We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
One of the best parts of our trip to Italy!

We went to Italy for our 10 year wedding anniversary with our two kids, ages 6 and 8. My youngest... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
annecoopman
,
Hamilton, Canada
via mobile
Cooking class in Tuscany Italy

A great time was had by all. Quaint setting and friendly instructors. You will need a car or driver... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
mgenard
,
Taipei, Taiwan
via mobile
Read all 162 reviews
  
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
146
10
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class cooking school italian cooking pasta the kitchen at home whole family her sister great cooking biscotti our honeymoon learn how turkey breast focaccia prepared food experienced cook wonderful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Italy for our 10 year wedding anniversary with our two kids, ages 6 and 8. My youngest sons dream was to ‘learn to cook gnocchi’. From the very first email, our experience was wonderful. They were able to accommodate my food allergies and ny sons request for the menu. Our children were included and taught right along with us. They truly made us all feel like part of the family, and we had such fun cookjng and eating our meal. A highlight of the trip for all if us! If you are close by, I would highly suggest you check them out.

Thank annecoopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed the Cooking Class! It's wonderful to hear you liked the menu,As you told in advance your son's gnocchi desire and your food allergy ,it was possible to welcome your requests. . Be in touch! Let us know how your cooking evolves. And thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Warmly,
Simonetta and Paola at Toscana Mia Cooking School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great time was had by all. Quaint setting and friendly instructors. You will need a car or driver to get to the location.

Thank mgenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.Absolutely right to underline people need a car or driver to join us.Warm regards from Simonetta & Paola at Toscana Mia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rarely have so many glowing reviews been more deserved. Do not hesitate to book whether you are an experienced cook or a rookie.You will learn about Italian cooking hands on, in a friendly, collegial atmosphere . Enjoyable anywhere, but even more to be treasured as experienced in a wonderful kitchen of an old farmhouse in a tiny Truscan village. Enjoying the prepared food en famille is the icing on the cake! What a lovely experience! Thank you, Paola and Simonetta.

1  Thank Merlin081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed the class at Toscana Mia .
You just made our day .We hope to have you back again soon!
Ciao,
Simonetta & Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We were four couples and all of us had a wonderful experience at Simonetta's and Paola's home. I want to thank them both and their family for a wonderful half day at their cooking class. We all joined in and couldn't have had more fun doing so; and it turned out Delicious; we ate it for lunch.. Great food and wine and recipes we will be making at home to remind of us our fabulous trip to Tuscany. We laughed, cooked, drank wine with friends in a the beautiful the Tuscan hills......I recommend to all that you go and enjoy and guarantee that you most certainly will.

Thank ronny108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the very kind comments following your class at Toscana Mia. We enjoyed having all of you fantastic people with us.We hope you carry on baking & cooking Italian at home!
Best wishes,Simonetta & Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful two days we spent with Paola & Simonetta! We cooked and then ate wonderful meals & toured a local vineyard. It was everything we had hoped for!

Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed the two days program with Cooking and Wine Tasting and it's wonderful to hear they proved valuable for you.In was great for us to have the two of you with us :so interested & interesting .Be in touch!And thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Warmly,
Simonetta & Paola at Toscana Mia Cooking School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Thank you Simonetta & Paola and family for a super day enjoying your cooking class and your lovely Italian hospitality. Great food and wine, very informative cooking class and lots of laughs shared with friends in a superb setting in the Tuscan hills.......what more could you want from a holiday experience! A highlight of our Italian trip....thank you both very much.

1  Thank Inspiration434924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Thank you !We are happy you had a good time at our Half Day Cooking Class;thank you for the kind words.
We look forward to seeing you again.Best,Simonetta & Paola at Toscana Mia Cooking School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

16 years ago, my husband and I were on our Honeymoon and decided to try a cooking class in the middle of Tuscany. This was before the popularity of the internet and GPS. We corresponded through email and went blindly into the unknown. What an experience it was! We loved it and had so much fun. Fast forward to Aug 2018 and we decided to take our 2 children back to Simonetta and Paola's house. They didn't disappoint again. My boys - age 11 and 14- loved the class. They can't wait to try our recipes at home. If you are looking for an authentic Italian experience, look no further. The highlight of the class is sitting down with Paola and Simonetta's family in the kitchen eating the delicious lunch prepared by our own hands. My boys had many delicious meals in Italy on our trip this past week, but they both say the BEST meal by far was the one we made. Thank you Simonetta and Paola for more special memories for my family. Hopefully we will not wait another 16 years to come back..

2  Thank Nanci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

You cannot imagine how happy we were to have you again with us at Toscana Mia , sharing the cooking with your family.It was simply wonderful to see you and your husband again and meet your children.Sincerely hope they'll go on cooking Italian .Thank you so much .We hope to welcome you here soon.Arrivederci !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

My wife and I booked our Chianti cooking class with Simonetta and Paola for a Sunday afternoon in late July. The car ride to this classic Italian village of 35 persons from Siena was truly spectacular. We drove on winding roads up large hills enjoying the views at every turn. Tuscany is truly spectacular. Simonetta and Paola greeted us with smiles and a warm welcome we had come to appreciate in Italy. As we were the only two persons for this class, we decided to spend some time in their classic old Italian stone home discussing Italian tradition and history. I immediately picked up on Simonetta's Brittish accent and she explained how she learned English in Florence from a Brittish professor. These two ladies were amazing and welcoming. They went to great lengths to answer our many questions about Italy and the traditional cooking methods they learned from their mother. Our meal consisted of fresh pasta (I made the dough) in an Italian style red sauce with few ingredients. It was delicious. In America, we tend to use way too many ingredients and spices. They introduced us to the Italian pasta guitar that made the large spaghetti-type noodles easy to create. We will buy one on Amazon soon. The sausage was purchased from the local butcher and was so fresh that it could have been eaten raw. The vegatables and olive oil came from their garden. We also prepared bruschetta for an appetizer and panna cota for dessert. Simonetta provided easy to understand instructions (with great humor) throughout, and we even had a few glassses of wine during the process. Because it was just my wife and I, we we able to share the meal with their wonderful family. That was a truly great experience as we learned even more local traditions. We strongly recommend Toscan Mia. I wish it was a two day lesson as I would have liked to learn how to make many other classic Italian meals. Scott from Connecticut.

Thank ksalbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Thank you for your thorough review of your Cooking Class at Toscana Mia . We are so glad you mentioned all of the menu you realized and you liked it.We enjoy the opportunity to create an amazing experience for each and every guest. We look forward to hosting you again as your travel brings you back to Tuscany..Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

This class was the highlight of our trip to Europe, as it was something I will never forget...
How many people get to say they went through a course to make authentic Italian dishes on a vineyard in the Tuscan Countryside? Simonetta & Paola were unbelievable hosts to their home, and made the experience so much fun. If you are in Italy during a European, try and make this a priority as it is conveniently located in the middle of Florence and Rome.

It is experiences like this that stand out, where you have genuine human connection that you would other wise not have much in common with. Food brings people together from all over the world, and with any background. None of the group that attended considered themselves top end chefs, but we certainly felt like it after the class and tasting the food with the family. What a treat, as I cannot rave enough about this day!

Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

We thank you so so much for what you wrote .We are so glad you share with us the feeling that food brings people together all over the world :cooking and eating at the same table is a perfect moment to be all together :Thank you again.Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

My daughter and myself decided we wanted to go to a cooking school. This was recommended to me by our host at the Inn we stayed at. I loved the idea of cooking in the sisters house. I was not disappointed at all. We made a main dish, a pasta, a vegetable and a dessert. It turned of wonderful and everyone was able to get hands on instruction. We were able to enjoy our labor eating with the asters whole family which made the whole experience come together. Was a wonderful experience.

Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta e Pao... d, Owner at Toscana Mia, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your nice review and so happy you enjoyed your time with us.It was wonderful for us to have you and your daughter with our family ,too. Grazie,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews