We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luna Di Miele -- Excellent!!”
Review of Borgo Argenina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo Argenina
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    29
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
110
396
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castellina in Chianti
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2005

This country accommodation has been highly recommended in the past but we were there in summer 2005, a family of four, and we found it wasn't up to the mark compared with several other agriturismi where we spent time in Umbria and Tuscany. Small rooms with a distinctly unkempt air about them. The owner gives the impression of having had enough of tourists, in sharp contrast to the warm welcome we received elsewhere in Tuscany. Possibly there has been a change in ownership? In any case, there are now large numbers of country apartments in Italy and there's no reason to pay top dollar for a room when you can have a small apartment and pool for the same price or less.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tuscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2005

We couldn't believe our eyes when we saw the countryside from Borgo Argenina; some of the most beautiful views of Tuscany I've ever seen!

The owner, Elena Nappa, is an absolutely delightful woman who was a designer in Milano and has that special touch that's seen throughout the property. She's into details and it shows both inside and out; from the beautiful flowers all around the grounds, to the teak patio chairs, to the Frette bed linens.

We stayed in Villa Olivera, a separate building with a large terrace on two sides of the villa affording incredible views! Beauty, quality, style & peacefulness; this villa has it all! We also thought it was a very good value.

Villa Olivera has two floors. Lots of stone, brick, & antiques like the original Tuscan homes, but with all the modern conveniences and a contemporary flair. It's elegant & classy, yet very stylish. Elena's taste in decorating and her attention to detail is something rarely found in a "rental" property. Several floor-to-ceiling doors on the ground floor open to those unbelievable views of the countryside. The kitchen is all stainless steel. The Villa's lighting is very slick, with studio track lamps, giving perfect accent lighting to the many pieces of art & oriental rugs. There's also a working fireplace in the living room, and the sofa is a fold-out.

Travel upstairs, via a wide & open staircase suspended by thick wire (another neat touch), & you have two bedrooms and two bathrooms, both with windows opening to the views and very tastefully decorated as well.

Go and stay at the villa. It's a perfect place for two couples, a family, or honeymooners. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2005

As my husband and were reserving our stay at Borgo Argenina, we thought "This looks nice", but when we got there, we were astonished by the beauty of the setting and by the incredible hospitality of our hostess Elena Nappa. She was wonderful from the moment we arrived at the B&B. She offered us extremely good advice on what to visit. We were going stay in various towns around the Chianti region, but Borgo Argenina is so centrally located that we decided to stay put for the whole 10 days and drive around to the various twons we wanted to visit, (i.e. Volterra, San Gimignano, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino) which made things even more relaxing. What a vacation. We highly recommend Borgo Argenina, located on the top of a hill, in an idyllic setting. You won't regret it!

Helpful?
3 Thank Chianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2005

The Borgo was everything I had hoped it would be and more....we arrived there after 3 days in Rome ready to relax and we found the most tranquil, breathtaking place...the Borgo Argenina. Elena was wonderful. She has worked so hard to create the perfect place for a dream Tuscan vacation. The location is perfect-we had already booked 2 nights in Florence following our 3 nights at the Borgo and wished we had booked all 5 nights at only the Borgo. It is only 50 minutes from Florence, 20 minutes from Siena and even closer to all the smaller hill towns and wineries. The smartest thing to do is to book a week at the Borgo and travel everywhere from there. You will not be disappointed!!!! The restaurants nearby were amazing, best food we had in Italy. We will definitley return.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2005

We drove into Borgo Argenina after four days in Cinque Terre, a very hard act to follow. Elena and Bianca greeted us in the manner of old friends. We were invited into her personal space, served wine, and given a brief history of the locale and Borgo Argenina itself. (Later, I read an article in Sienna that placed the first written mention of Argenina in 878). In addition to the history lesson, Elena provided us with a local map on which she marked places to see, places to taste wine, and places to eat. Later, we discovered that each map is marked spontaneously, and everyone’s is different. We stayed in one of the apartments located in the main house, which was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The amenities are modern, but designed in such a manner as to fit into the overall ambiance of the place. Borgo Argenina followed Cinque Terre very well, and we would recommend it to anyone traveling the region.

While Argenina does not offer meals, other than a continental breakfast (including homemade jam and cakes), there are MANY, wonderful places to eat within a ten to fifteen minute drive. Elena instructed us to mention that we were from Borgo Argenina each time we arrived at one of the restaurants on her map. We did, and were treated very well at each and every one. While most places have an English speaker, an effort to speak Italian brings on immediate support and warmth. For the most part the food is light, flavorful, well suited to the climate, and in the right portions. During our time in Chianti, we never left a restaurant hungry, or stuffed – we left just right. Once again, we cannot say enough good about Chianti and Borgo Argenina.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamamia194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2005

My husband, teenage daughter, and myself spent 3 nights in the Little House at Borgo Argenina and can't recommend the experience highly enough. The area is fabulous, the restaurants were excellent, and my daughter loved the hiking opportunities. She even scared a wild boar (actually I think they scared each other.) The grounds and garden are wonderful as well. Elena gave us a tour of the kitchen garden and encouraged us to help ourselves to the fresh produce.

If we hadn't cashed in points for free nights in Florence, we wouldn't have left. It was the highlight of our 12 day trip to Italy and the only place we absolutely want to return to.

I've been to Italy numerous times (I'm not even sure how many) and Chianti is my new favorite spot.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDGSacramento_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
5.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
654 reviews
7.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
684 reviews
10.5 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Argenina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Argenina

Property: Borgo Argenina
Address: Loc. Argenina, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Argenina is the ‘Perfect Home Base’ to experience Italian hospitality and authentic Tuscan cooking class - A ‘True Taste of Tuscany’ You will love the Chianti Classico region where we are situated - it is truly special, and the more you come to know the region, the more extraordinary it becomes. Chianti contains everything that is quintessential about Tuscany in the traveler’s mind and romantic imagination. Staying at Borgo Argenina, in a traditional Tuscan farm house, allows you to soak up the sensual and authentic rural ways that are at the heart of Tuscan life. Our ancient hamlet, Borgo Argenina,dating back to 998 A.D. is centrally located in the heart of the Chianti Classico region - near Siena at the border with Val D'Orcia region. The Main Villa offers 2 suites and 5 romantic double rooms all with private bathroom, minibar and breakfast. Villa Oliviera perfect for 4\5 persons. Piccola Villa is the perfect setting for a romantic honeymoon, or for a 3-person family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Argenina b&b
Borgo Argenina Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Borgo Argenina Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing