We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castellare De' Noveschi
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our second visit 5 years on to this lovely quiet place in the rolling vined hills of Chianti in the tiny old village of San Sano. The staff are amazing - Donatella and Alice made the experience extra special - even put flowers and a card in the room for my birthday! The rooms are all beautifully decorated in medieval style with modern amenities. The terrace under the vines for afternoon prosecco is delightful and the breakfast lounge has many interesting art works. We extended our stay to 5 nights as it's the perfect place to unwind and use as a base to access other places in Tuscany for day trips. If you like the countryside with walks, excellent restaurants within a few kilometers and luxurious accommodation then this is the place for you. Take a peek at the wine therapy room too. Would not recommend for children as perfect for adult retreat apart from stairs/windows hazard. There are many village cats who add to the charm of the place. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Junior suites upstairs in the tower are 'fantastico'.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Projectilevomit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Castellare De' Noveschi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 297 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We only spent one night but wished that we had booked it for 2-3 nights. The room was fabulous and a classic looking Italian room. There isn't much to do in San Sano proper, but that's probably the point.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and booked the junior suite. The suite was very clean. It did have two different set of steep stairs. The bathroom was a bit inconvenient. The bathtub did not have a shower head which slowed us down in getting ready for the day. The mirror was placed really high which was difficult for a petite person. I realize it is going for a rustic charm but a shower head would really improve the experience. I would also recommend to add bathroom hooks. The breakfast would be set in the downstairs room every morning at a set requested time. One would barely know they arrived as they are so quiet. The breakfast is a European breakfast & not too exciting. Lots of bread,cakes, thinly sliced meat, and yogurt. They will serve the same arrangement each morning. Our suite didn't have a table so it was awkward to have one sit on the ottoman while one was on the chair. Everything closes at 6 in the village. Our WiFi didn't work and one morning the water was turned off. Again rustic charm. They were kind to give us restaurant suggestions. Easiest and tasty was Marlborghetto but make reservations as you will be better served. If you want rustic, then book here. If you want to get AWAY, book here. If you want an evening vibe book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellant. Have lunch in San Sano.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCCrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The most wonderful place to honeymoon! My wife and I can't say enough to express how amazing our stay was. Barbara made our stay perfect with the personal touch. The vineyards and olive trees made it feel like a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our second time staying at castellare de' noveschi and it matched up to our first stay! The place is amazing! Staff are very helpful and are eager to please! Definately worth a trip here you will be sure to have the best holiday!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is a hidden gem in the hills of Tuscany. There are beautiful seating areas throughout the compound, including a pool, a sunny breakfast terrace, and a small fountain yard.
There is a lovely trattoria in walking distance (closed on Wednesdays).
Whilst the decor of the rooms is exquisite, with tidy bathrooms, we did not sleep very well due to the high temperatures in August. Our room had no A/C and our friends had a room where the A/C was hardly working. Opening a window was not a great idea due to mosquitos.
Still a wonderful place overall and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dietrichp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was booked for us as part of a trip across Chianti. We could not have been more pleased. The bedroom was amazing, it was in an old hunters lodge that has been very sympathetically refurbished. The young woman we dealt with could not have been more helpful. The gardens were lovely, as was the pool, with lots of comfy seats to rest and read. The very nice lounge had cake, sweets and drinks freely available. All in all it felt very luxurious and we felt very well looked after.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellare9, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare De' Noveschi, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Helen S,

we thank you very much and we really appreciate all the beatiful words that gives the real impression and the right feeling that our Guests have had here at our Relais!

Looking forward to host you here again we wish you all our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
3.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#5 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
74 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
131 reviews
3.8 mi away
Borgo Casa al Vento
Borgo Casa al Vento
#6 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castellare De' Noveschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellare De' Noveschi

Address: Via Padre Cristoforo Chiantini 12 | Loc.San Sano, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: $140 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castellare De' Noveschi 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castellare De' Noveschi Relais is a historical residence of charm in the heart of Chianti, where you can sleep in the fabulous suite belonged to the Dukes of Tuscany or the beautiful Suite "Dreams of Bacchus" carved into an ancient vat 800. You can breathe in the cozy atmosphere of the Fumoir, an ancient hall with a beautiful fireplace, dedicated to those who want to share their passion for the world of Tuscan cigars and pipe, reading a book by the fire and take part in tastings and events for a few privileged. Finally just to pamper all the senses of the guests, the Castellare de 'Noveschi will be with Wine Therapy in a suggestive Tino where you soak in a tub of torque. And if, when you get home, you'll want to relive the emotions you felt during your stay at the Castellare de 'Noveschi, you can buy all antiques, modern antiques, fashion that you find around you, who have been part of a dream, who have had a wonderful past life and now can become part of a new story: Your. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower and a hairdryer and a double bed. Further facilities include a TV, Internet access, a minibar, and facilities for making tea and coffee, air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castellare De' Noveschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellare De` Noveschi Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castellare De' Noveschi Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing