. If coming from A1 - huge superstore in Montevarchi where you can stock up on all basics (oil, salt, pepper, basic spices, coffee, etc.) at a reasonable price
4) Is everything 5 star? No - but you shouldn't expect it at the reasonable price. You can pay a fortune for more. I thought great value
5) There is no AC, but house gets good breeze and we were comfortable even in the warm evenings

All in all - we had a fantastic time, and would highly recommend, especially for large groups with kids who are happy to spend time together. Go relax and enjoy....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middleagedfamilydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Villa Vistarenni, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you
I really appreciate your review
Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were there as a party of 21 and had a great time! Loved the sitting room with the fireplace. It became a central meeting spot. Everything was spot on! We loved the views and the location was perfect for day trips to amazing medieval cities!

Room Tip: The apartments are fully equiped and private with all the rooms and ammenities you would need for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjherman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Fantastic location, amazing property, wonderful and unique historic building built by the Strozzi family (rivals to the Medici) and updated around WWI by the former Italian President into its current palatial form. A great place to spend a week exploring the area. Elisabeta, the owner, is gracious and very helpful. Bedrooms and shared living spaces are lovely and work out nicely. Kitchens and bathrooms, not so much - but honestly, you need to be going out to eat fantastic Tuscan cuisine every night anyway! One warning: do not get catered dinners provided by the caterers connected to the property; you will eat much, much, much better at lower prices outside of the villa. I would go back again - it's perfect for families or if you are part of a group.

Room Tip: The Strozzi and Barone something or other are amazing rooms; but I would get a room on the vineyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinghiale_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vistarenni, Proprietario at Villa Vistarenni, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you for your review I will remember to tell the workers not to disturb the sleep of the guests, I am really sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I just spent a week in Villa Vistarenni with many friends and I have to say that it is one of the best travel experiences I've had. The villa was totally suitable for our needs (large group of 18 with families, couples and singles). It is very comfortable with outstanding views of the valley and St Giovese vineyards...

Room Tip: For couples: "Principe Strozzi"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2011

19 friends and family shared the villa to celebrate the birthdays of two friends.
Pros:
- Shared spaces like the living rooms / salons were excellent, with HANDSOME, COMFORTABLE FURNISHINGS AND FIREPLACES
- The villa, though large, was COZILY HEATED. A very, very welcome surprise for the chilly autumn Tuscan nights.
- The villa has STUNNING VIEWS.
- GORGEOUS ROOMS.
- The villa produces its own wine, and this wine is available on the honor system for guests. This made it very easy and convenient to enjoy a glass of wine without having to worry about whether we had purchased enough while rambling through the small cities and wineries in the area.


Cons: This is a fairly small quibble, but I am including it because it can so easily be remedied.
The kitchen lacked basic supplies like dishwashing soap, sponges, and a toaster. Fire toast, anyone? And if your group enjoys coffee, the kitchen could use a much larger coffeepot, or an extra. One of the members of our group who had volunteered to buy breakfast supplies ended up having to go back to the grocery to pick up items like salt, sugar, olive oil, dishwashing soap, sponges, etc., which we left behind and hope were not discarded.

Final note:
I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND hiring the chef that was referred by the villa. Her pasta and risotto dishes were tasty, but the overall quality of the meal did not merit the 40€ cost per person of the meal. That 40€ would be MUCH better spent on a meal of far superior quality in local restaurants like Il Papavero in Gaiole in Chianti or Solo Ciccia in Panzano.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poggiobonsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vistarenni, Direttore at Villa Vistarenni, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
thank you for your review, I will consider your suggestions about the basic suppliers but usually when a client asks for the first shopping these things are provided.
Sorry for the toaster but if the first day you said that the toaster was not working I could have replaced with another.
As for the cook it is important to consider that there is a big difference in price between a restaurant and a private cook.
If you choose the convenience of eating at home and the pleausure to stay only with your friends and family it is clear that the price is higher.
Thank you for the beautiful words about the house and the view. I hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We took over the whole villa and cottage for 35 friends and family with another 20 staying in the nearby town of Radda.
The Villa facade is stunning and was the perfect setting for our wedding on the lawn looking over the beautiful countryside.
Our guests loved Villa Vistarenni which we treated as our own for the weekend with only the housekeeper Caterina on site to help out with any problems.
The villa has recently been refurbished inside but is still full of character - sure the plumbing creaks a bit but that all adds to the atmosphere.
We held our reception in the main hall in the rear courtyard which is a magical place at night by candlelight.
You need a car because the setting is fairly remote - but what a setting perched on a hill overlooking the vineyards.
The villa wine is lovely and very good value and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend hiring out the whole place for a special occasion.
On the wedding front, the villa's in-house planners Elisa and Ross are superb while their recommended caterers Gallateo served up the best food anyone could remember at a wedding.
All in all a great few days and a wonderful start to married life.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
678 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
565 reviews
1.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vistarenni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vistarenni

Property: Villa Vistarenni
Address: Localita Vistarenni, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa is in the Chianti area, at 4 km from Radda in Chianti, one of the most famous town of the Chianti region. The Villa from 17th suits those who want to spend some time in the countryside and still want to enjoy the beauties and comforts on which the aristocratic Tuscan families modelled their houses. The richness of details and the period furniture of the rooms will give you a sense of belonging, as if your life were linked, were it for a short time, to the real nature of this beautiful house. It preserves the original historical architecture and the antique atmosphere of the people who lived here in the past. The frescos, the decorated ceiling and the golden bureaus, painted beams, restored antiques and precious draperies, paintings and ancient prints are a perfect mix of antique furniture and objects of design: they all render this place elegant and tidy but at the same time, extremely delicate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Vistarenni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vistarenni Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing