We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay in Chianti”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect stay in Chianti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the junior suite for 3 people including one bed in the loft. The hotel was nice and quiet with a Michelin worth restaurant. The hotel staff, especially those working at the restaurant was friendly. We were hoping the concierge could give us more information about touring around the area but was a little disappointed. Perhaps it was because we did not drive like most do so it was a bit harder to go around. We had expected the place to be a bit run down given its history was were not bothered by it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeHYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    80
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
112
391
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Italy. The facility is very unique and an amazing place. The staff was extremely helpful, professional and courteous. I have not had better service anywhere, this is 5 star quality. The location of the hotel overlooks a wine vineyard, a tranquil area of unsurpassed beauty, and the countryside views are breathtaking. Well located and easy to travel to the different parts of Tuscany, we traveled into Sienna for a sightseeing day trip, and Radda for occasional dinners and amazing sunset views! Incredible! We also took advantage of stables nearby, and enjoyed an afternoon ride through the vineyards. Our room was comfortable for 4 travelers, and while a few upgrades would be nice, we found the atmosphere charming and suitable for a stay in an ancient castle. We look forward to a future return to Castello di Spaltenna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMike87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We knew that this property would be special and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by 3 staff at check in. Our room overlooked the courtyard, featuring a 10th Century church and vineyard behind the building. There was an outdoor and indoor pool as well as spa facility on request. We ate our dinners here both nights and had amazing traditional Tuscan food, with perfect service. All of the staff were focused on providing a superb personal experience. They did this in a courteous but engaging, friendly manner. Our room was nicely appointed, a little on the small side. This propery is off the beaten track, although the town of Gaiole is a 5 minute walk and could provide some alternates for dinner, etc. Otherwise, a bit of a hike to other towns in Chianti. We would love to go back to relax and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIG416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 4 night. We enjoyed our room with a great balcony with an amazing view. We were on the end of one of the extensions and it was quiet and so relaxing. We took many day trips to hill towns like Siena and montepulciano and it was a fantastic "home" to come back to. We enjoyed the bar with some new friends and one night had dinner in the restaurant and the steak was enough to feed 4 people! The team was very attentive. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful way to start each Day. We also enjoyed the pool even though it is not heated. The grounds are spectacular and we would not hesitate to return. It is close to everything -but next to nothing so it gives you the respite of a castle away while still being able to get to places near by. Don't hesitate to book this place!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

First off, I cannot say enough for the service here. Without doubt, second to none. The front desk helped save us in a crunch, providing some emergency phone calls that made the difference between a ruined vacation or sanity. During my trip planning, they spent a ton of time to offer numerous suggestions and recommendations.

The location is outstanding. So many places in Chianti/Tuscany are relatively remote, requiring a car for simply the most basic of treks, like a quick lunch. Not so here. You have a short, safe walk to the shops and restaurants in Gaiole. You are 30-maybe 40 minutes to Greve, San Gimignano, and Siena.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful, but all cold except for watery scrambled eggs. You can order other eggs, but I think you have to pay extra (not sure if that's so, just suspected). The service staff, although at times swamped, ensures all guests' are taken care of.

The pool was unheated and extremely cold. The surrounding patio furniture, old, some broken and not very comfortable. The only towels available were in our room, none near the pool. The grounds and views surrounding the pool was outstanding. The pool and equipment definitely showed its age.

The room we had was spacious and comfortable. The bed was a bit hard though. The furniture was 'antique', fitting in with the decor, but it was a bit rickety. Only two complaints. For the price, I would have liked to have hair conditioner supplied. They did not have it available...but I noticed they sold a full-sized bottle of their name-brand conditioner in the 'gift shop'. My other complaint was the relatively useless WiFi. We could only pick up the signal in one corner of our bathroom. There was no signal in the entire breakfast area. The lobby offered the only reliable signal in the hotel.

Would I return? Not sure. There are quite a few other choices in the area. Can't say I'd do better, but I figure I could do as well.

Room Tip: The hotel is laid-out over 5 separate buildings. I think all are good, just be aware which room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T204raveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaltenna, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing Castello di Spaltenna during your stay in Chianti area and for taking the time to submit a review.

Is a pleasure to share your comments about the great service of the concierge. Our priority has always been exceeding our customers expectations and it makes us feel happy that you found out team accommodating and helpful.

In our hotel we provide different facilities, of whom two swimming pools, one outdoor that is cold, and one indoor heated 29°.
In each room are available green towels to bring to the wellness area which replaced every day or according with a customer request.
In every room there are as well a selection of complimentary toiletries. For different amenities is possible to ask at the reception.

I am sorry that you had difficulties to use the Wi-Fi, but our Castle was an old monastery dated 10th century that keeps all its authenticity.
However, we always try to improve and we are constantly upgrading our hotel. With every complaint we do our best to fix any issues.

We hope that you will give us a second chance in the future.

Kind regards

Alessandro Ercolani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the castle with our kids (8 and 11). We enjoyed the bar, the pool, the view, and especially our two bed two bath suite. The service was superb. We were surprised also at how phenomenal dinner at the castle was. We think dessert was the best we had ever eaten. And we eat a lot of dessert. What a fabulous hotel. Highly recommended. Great for families traveling in the region.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Excellent service, very polite and helpful staff, nice spacious and clean rooms, wonderful gardens, excellent breakfast, a very nice and big gift shop where you can buy excellent Tuscany wine that can be shipped to your home at a reasonable extra cost. Nice pool and very good spa facilities Lunch an inner where unforgettable A big number of typical very good restaurants where suggested by the hotel I will definitely go back again

Room Tip: All rooms are very good I would recommend those itch view to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STPIRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
5.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Property: Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing