We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath-taking scenery, amazing food and wine, relaxing rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breath-taking scenery, amazing food and wine, relaxing rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our stay here came after rushing from one Italian city to another and we were a little worn out. This was the perfect way to recover. The scenic Italian countryside that surrounded the outdoor pool area and was simply, wonderful. It was nice not to have to rush around while drinking in authentic Italy. The service was excellent too, whether it was from the poolside or in their incredible restaurant. I am unsure how to explain how incredible the food was. It was an eating experience second to none. Please, if you get the chance to stay, eat something for me too! My mouth is watering just remembering.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meriden970102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    80
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
111
391
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just perfect! The rooms are beautiful and clean. The landscape is lush and the views are breathtaking. The staff is friendly, helpful and fluent in English. (They even packed us a free lunch to take on our way out of town). There's also poolside bar service, great massages. And it's just a short walk from town. What's not to love? My wife and I highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway. Even the on-site restaurant is delicious, though it is way overpriced. (They charged us 60 euro for a chicken dish and did not disclose the price to us ahead of time. Kind of a scam. So beware.) One other suggestion: pay the extra money for a suite for a room with a terrace and a view. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaltenna, Direttore vendite at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ben620,

We would like to thank you for choosing Castello di Spaltenna during your stay in Tuscany and for taking the time to submit a review, describing our property as ideal for a romantic getaway! However we would like to clarify that the dish chosen, wasn’t in the Menù because it was the special dish of the day. We inform all the customers about the prices, and it's possible to check the bill after dinner with our Restaurant Manager.
The prices of our restaurant reflect its level and the top quality of the produce we use and are in line with the price of our Menù.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel and at our restaurant too!

Kind Regards

Tiziano Fosi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Absolutely loved it here. My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights during our honeymoon in Italy. The place is so charming and scenery is spectacular. The grounds are everything that a tourist imagines when coming to Tuscany. We honestly did not want to leave. Great food and even better service. Special thanks to Chronis, Davide and Andrea who made the visit even more special than it would have been automatically. Hope to have the opportunity to come back again with more people!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaltenna, Direttore vendite at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Andrea_0625,

Thank you very much for sharing your incredible experience with all of us.
It was an honor for us that you choose Castello di Spaltenna in order to celebrate such a special event as your honeymoon. We hope to have left a trace of us in your fondest memories!

I really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us.

Warmest Regards

Tiziano Fosi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a really beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds and vineyards.We spent three days here eating in the restaurant the first night. The food was excellent and the wine selections perfect. For two mornings we had breakfast out on the terrace......which was a great start to the day. We also sat out on the terrace later in the day and were lucky enough to see a female wild boar and her piglets go through the vineyards.
All the staff were very attentive and friendly and our room was spotless. The hotel used to be a monastery and there are quite a lot of steps....but we soon found a few short cuts.! Its a short walk down to the village of Gaiole where there are a few shops.....including a co op plus a couple of cafes, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a jacuzzi bath and its own small terrace with windows that can be opened right back mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Castello di Spaltenna April 25 and 26, 2013. It was a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of the cities (Rome, Florence, Milan). It is located in the tranquil Tuscan countryside on the outskirts of Giole in Chianti. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The staff was attentive and helpful. Breakfast was especially nice, providing more than just the normal sweets and pastries (included eggs and bacon). The restaurant, open for the evening meal, was nice and of course quite expensive, but that was not unexpected. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - we were in fact booked for only one night but added a second night after checking in. All of their regular rooms were booked, but they gave us a great discount on a suite. We would definitely stay at Castello di Spaltenna again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want to sample the Tuscan way of life, think no more and visit Gaiole in Chianti, preferably with a rental car to go around visiting towns like Radda in Chianti and experiment the little family restaurants with local bread, olive oil and wine, warmth of the local people and the beauty of the nature. While at it, stay at this wonderful hotel with good service and amenities within a superb setting. You can not go wrong.

Room Tip: Ours had a smallish window overlooking the valley on the pool side and it was very comfortable with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altanmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was my third visit to the Castello di Spaltenna. It's a gorgeous hotel full of character, with lovely rooms which are impeccably cleaned and charmingly decorated. The setting is a place of real tranquility and beauty which I often dream about returning to when stuck in the office at home!

The service is great, and the food is delicious (all meals including breakfast). I'm a real lover of relaxing by the pool and the location of this one is to die for: very quiet and beautiful views. There's also a spa and indoor pool, however don't expect manderin oriental style glossy pampering. I think it's fair to say the indoor facilities are fairly basic, although I had a classic relaxing massage which more than made up for the lack of garra rufa fish pedicures!

I would say the only downside of the hotel is that the noise between rooms carries quite a bit so if you are next to loud guests that could ruin the tranquil atmosphere slightly. Ask for one of rooms 28 - 31 and enjoy opening the shutters each morning to the breathtaking Tuscan landscape.

There's plenty to do with Florence and Siena close by. Lots of options for wine tasting too. If you want a relaxing Italian hotel a world away from keycards, big tvs and high speed elevators, this place is a true delight which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderluster270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
5.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Property: Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing