We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monna Ginevra - A Taste of Chianti Air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was certain I was lost the first time I found the sign to this hotel & restaurant on SR 408 in Chianti. A windy, dirt road led to a beautiful boutique hotel with an innovative and exceptional menu. Donato, the chef, is a fan of Marcel Marceau and once bought his soundless soundtrack, savoring the humor of the person who thought so far out of the box. He has transferred this creativity into his food and on occasion will give his guests his special treat "chianti air" as an amuse bouche. Every guest at the table MUST order something different just to see the plating...and of course, share with others...

Room Tip: I only ate at the restaurant, since I have a home in nearby San Sano... many who stay at the hotel a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Shermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2009

We just got back from Tuscany after 10 days exploring by car. We booked Le Pozze di Lecchi last minute and got a beautiful room with jacuzzi for 135EUR. We asked carpaccio with wine & cheese in the room and had a great night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Inspite of our plans, we decided to prolong our stay in the Chianti region and got the same room for 109EUR only. This time we decided to try the dinner downstairs and it was simply excellent. I read the reviews here regarding the restaurant but all I can say, the chef was amazing as well as his dishes. His food is for real gourmands (not only as I don't count as one). We had a pigeon with grapes and rooster, both absolutely delicious. He also let us try the lamb for which we hesitated to stay one additional night. AND the deserts... ! I recommend the chocolate cake. Seriously, we travel a lot around the world and eat in simple or expensive restaurants but this one is on the top of all. To find the hotel at night is, exactly as someone here wrote: a little tricky and a dirt road (typical in Tuscany), but the receptionist called us to make sure we got on the right track. Pity the weather is changing and we couldn't try the pools.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pashoshina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This charming hotel is located on the top of a hill, up a 1.3 km gravel road. Make sure your car has good shocks and can handle the hairpin turns. But, if you are driving in this region of Italy, you are use to the hairpin turns by now! In a nutshell - the rooms are pretty basic, but comfortable. The bed is just firm enough, despite how thin the mattress looks, and the marble bathroom is lovely. The shower had both a rain head and four additional sprayers that came out of the walls, resulting in a lovely shower experience. The grounds are beautiful and the two tiered pool with waterfall is lovely. The restaurant was not very good at all. It was considerably over priced and the food very basic - not what you expect in Tuscany! We tried the tortellini stuffed with spinach that seemed to have been deep fried. Very odd. The wild boar stew was delicious, but a very small portion and over priced to other menus in the region. The rooster was just a small fried 'chicken' on the plate, no vegetables, no garnish, and very salty. after dinner we were ignored for about 45 minutes until we finally were able to track someone down for the bill. The bill, when it finally arrived, was her order pad, all in Italian, with a few numbers scrawled beside each word. We just put it on our room, not quite sure what we were paying. No wonder the restaurant was pretty empty (one other table, also hotel guests). The breakfast, included in the price, was lovely; however it was the same every day. We stayed four nights and each morning the selection got smaller. You got what was left from the previous day it seemed. So, once the fruit yogurt was gone, you didn't see it replenished again. You enter the hotel across a quaint little bridge and the grounds and statuary are lovely. There is a ping pong table, but we never found any balls. There is an old (as in centuries old) slightly overgrown road up the hill beside the ping pong table that makes for a fun explore. At 135 euros a night you are getting a good value, not a great value. You are centrally located for central Tuscany (30 minutes ot Florence), an easy drive the San Gigmanio, Monteriggioni. Do go up to Volpaia. What an exquisite drive and view. The Castle Brolio is a great stop. Do not miss Raddo, a short drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I cannot say enough great things about Le Pozze di Lecchi! It blew away our expectations and everything about this place is amazing. The setting is unmatched, the grounds are immaculate, the craftsmanship of the design and construction is superb, the rooms are incredibly clean and the staff is kind, gracious, knowledgeable and very professional. Sandro especially. He added so much to our entire Tuscan experience.
I could go on and on about how wonderful this place is. The restaurant, Monna Ginevra is fantastic as well. And the wellness center/spa is perfect!
My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon and it was the highlight of our trip. We have both traveled extensively and were so very impressed, all the way around, with Pozze di Lecchi. A true gem in the Tuscan Hills...

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudge00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed here as a base for our four days in Tuscany. The hotel was a little tricky to find, but once you find the road markers to get back, it is easy. However, it is further from Siena and the other hill towns than we anticipated.
The hotel, itself, however is clean, spacious, has beautiful grounds and GREAT staff. Sandro at the front desk made great recommendations for towns to visit, restaurants and even running trails for my husband. The pool is peaceful and a great bonus.
The restaurant however, was hit or miss. We ate there two nights and the first night was great! Ravioli with truffle, veal, and pasta with meat.
The second night however, I got a delicious vegetable dish but my husband's meat was fatty and inedible. The chef and staff at the restaurant was great. The chef came out to say hello and talk and even gave us a late night wine to try.
Overall, our stay here was great and would stay here again if we ust wanted to see the wineries in Chianti, and not the nearby hill towns.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belmont79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

In February of 2008 my Fiancé and I had made reservations to stay at Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi for 2 days in May 2008 as part of our 12 day Honeymoon in Italy.

Less than 1 week prior to our Honeymoon we received the following email from the Hotel:

.....we refer to your reservation made last February for May 29th and 30th, and we would like to inform you that, checking our files we discovered that the night of May 30th was confirmed by mistake, because our hotel was fully booked since last year due to an event.......

Based on this level of customer service and integrity I would not recommend this hotel to any traveler.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank foxtroty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We spent 3 days in Le Pozze di Lecchi, a very nice small hotel in Chianti hills, near Siena. Rooms are large and beautiful, with a strong and beautiful astmosphere. Restaurant is simply fantastic, with home made pasta. There are also a nice outdoor swimming pool and a small SPA. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
689 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
132 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
547 reviews
3.4 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
848 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#5 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi

Address: Loc Molinaccio, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: $129 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 14th century mill, which produced flour for almost 5 centuries for the surrounding area. The water necessary to move the mill wheels came from the nearby spring which still exists and can be reached on foot along an old track. In 1650 the mill was bought by a wealthy women- MonnaGinevra from Gaiole in Chianti and our restaurant is named after her today. The mill operated until the end of the 1700 after which it was abandoned. The present owners Daniele and Elisa were fascinated by its position with magical sounds and colours of nature. Even though, the remains of walls were entirely covered by shrubbery, ticket and trees, some of them as high of 5m., this young couple were determined to revive the mill. The recnstruction works starter in 2001. All original materials such as stones or beams have been reused; together with ceramic cotta forged from iron mix as well as the detail given to comfort and functionality at the same time to create a real harmony. Today this Old Mill is an excellent Hotel which offers its guests 14 comfortable rooms, the taste of a typical local kitchen, the pleasure to swim in two panoramic pools and the relaxation of our Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Pozze Di Lecchi Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing