We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picturesque!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent three days at Castello di Spaltenna and it wasn't long enough! The castello is perfectly located in Tuscany to make day trips to Siena, Florence and other nearby cities. Although it is very hard to tear yourself away from the beautiful serenity at castello. The rooms are perfect, all the modern amenities still with a rustic charm. The grounds including the pool and gym and are immaculate. The food and the service was impeccable. My only regret is not staying longer. We will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    80
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
112
391
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Who would have thought that an old monastery would be so lovely? We stayed for two nights as a break in our drive from Munich to Rome and wish we had the time to stay longer! The room was large and comfortable and the views and setting very hard to beat. The wellness centre and sauna was also a nice surprise. The staff were always pleasant and efficient. The short stay was designed to be a stop over but next time we will stay longer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

what a great trip to castello di spaltenna!
rooms were beautiful, breakfasts were delicious but what stole the show was the amazing scenery and estate in which this ex-monastery was located on.
staff also very nice
pool fantastic
go to barbiche , just next door, for hiking and amazing dining on top of the hill

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Every possible accommodation was made to ensure this honeymoon was perfect. A late arrival meant food was delivered to our room, a missed breakfast had a tray of our favorites brought up. Truly wonderful, attentive wait staff. So truly kind and quick to smile. Breakfast is filling and has both hot/cold options. For lunch we had their snack, a highly recommended club sandwich. The grounds are gorgeous and beautifully maintained. Both pools were found to be a welcome break from the warm temperatures. A romantic dinner in the restaurant is not to be missed. Food was divine, more courses than you can imagine. Even a few goodies with the chefs compliments! Room was spotlessly clean with a service staff desperate to clean each morning and complete turn down service each night. They didn't seem to understand honeymoon "do not disturb." The woman at the front desk could have been more welcoming, we would have loved to sign the guest book. This property cannot be overshadowed by a need to clean, or be a bit kinder, it is simply outstanding. A return visit is a must!

Room Tip: We faced the vineyard above the breakfast courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRockOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you ever find yourself in receipt of a wedding invite to a Castle in Tuscany (Chianti to be precise) the I 100% recommend this castle for your accommodation. In fact weddings take place in the Castle's own church within it's grounds.

The reception staff speak many languages and their English is perfect. The same goes for the bar and waiter staff. Our accommodation was a double room in the stables above the pottery/wine shop. It had a pitched ceiling with an a/c unit which kept the room cool in the 90 degree heat we experienced the entire weekend. The bed was VERY firm but we both slept well and the bed linens are pure luxury. Italian cottons, cool and crisp and changed every day. As others have mentioned the internal walls are thin (yes, you, Rm No.18) similarly when both windows were open in out dual aspect room we only heard the birds and bees outside.

The bathroom is small and narrow with a shower at one end but there was hot water whenever we used it and robes and towels for use by the pool. A hairdryer and some soaps and shampoos all provided.

The breakfast is amazing, the amount of choice is vast (see picture of just one table!) and not rushed. You take breakfast on the patio looking over the hills and vin yards and to your left is the pool.

The bar prices for lunch, soft drinks etc are steep but then so is the hill down to the town to purchase things from the supermarket. My advise if staying for a few days is to drive or walk down in the early morning and stock up on the essentials like water and snacks or, accept that this is a high class place and pay 3.50euros for a Fanta.

We didn't eat an evening meal here but friends told us it was very good. We did have drinks on the terrace in the evening and they were reasonably comparable to local bar prices.

A fantastic mini break destination with unforgettable views and real taste of rustic Tuscan charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHolleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked this well in advance and you get a special rate if you pre-pay but of course if you don't turn up then you 've lost your money. You also get a 10% discount off the restaurant meals.
The hotel was excellant in every way, the attention of the staff, the meals the facilities and the room.
The only thing that I could critisize is that our room didn't have a full length mirror.
Other than that we had a fabulous stay and would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I were at Spaltenna 16 years ago, loved it and wanted to come back with our children. We are here now with our three children and we love it as much as we did then. It actually has gotten even nicer, the view is spectacular, the food is amazing and the service is top notch. Dinner in the courtyard is required. Could not imagine a better place in Tuscany!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaltenna, Direttore vendite at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear "Todd J",

We are honored you choose us for the second time. It’s a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed all the services and the facilities of our hotel . Italians say there’s no two without three, so we believe we will see you again in the next future!!!

Warm regards

Tiziano Fosi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
5.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Property: Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing