We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in all of Italy...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residence SanSano
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place in all of Italy...”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I celebrated 2 3 days of our honeymoon in this lovely farmhouse.. I have told everyone I have met about the people, place and total atmosphere of San Sano.. The food was excellent at dinner and we decided to eat with them 2 nights..
They even made us a lunch one day of pasta that was amazing, bc we missed breakfast..... I would recommend this to any honeymooners/ small groups / travelers... only thing is you need to rent a car.. if you want to leave the resort at all... some great local places near by - wineries etc.. Castello Mielto (great wine tasting) ..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tone725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Absolutely fantastic place. We were on a Cabrio driving tour so safe parking a must. Hotel San Sano has safe covered parking and is well away from the beaten track. A vineyard facing room with a terrace is a must. Dinner is excellent home cooked fare, but not much choice. However, you are presented with the 4 course menu of the day at breakfast and asked if you are ok with it, they were quite willing to accomodate any likes or dislikes. Dont let this put you off as the food is excellent. The owners Maurizio, his wife and Susanna are fabulous hosts and booked wine tasting appointments for us. The surrounding countryside is stunning. The Chianti region is a must for anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

What a gem set in the countryside of Chianti. We had a room upstairs in the 1300 year old farmhouse (had to ask to be moved from the more modern building). Its window overlooked the courtyard and the olive trees and hills beyond. The restaurant, which is open only to guests) provides delicious dinners. If you plan to eat the night you arrive, be sure to reserve when you book the room.

Susanna is the manager, and she provides very friendly service, in perfect English. She arranged reservations for wineries and other restaurants. Mauricizo, the owner, has limited English, but he is great with a computer.

DON'T attempt driving in this region without a GPS device. And try to bring or rent one that allows you to put in the longitude/latitude, because sometimes the European GPS maps don't get to you to the right place. We had a Garmin with us, and didn't know that we could download driving directions to Europcar so we could return the car in Florence. Unfortunately, we didn't bring a firewire, so we couldn't do this. Luckily, Mauricio figured out where the rental car agency was located and programmed it into the device.

The only complaint is the size of the safe - barely fits a couple of passports!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevertooold53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed at LaScuderia on of the rentals in this sleepy hamlet in Sep 09. Like other reviews I have to say it more than met our expectations. The restaurant in the hamlet is expensive and so is the shop so do your shopping in Gaoile or Radda - both about 15 mins drive. Lecchi is a similar small village near by - we did a cooking class with Simone in the local restauant - highly recommeded.
The accomodation itself was perfect - but no air conditioning so bear this in mind if travelling in mid summer. There is a fan which did a good job.
If you find yourself watching TV then they have Sky Italy - you can change the langauge to English on alot of progammes. The lcoation is fab - nice pool and gardens set amongst the vineyards. Siena is just a 30 min spin away and the roads are great.
We were here on honeymoon and would definitely return with family and friends again.
Q

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed in the small village of San Sano. It is truly lovely with panoramic views in a quiet and relaxing environment. We stayed in La Scuderia one of the rented villas with use of the shared pool. The villa was excellent. The only down side was the sporadic water pressure which meant getting ready took some time in the mornings.
There is a local shop and restaurant and unsurprisingly these are slightly expense but very handy when you run out of essentials. We found it cheaper to buy our groceries The best place to source your own food ifs from the Coop in Radda in Chianti a 20 minute drive away.
Eating breakfast outside, what an experience!! Now l understand why the locals are always smiling.
This location worked really well for us as we were able to relax but also visit some of the many local towns. You’ll love driving those slow but rewarding mountain roads.
Everyone in our family had their wishes met on this holiday. This is a great location for a relaxing family holiday.
In summary, for once l actually got the holiday l had imagined beforehand. I have no hesitation in recommending this location. It was a wonderful experience and we definitely will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookie1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We were in San Sano for the annual art festival, which was wonderful. We love this village, it is so special to stay in a authentic medieval village with Italians walking their dogs and saying "ciao" to us. The restaurant is very good and homey. We stayed at Casa Amore - a rented villa in San Sano, and would stay there again and again!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday staying at Casa del Mastro in San Sano which is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding towns and villages or simply for relaxing by the pool. The apartment is located in a small village and whilst there are a couple of other villas nearby, we still felt we had all the privacy we needed when we dined outside. The apartment has been tastefully furnished with everything we needed, even a dishwasher. The living areas are spacious as are the bedrooms which are located in the loft space. The bedrooms are airconditioned but the power supply in the village did go out once in the week we were there.
The local grocer is only a minute's walk from the villa and there is a small but well stocked supermarket 20 minutes drive away in Radda in Chianti. We loved our stay at Casa del Mastro and would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Outdoor terrace
  • Disliked — There is no shade over the pool so bring your sunscreen
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pest0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
4.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.3 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence SanSano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence SanSano

Property: Hotel Residence SanSano
Address: Localita San Sano | Lecchi in Chianti, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence SanSano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residence SanSano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Sansano Hotel
Hotel Residence SanSano Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing