We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but starting to wear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable but starting to wear”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

First off, I cannot say enough for the service here. Without doubt, second to none. The front desk helped save us in a crunch, providing some emergency phone calls that made the difference between a ruined vacation or sanity. During my trip planning, they spent a ton of time to offer numerous suggestions and recommendations.

The location is outstanding. So many places in Chianti/Tuscany are relatively remote, requiring a car for simply the most basic of treks, like a quick lunch. Not so here. You have a short, safe walk to the shops and restaurants in Gaiole. You are 30-maybe 40 minutes to Greve, San Gimignano, and Siena.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful, but all cold except for watery scrambled eggs. You can order other eggs, but I think you have to pay extra (not sure if that's so, just suspected). The service staff, although at times swamped, ensures all guests' are taken care of.

The pool was unheated and extremely cold. The surrounding patio furniture, old, some broken and not very comfortable. The only towels available were in our room, none near the pool. The grounds and views surrounding the pool was outstanding. The pool and equipment definitely showed its age.

The room we had was spacious and comfortable. The bed was a bit hard though. The furniture was 'antique', fitting in with the decor, but it was a bit rickety. Only two complaints. For the price, I would have liked to have hair conditioner supplied. They did not have it available...but I noticed they sold a full-sized bottle of their name-brand conditioner in the 'gift shop'. My other complaint was the relatively useless WiFi. We could only pick up the signal in one corner of our bathroom. There was no signal in the entire breakfast area. The lobby offered the only reliable signal in the hotel.

Would I return? Not sure. There are quite a few other choices in the area. Can't say I'd do better, but I figure I could do as well.

Room Tip: The hotel is laid-out over 5 separate buildings. I think all are good, just be aware which room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T204raveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaltenna, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing Castello di Spaltenna during your stay in Chianti area and for taking the time to submit a review.

Is a pleasure to share your comments about the great service of the concierge. Our priority has always been exceeding our customers expectations and it makes us feel happy that you found out team accommodating and helpful.

In our hotel we provide different facilities, of whom two swimming pools, one outdoor that is cold, and one indoor heated 29°.
In each room are available green towels to bring to the wellness area which replaced every day or according with a customer request.
In every room there are as well a selection of complimentary toiletries. For different amenities is possible to ask at the reception.

I am sorry that you had difficulties to use the Wi-Fi, but our Castle was an old monastery dated 10th century that keeps all its authenticity.
However, we always try to improve and we are constantly upgrading our hotel. With every complaint we do our best to fix any issues.

We hope that you will give us a second chance in the future.

Kind regards

Alessandro Ercolani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    83
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
119
410
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the castle with our kids (8 and 11). We enjoyed the bar, the pool, the view, and especially our two bed two bath suite. The service was superb. We were surprised also at how phenomenal dinner at the castle was. We think dessert was the best we had ever eaten. And we eat a lot of dessert. What a fabulous hotel. Highly recommended. Great for families traveling in the region.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Excellent service, very polite and helpful staff, nice spacious and clean rooms, wonderful gardens, excellent breakfast, a very nice and big gift shop where you can buy excellent Tuscany wine that can be shipped to your home at a reasonable extra cost. Nice pool and very good spa facilities Lunch an inner where unforgettable A big number of typical very good restaurants where suggested by the hotel I will definitely go back again

Room Tip: All rooms are very good I would recommend those itch view to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STPIRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Reading
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights at this beautiful hotel, returning to UK at the end of August. We were lucky to be upgraded and stayed in room 35, a very pretty room with double aspect and a large comfortable bed (zip and link). Not a lot of wardrobe or drawer space but enough. Also great to have a small fridge in the room (we took all the bottles of drink out and put our own bottles of water etc, in). I took a hairdryer and iron with but the hairdryer provided is really good - and I never quite got around to ironing anything!

The air con in the room has a habit of failing but if you phone reception at that time, they go and 'unblock the system' and it works again (we had to do this a couple of times). We tried sleeping with the windows open on one night but there were a pack of wild (?) dogs around that barked incessantly throughout the night.

Wifi was temperamental with reception in the bedroom 'iffy' and I found it non-existent around the pool or at breakfast but sometimes it's good to break from the internet/emails and there was always availability in the hotel Reception area.

We stayed B&B and the breakfast was great - as much as you could eat and the buffet was consistently refreshed by polite and cordial staff (breads, cake, fruit, Danish, smoked salmon, cheese, cooked, great fresh orange juice...). Having breakfast whilst sitting out on the terrace, overlooking the tree covered mountains, surrounded by vineyards and roses is totally relaxing and blissful and recharges the batteries that 'normal life' just cant do. There are plenty of restaurants around to explore for other meals - especially using Trip Advisor for recommendations.

The Reception staff were lovely - so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The pool area isn't big but then there were never too many guests around it and there are little 'hideaway' areas to retreat to - and the gardens are beautiful so you could relax there, if you wanted to. My ideal was to sunbathe in the mornings and we then drove to other towns in the afternoon/evening. Florence was about an hour's drive away and Siena about 30 mins; what a pretty town with lanes that went on forever with nice shops. Volterra was beautiful, too - great atmosphere.

I would suggest that you take with mosquito repellent and cream as we were bitten in the hotel grounds and wherever we drove to - but that's what you get when surrounded by trees, I guess. When we remembered to use the repellent, it worked (having it in your bag clearly isn't enough!) but otherwise Tuscany seems to be a haven for horsefly and mosquito's - grrrr.

To stay at this gorgeous hotel, you definitely need a car.

I would recommend the hotel for adults (don't think there is much entertainment around for children/teenagers) and I would love to return.

If you are wondering whether to stay here, or not, DO IT - you won't regret it, it's as good as the brochure and, although not cheap, it's value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaBella47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrup Village, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel last week, as a last night before our trip home to the states. What an absolutely great night! The place is a 1,000-year-old monastery, and it is filled with romance and mystery. The personnel there are all extremely kind, and speak several languages. We were shown the utmost courtesy. They bent over backward to help us with anything we needed.

Rooms were beautiful and large--with couches and chairs besides the bed, and bathrooms were outfitted with every amenity, including hair dryers and jacuzzi tubs. Views were incredible from the windows!

They have an amazing Michelin-rated restaurant there, and they helped us with that as well. You are supposed to wear long pants, but since we'd only packed shorts for the one night, they let that slide as well. Great meal in the courtyard by candlelight!

They also have an indoor and outdoor pool, and sauna. The only thing I wish they would have had is longer pool hours, and a pool bar. They said they had one, but it wasn't there, and they wouldn't let us take drinks down to the pool. That's literally my only feedback, and it's just a little thing. Everything else was top notch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've just returned from 7 nights at this wonderful hotel.
Beautiful quiet location overlooking the Tuscany vista, 5 star accommodation and service, pricey but you get what you pay for. Nicely situated at the top of the hill, about 500 yards from the village centre (with lots of shops and restaurants for your everyday needs). A great base for exploring Tuscany, Siena (about 15 miles away) and Florence (50 miles away).

Room Tip: Room 35 is in the separate building, away from the main hotel, has a lovely view of the distant hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Castello di Spaltenna for 10 nights in August and can not fault the level of service we received from any member of staff.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the views from the terrace stunning.

We had 4 rooms in the block near the indoor pool, there were 3 other rooms in our block, am not sure how many in the main section of the hotel.

The rooms are all very spacious with comfortable beds and air conditioning. They are cleaned every day by a very lovely and efficient lady. Unfortunately, there were some rather inconsiderate guests staying in the room above ours who very noisy late into the night but this could not taint our stay.

The bathrooms are a very good size, with a shower over the bath and the usual complimentary toiletries. The towels are replaced every day and pool towels are also provided.

The outdoor pool is not heated, but isn't too cold and there are plenty of sunbeds available.

We ate at the hotel restaurant two nights, it is expensive but the food is superb and worth the cost.
The lunch menu on the terrace is very reasonable priced, the sandwiches are really for two to share as they come with chips and even the salads can be comfortably split between two people. There is a good selection of breakfast foods, different cereals, breads, cheeses and meats.

Every single member of staff was polite, well presented and eager to help. We could not fault their service.

The only 'bad' thing was so minor it could not affect our vote; some of the sunbeds need adjusting, the sunshades are a little loose on some.

We would not hesitate to recommend Castello di Spaltenna.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine10_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
361 reviews
13.5 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
594 reviews
10.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Property: Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing