We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food, spectacular views and wonderful service”

Badia di Coltibuono
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The restaurant's atmosphere is warm and welcoming, while the surrounding garden enhances the overall mood with a touch of romance. During the hotter months meals are served outdoors under a bower of climbing roses and wisteria. Here the gourmet can savour the true aroma and flavour of the Chianti region.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Whilst enjoying a week of events before my wedding 29 of my family and friends went to Badia a Coltibuono for a tour of the winery and to enjoy a meal and wine pairing at the restaurant. After some disappointing meals during the previous days I was a little concerned as how this would turn out but we couldn't have been happier.

The meal is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying and the wine pairings absolutely perfect. The meal rested on well prepared local produce (the wild boar used for the sauce in our pasta course had apparently been caught a day or two before in the local area) and was the definition of delicious simplicity.

Our group contained individuals who eat Kosher, vegetarians, a coeliac and several allergies and this was all handled smoothly and with ease.

Special mention needs to go to Riccardo, our host/waiter for the day who couldn't have been more charming, accommodating or helpful. Providing impeccable service, always with a smile and ensuring that every one of our guests felt very looked after.

Do yourself a favour a spend an afternoon enjoying the delights of Badia a Coltibuono.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gdf002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo S, Manager at Badia di Coltibuono, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

thanks for the appreciation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 359 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

A neat combination of excellent food and history setting up in the higher elevation area of the Chianti region. Great place to look into the lower valley and grab a bite to eat.

Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived with 6 adults and 2 bambinos! We were greeted by two warm and beautiful staff who made us feel so welcome and went above and beyond to make us comfortable with our children. The food and wine alone deserve 5 stars but the service and beautiful scenery deserve at least six!

Thank Coumba80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo S, Owner at Badia di Coltibuono, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for the appreciation also from the waiters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went here for lunch ahead of our tour of the winery. It was a very well done up interior in simple Tuscan style, very elegant. The wait staff were very attentive. We had rabbit as the appetizer and it was extremely tasty. Then the gnocci and a pasta dish. The approach to the design of the dishes was kept simple, and the food turned out splendid. This is a must stop if you are in this section of Tuscany. Be sure to tour the Badia a Coltibuono winery while here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo S, Owner at Badia di Coltibuono, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thanks for the appreciation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Located in the Tuscan countryside among the wineyards, this restsurant has a fine setting with great views from the terrace where I had lunch. Starters and pasta are €10-11, and mains are €17 which is fair. I had pasta with rabbit sauce, pork belly, and home made ice cream, and everything was very good. They serve a few of their own wines by the glass, also some older vintages, which are fun to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kongediller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badia di Coltibuono also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Badia di Coltibuono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing