We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adventure at Castello di Meleto”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castello di Meleto

Castello di Meleto
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.16*
and up
Small-Group Chianti Wine-Tasting and Castles Trip from Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Castello di Meleto is in the center of an ideal geographical triangle formed by the cities of Siena, Florence and Arezzo. Surrounded by six beautiful houses, painstakingly restored in 2000, preserving its rustic Tuscan style. Each house has a private garden or terrace that overlooks the countryside surrounded by green vineyards and olive groves. In the basement of the castle, a real historical monument, a charming wine shop allows you to taste our wines, our organic extra virgin olive oil and salami of Cinta Senese from our farm. In addition, daily guided tours of the ground floor of the castle, the eighteenth-century theater, the dungeons with ancient cellars, prisons and the secret tunnel to escape from the Castle .. will make you to live an unique and unforgettable experience in a real castle in the Chianti area.
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adventure at Castello di Meleto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

During our October 2010 visit to Castello di Meleto we were greeted and warmly welcomed by Anthony Freveletti. From the very first moment of making eye contact with him we immediately knew that we wanted Anthony to be our tour guide of Castello di Meleto. Usually you know within the first few minutes of meeting a tour guide whether or not you are going to be bored. In this opportunity for a tour of Castello di Meleto we knew we would not be bored with Anthony's presentation. Anthony's enthusiasm and knowledge of the subject matter of Castello di Meleto filled the air with excitement as we were led from room to room. As if a fairy tale was unfolding, Anthony's knowledge took you back to the time of the Medieval and Renaissance Eras as he showed us the beautifully preserved decorations within the castle. Also worth mentioning are the breathtaking views of the scenery from the ramparts of the castle. We were impressed by Anthony's warm hospitality. The way in which Anthony presented the fine wine tasting at the conclusion of the tour made each and every individual feel very special and a part of the experience. We also felt very comfortable as if at home. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in tasting exquisitely fine wine. For those not interested in wine tasting, the tour presentation provides a unique historical account of what the Castello di Meleto Estate represents. We would highly recommend Anthony Freveletti to be your tour guide. Richard and Darla Barker, New Castle, PA

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mapabarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    87
    23
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

First we were late. We thought we had a later time and when we arrived they indicated we missed our time. Despite our mistake, Anthony graciously said he would stay. That acceptance turned out to be one of the best wine tasting events the 7 of us ever had. Anthony (from Chicago!!) provided a wonderful overview of the winery and everyone enjoyed the wines. It stopped being 7 people meeting with a wine rep and felt more like sitting down with friends to enjoy wine. (Carly - thanks for accepting our invitation to join us!) Our entire group really enjoyed our time here and truly is a memory that made our trip to Tuscany memorable. Looking for forward to the wine shipment!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank rhitomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Although we were right on time (16.30) for a guided visit of the castle, the two ladies at the reception were very busy on the telephone, without taking notice of us. Because we were tired of waiting for attention, we asked one of these ladies when the guided tour started. She said that guided tours are given on other moments (which was not true) and went away. The other lady stayed on the telephone for more than 15 minutes. Disappointed we left the reception after waiting. We did not visit the castle.
Final conclusion: a very unfriendly and unprofessional welcome!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Ruud72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Romantic 15C Castello in the heart of historic Chianti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

This was our 3rd visit to Chianti in less than year. Again we stayed in Casa dell Olio, in Borgo Montefienali, and loved it (see my previous review on this site - definitely to be recommended if you want a self-catering break in a picturesque, tranquil location). Again we visited the surrounding, picturesque hillside towns and hamlets and loved it.
To ring the changes and include our princess-obsessed daughter (and some how manage a brief wine-tasting with her in tow) we booked a guided tour of the castello at the Castello di Meleto wine estate, just outside Gaiole in Chianti, followed by a light lunch and wine-tasting in their tasting centre and wine-shop.
Having been to Meleto before, and seen the rather drab, forbidding grey-stone exterior of the castello, we weren't sure what to expect.
There was no need to for concern as we discovered when Gabriella took us on a not-too-short-not-too-long, informative and very relaxed tour of what turned out to be a hidden gem! Like an architectural tardis, the unwelcome exterior conceals a beautifully restored Baroque-Rococo interior of trompe l'oeil embellished walls, and rooms connected by quirky doorways, framed by faux marble and shut with apparently badly hung doors (these were in fact designed to facilitate sound travelling easily from one room to another, and prevent secrets being kept, in the time of the Florence-Siena wars). The renaissance era castle fortification is contructed around a central tower, that has been dated to around 1000AD, and was the seat of one half of the Ricasoli baronial family, who still have a seat in the area.
The highlight of the tour is definitely the little theatre, constructred in 1740, for the family who owned the estate, and inhabited the castello, from the 1400's until 1962.
After a tour of the castle, and the new, contemporary, soon-to-be-opened tasting centre in the former cellars, we enjoyed a light lunch of pasta alla pomodoro, bruschetta, salumi and formaggio in the current tasting centre (the restaurant was closed for, but will re-open soon).
It did help, I suspect, that we were the only visitors on a drab, cold February Saturday, and that Gabriella was so welcoming to our child, but even so it made for a memorable day for all of the family.
And if you wish to dine there or even stay overnight, visit www.castellomeleto.it to make enquiries.

Helpful?
1 Thank globalfamily100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Christmas Holiday in Gaiole in Chianti - 2005”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We found the Castle fascinating. It was our first stay at a Castle. The rooms were spacious, but sparsely furnished. We were a bit surprised to find the heat in the Castle was provided by in-room kerosene heaters. Aside from the smell of the Kerosene heaters that seemed to overwhelm the room, going to the bathroom located just outside the room was quite a cold trip. The main part of the Castle is not used, except for special occasions, so in January we found the Castle empty and spooky. In our room was a half-bottle of the Castle's vineyards Chianti Classico. Since we were on our honeymoon, we found this offering to be quite romantic, however, when we poured the wine into each glass we found parts of the vine stem and grape skins (dregs) in the bottom of the bottle, which made the last glass undrinkable. We reserved our room for three nights, but after staying two night, the Kerosene smell overwhelmed my wife and we quickly departed for the Grand Hotel Baglioni in Florence. Staying in the Castle was a unique experience, inspite of some other rather unpleasant issues. If you are the hotel type, meaning like service and the other amentities typcially offered by a hotel, my suggestion would be to visit the Castle, take the tour and taste the wine, but don't say the night. You will enjoy the Castle more.

Helpful?
Thank ajmg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Meleto also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Castello di Meleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing