We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, secluded peaceful spot. Welcoming staff. Good breakfast and terrific restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, secluded peaceful spot. Welcoming staff. Good breakfast and terrific restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is a place for travelers by private car only. Great location for exploring Chianti. Building, an old mill, is beautiful, but rooms could use updating. Warm, helpful, eager-to-please staff. Quiet environment for rest and privacy. Nice breakfast (included in price) and restaurant that serves wonderful dinners. Chef takes personal pride in his work, and is flexible, accessible and generous. We thought the hotel was a little expensive in it's category, but enjoyed our stay very much and would be pleased to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Nice hotel, very peaceful setting. I prefer being in the town itself and this hotel is a bit outside. But that said, very calm, pretty setting.
Clean rooms, large (for Europe) bathroom, air conditioning. Friendly, helpful staff. Ample parking (we had a fairly large car).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrippyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We needed somewhere close to Gaiole in order to take part in L'Eroica and were recommended L'Ultimo Mulino which is around 5km from both Gaiole and from Radda. A beautiful area and location with perfect hospitality. Compliments to everyone at the Albergo for their service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomsonPhilanthropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is a lovely small hotel, very much off the beaten track and therefore very peaceful. The mill has been restored very sympathetically and the ambience is rural, if not rustic! The hotel is in a hollow so no views, unlike many other hotels in the area. And no passing trade to speak of so very quiet, day and night.

As others have written,what makes the place is the enthusiasm and skill of the couple who manage the catering side of it for the owners. They are at the heart of the success of the hotel and as they are outside contractors, hired from season to season, if they go then the place could struggle. They insist on the highest standards and the food and wine is excellent and good value. The Chianti region is so competitive with endless choices of hotel and restaurant, so it is a little difficult to see how such a talented, experienced and multilingual couple will not move on to a bigger opportunity if they get offered the chance. We shall see.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We can but echo the views of the couple from Texas having stayed here for 6 nights at the end of August 2010. This is an average Albergo made "great" by the friendly and expert talents of Tiziano and Gerbré. Because of their wonderful and welcoming attitude to this Albergo we ended up eating in 5 nights out of the 6. The menu is small, simple and perfectly delivered. We too found a lovely friendship developing with Tiziano & Gerbre. We agree that the rooms are rather small and dark and could do with a makeover, but our greatest disappointment was the pool area which is in dire need of maintenance including the beds (the cushions were filthy and stained). The area is far too small for the number of hotel guests and could easily be increased with a little bit of effort. The situation of this Albergo is just magnificent although difficult to find - the peace and quiet is fab and this place would not need much work to elevate it to greatness.
Thanks once again to Tiziano, Gerbre, Stefano, Denise, Elena and Dany for making our stay so wonderful and to the owners - they really are a fantastic crowd!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve057london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

This quiet hotel in a wooded area in the heart of the Chianti region is not for the hustle-bustle crowd. And that made it perfect for us. A bit hard to find (we finally had to ask at a private home), this refurbished old mill makes a wonderful retreat. The album of before-and-after photos in the lobby tells the story of turning a heap of historic rubble into a placid and comfortable rural inn.
But we have found that it is really the people who can make a hotel truly unforgettable. And so it is Gerbré and Tiziano and their friendly hospitality that we will remember most about L'Ultimo Mulino. This husband-and-wife team do not own or manage the hotel, but instead were hired to run the food and beverage service. During our three-day stay, they came to know us and our tastes, and became our friends. We showed each other pictures of our children, and even became FaceBook friends with Gerbré. Tiziano has a vast knowledge of wines and is eager to choose what he thinks you will like. You will be wise to put yourself in his expert hands. We heard both of them speaking several languages fluently with other guests, showing others the same warm welcome that they showed us.
The hotel itself is worth recommending. Many aspects of the old mill have been kept, making it a unique experience. The accommodations are comfortable and modern enough (though wifi only reaches the lobby and patio), and the bucolic setting is wonderful.
But it was Gerbré and Tiziano who made our stay at L'Ultimo Mulino so memorable. Being outside contractors, there is no guarantee that they will be hired back season after season. So, a note to the hotel owner, pay attention to the most important part of your guests' experience. It will serve you well.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeckyAndWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigstein im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
290 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have stayed at Ultimo Mulino for many times during our visits of the Chianti Area. The hotel is an old mill (hence the name) and is about 4 km away from Radda in Chianti. The rooms could use an update (e.g. WLAN does not work with laptops running Vista), but the hotel is very quiet and many rooms have private terrasses. Tiziano is in charge of the restaurant and is doing a wonderful job. The hotel has a nice size pool. We like the place because there are so many restaurants in the vicinity and it is pretty close to Florence, Siena and other nice cities. Overall: we will come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcs1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
1.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel

Property: Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Address: La Ripresa di Vistarenni, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo l`Ultimo Mulino Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Ultimo Mulino Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing