We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepy town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castellare De' Noveschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castellare De' Noveschi
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sleepy town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is located in san sano, you should haves one knowledge of the Italian language , basic words are fine.
One restaurant(trattoria)in town, totally relaxing here.
Great place to get away,in the middle of nowhere, and yet so close to everything, build in 1200s,
Glad we styled here, grazie and ciao

Room Tip: Apartments are tri level , junior suite is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellare9, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare De' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Volker L ,

we thank you so much and we are very satisfied about the description that you made of this place, calling it "Sleepy town"! San Sano is a quiet village where spending some peaceful time and we try to do our best to satisfy our Guests!

Looking forward to see you very soon we wish you all our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    53
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
223
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

hands down a great hotel. The service, staff, location, rooms and grounds and tiny little town of San Sano were all excellent. We couldn't have asked for a better stay. We booked what we thought would be a "typical" tiny Italian hotel room, but Castellare di Noveschi upgraded us a 2 story, 2 bedroom suite with a huge living room... for pennies compared to other hotels we stayed at. Absolutely perfect. We are already planning our next vacation back to San Sano.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellare9, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare De' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Amy360 ,

thank you very much for your comment! We are very glad that you spent a good time and that you enjoyed your Italian holiday here with us!

Hoping see you very soon we wish you all our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a really excellent experience in Castellare de Noveschi. The hotel is located in the little town of San Sano and has great views from all the windows. The atmosphere of the hotel is really special and is decorated with very good Tuscan style. You´ll feel like in a castle. We got our breakfast served in bed! We wished we would have stayed there longer! We´ll come back to enjoy the pool. The area of Chianti was the best of Tuscany. Visit the Castle of Brolio nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aicnerolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noveschi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare De' Noveschi, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Aicnerolf,
guests satisfaction is our main target and happiness. I wish to thank you so much for having visited San Sano and its surroundings and for your appreciation to us.
Look forward to seeing you soon !!

Elisabetta Buchetti
AD Castellare de' Noveschi Relais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Wonderfully peaceful stay in a beautiful small village,in deep chianti country, breakfast served on a silver tray by the pool, an incredible wine therapy experience (candles, wines salts, wine, music, bubbles). Two great restaurants within a stones through and surrounded by vineyards (and tasting opportunities) and stunning old Tuscan towns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noveschi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare De' Noveschi, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Bristolcalling,
let me thank you so much for your visit and for the beautiful words you spent for our Castellare de 'Noveschi Relais and all of us.
Many thanks again, and hope to see you soon!

Elisabetta Buchetti
AD Castellare de' Noveschi Relais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

De Noveschi is a small wellness B and B positioned in the centre of the rolling hillsides of Chianti surrounded on all sides by vineyards. There was an expectation from the pictures of a hotel with a large degree of real estate given the outdoor swimming pool. Unfortunately this is not the case. If the weather is inclement then you will be forced to take your breakfast in your room so just be prepared for this.
It's not all bad though! The rooms are very clean and the girls can't do enough for you at breakfast time. Out of the hotels we visited this hotel provided the best breakfast service.
The small village that this B and B resides in has two restaurants. Both are as good as each other with regards to food but the one at the top of the hill seemed to be more friendly to English speaking guests. We turned up one night for a drink of wine having eaten at the other. Not only did we get the wine but they gave us a free starter to boot.
Oh yes before I forget!.... If you get to choose your room before you arrive make sure you request one of the rooms in the main complex (this could probably be done on your requests page during booking). There is one room located right next to the reception room. We were unlucky enough to get this one. Although the girls do their best to keep the noise to a minimum you will invariably be woken up by the opening of the main door and the run up of the printer as it knocks out the previous nights bookings.
I would definitely visit again though armed with what I know now. It is a good base to both to enjoy the rolling countryside and to use as a staging post to mount your visits to Sienna which is only about a 45 minute drive south. Friendly, clean and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McNutty712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noveschi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare De' Noveschi, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear r4rotary,

we do appreciate all your comments about our property and its territory. In the Chianti we all always love to let people enjoy its feeling and you described it very well. So, now that you know everything about us and of our environment, come back soon and visit us!

Thanks a lot from San Sano!

Elisabetta Buchetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

There are no words to describe how wonderfully peaceful and relaxing this hotel is. We spent an amazing week there and could not have asked for a better place to go and unwind. The service was excellent and freindly at all times. The wine therapy is also not to be missed. All in all a fabulous place and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Castellare De' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear DavidA,
let me thank you so much for your visit and for the beautiful words you spent for our Castellare de 'Noveschi Relais and all of us. Our staff will be very happy to convey your message, including our consultant in Lucca Mr. Massimo Berti owner of Hotel Consult, the company has been working with us in hotel consulting, with whom we are committed daily to guarantee our guests a quality stay.
Many thanks again, and hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We arrived there late at night and Barbara took real good care of us. Phoned us while we where driving down from lake Garda - just to make sure that we could find it. "Stop at the Green frog in the middle of the town". The town is not that big but the athmosphere and the staff at this place is so wonderful. The rooms are very nice, big and very cozy. Barbara took care of some booking for us to restaurants and man the restaurant the first evening is the best meal that I have ever had and she also booked us some whine tour and some suggestions for visits in the area.

If you would like to stay at a very quiet place with so good hospitality with outstanding service then you must chose this place.

Barbara you are great!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is good at this place!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingisund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Castellare De' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Ingisund,

no words are enough for thanking you for the excellent comment you sent us.

When our guests remember with so much pleasure their holiday, it means for us to reap the result of working hard.

To ensure the best service, we cooperate with Hotel Consult in Lucca, a hotel consulting company that helps us in the daily organization and in our professional development .

I will share your beautiful review with our staff, without exception, because your nice words will be source of satisfaction and continuity.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come back again to the Chianti !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
3.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
4.0 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
3.7 mi away
Borgo Casa al Vento
Borgo Casa al Vento
#5 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castellare De' Noveschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellare De' Noveschi

Property: Castellare De' Noveschi
Address: Via Padre Chiantini, 12 | Loc.San Sano, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castellare De' Noveschi 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castellare De' Noveschi Relais is a historical residence of charm in the heart of Chianti, where you can sleep in the fabulous suite belonged to the Dukes of Tuscany or the beautiful Suite "Dreams of Bacchus" carved into an ancient vat 800. You can breathe in the cozy atmosphere of the Fumoir, an ancient hall with a beautiful fireplace, dedicated to those who want to share their passion for the world of Tuscan cigars and pipe, reading a book by the fire and take part in tastings and events for a few privileged. Finally just to pamper all the senses of the guests, the Castellare de 'Noveschi will be with Wine Therapy in a suggestive Tino where you soak in a tub of torque. And if, when you get home, you'll want to relive the emotions you felt during your stay at the Castellare de 'Noveschi, you can buy all antiques, modern antiques, fashion that you find around you, who have been part of a dream, who have had a wonderful past life and now can become part of a new story: Your. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom with shower and a hairdryer and a double bed. Further facilities include a TV, Internet access, a minibar, and facilities for making tea and coffee, air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Castellare De' Noveschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellare De` Noveschi Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castellare De' Noveschi Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing