We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tuscany Experience!”
Review of Borgo Argenina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo Argenina
Certificate of Excellence
North Salt Lake, Utah
1 review
“Great Tuscany Experience!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 10 night Italy vacation. Our first time to vist this country. So we felt oblidged to visit Rome and Venice along with the Tuscany area. Out of all the places we stayed and saw, Borgo Argenina was by far our favorite! When we come back to Italy, we will make Borgo Argenina our primary destination!
From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by her two wonderful dogs. After getting our things uop to the room, Elena greeted us with wine (Chianti Classico!) and provided us all the information we could want, on places to visit in the area, along with local eateries. All of her suggestions were great!
I also HIGHLY recommend doing a cooking class with her! It was a lot of fun, and the food was magnifcent! (we did two dinners with her) By far the best meals we had while in Italy! And we also recieved a cook book with many reciepes from the Tuscany area. We can't wait to try them all!
The B&B is a beautifully rustic experience. Not TV, which was great to get away, wifi is available if you must find out what is happening in the world. The staff was exceptional, and very friendly. If you want to truly experience the Tuscany area, Borgo Argenina is a must!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trj84054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    29
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
119
408
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had always dreamed of visiting tuscany. My husband planned our entire trip to Italy but this was the best part. We arrived and were welcomed by 2 adorable dogs. Elena welcomed us with a glass of Chianti and a very helpful map which she proceeded to explain. The view out the doors of the inn was breath taking! I felt like I stepped into a painting. We chose to cook with Elena which was fun. My husband is lactose intolerant and she made sure the meal had foods he could eat. She even made sure he had a special dessert that contained no dairy. How considerate.!! The breakfast was excellent in a pretty room with a great view. Each morning Elena would greet us and give suggestions on where to go. The inn is in a great location for traveling not only to Siena but to other surrounding towns. We visited this inn during the first week of October and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: try to find out what your room looks like so you know if you have a shower or tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You have most likely heard the expression "I thought I died and went to Heaven", well this place Borgo Argenina B&B is Heaven on earth! I have never met a more beautiful and caring innkeeper than Elena Nappa. Elena spent about an hour with us going over her custom made map of the region and pointing out places to go and eat. Her very eloquently decorated villa is trully Tuscan. The views from all around the building are breathtaking. We participated in the cooking class/dinner with 11 of our new friends which was definitely the highlight of our stay. The food we prepared was simple yet outstanding and the "endless" Chianti wine was fantastic! Elena has two wonderful dogs that enjoy being around the guests as much as we enjoyed them. If you are looking for a very relaxing getaway with great people and great food, this is it. But, let me add one more thing. Please do not tell too many of your friends and family about this place because it would be a shame if it became too popular and overcrowded!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent accommodations; superb breakfeast; very caring staff; our hostess spent 20 - 30 minutes orienting us to this beautifully restored Tuscan farm house and the surrounding countryside of Chianti!

Room Tip: All rooms were unique and quiet; check her website for pictures; also,villas are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I did extensive research for the perfect place for my new husband and I to stay while we were visiting Tuscany during our honeymoon and after reading all the positive reviews about Borgo Argenina I knew it was the one! A part of me was a little scared that it was too good to be true but instead it was BETTER than I could have ever imagined! We got a little lost on the way because we didn't read Elena's very clear instructions to not put the address in our GPS - our fault - but we called Elena and she was able to tell us how to get there right away. We were greeted by her super sweet "receptionists" - her two dogs - and we felt at home immediately. After setting our bags in our room Elena welcomed us upstairs and gave us a glass of chianti and some of her wonderful cookies and explained everything we needed to know about Tuscany. She gave us great recommendations for where to take day trips, where to eat, great wineries, etc and gave us a very clear and concise map so we were sure to never get lost again! Borgo Arenina is really a dream come true - the feeling you get opening your window in the morning and watching the sunrise over the Tuscan hills is a feeling that will stay with you forever! Thank you Elena for your amazing hospality and for welcoming us into your beautiful retreat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Sborov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a jewel! The owner, Elena, is charming she acts as innkeeper, travel advisor, and cooking teacher. Accommodations are perfect with authentic Tuscan charm, extremely comfortable and cozy. Views are fabulous in every direction. Tip...to get away from the touristy towns and experience a real taste of Tuscany, go to this tiny town and find this place at the end of a gravel road. Contact her in advance for specific directions.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granitestater87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place is unbelievable, a dream as much as a destination. Elena Nappa not only created this oasis (down to the smallest detail) she is the perfect host. From the welcoming glass of Chianti in her wonderfully warm kitchen, the group cooking class/meal, her knowing suggestions and her wealth of information about the little villages and undiscovered points of interest, Elena is the best. All this set in the most romantic landscape you can imagine, Beauty, good food and great hospitality; what is stopping you, (NOTE: do not confuse the B&B with another establishment with a similar name). You will not be disappointed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBMayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
5.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
678 reviews
7.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
699 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
570 reviews
15.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Argenina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Argenina

Property: Borgo Argenina
Address: Loc. Argenina, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Argenina is the ‘Perfect Home Base’ to experience Italian hospitality and authentic Tuscan cooking class - A ‘True Taste of Tuscany’ You will love the Chianti Classico region where we are situated - it is truly special, and the more you come to know the region, the more extraordinary it becomes. Chianti contains everything that is quintessential about Tuscany in the traveler’s mind and romantic imagination. Staying at Borgo Argenina, in a traditional Tuscan farm house, allows you to soak up the sensual and authentic rural ways that are at the heart of Tuscan life. Our ancient hamlet, Borgo Argenina,dating back to 998 A.D. is centrally located in the heart of the Chianti Classico region - near Siena at the border with Val D'Orcia region. The Main Villa offers 2 suites and 5 romantic double rooms all with private bathroom, minibar and breakfast. Villa Oliviera perfect for 4\5 persons. Piccola Villa is the perfect setting for a romantic honeymoon, or for a 3-person family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Argenina b&b
Borgo Argenina Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Borgo Argenina Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing