We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local advice helps”
Review of Cavarchino B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavarchino B&B
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed a night at Cavarchino while passing through!

Andreas was fantastic and made the stay. The property is very nice and comfortable, big clean comfortable rooms but the welcome, advice offered was truly fantastic and the breakfast very impressive. We ended up having one of our best and memorable meals nearby thanks to Andreas totally understanding what we wanted and pointing us in the right direction (for touring the following day also).

Our stay also included fast wifi access which was nice.

Personal, great - loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clintonlovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

When we first arrived, we were a bit disappointed to learn that the pool was closed. The weather was warm and beautiful, and after a long and busy trip, we had been really looking forward to relaxing by the pool. I was also slightly disappointed to see that the view from our window was slightly marred by a huge construction crane.

However, the disappointed was forgotten when we got inside and saw how cozy, spacious, pretty, and impeccably clean our accommodations were---and they were half the price of the other B & Bs we had considered in the area. The B & B is quiet, peaceful, and just lovely. We had no trouble using the Internet, breakfast was good and convenient, and the owners were ready and willing to answer any questions for us.

Andrea and Patricia (the owners) were warm and welcoming, and their adorable puppy, Penny, was charming (she does not roam in the B & B, just the yard). They were so gracious and helpful, in spite of the language barrier---every restaurant recommendation they made was spot on, and they made dinner reservations for us at Brolio (where we were served a beautiful, romantic five-course meal for a bargain price because Andrea made the reservation for us)---by the time we left, we felt that we were saying goodbye to friends.

Cavarchino's location is perfect for exploring the Chianti region. We were a few minutes driving distance to some of local sites like Badia a Coltibuono, Castello di Brolio and Vertine (which are not spectacular, but that we enjoyed exploring); we were a one-minute drive (or 10-minute walk) from the town center of Gaiole, where we were able to grab a superb, leisurely lunch at Il Boccan di Bacco, the one restaurant that was open but that Andrea recommended (be aware that most of the town shuts down in the middle of the day), or grab a snack at the grocery store. It is also a 20-30-minute drive to the beautiful Siena.

During our stay in Gaiole, we toured Badia a Coltibuono, which is another place we had considered staying before we booked Cavarchino. It was beautiful and we enjoyed the wine tour there, but I have to say, I was glad we had decided not to stay there. It was twice the cost of Cavarchino, and it would not have been worth the money. It was not as warm, comfortable, or friendly as Cavarchino. And its pool was closed as well. The accommodations did not warrant the cost. Do yourself a favor and save yourself the money as well! You will get the most for your money at Cavarchino.

If we ever return to Tuscany, we will definitely be staying at Cavarchino again, and we would highly recommend it to any friends and family who travel to that region as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our stay at cavarchino was great. We came from Florence with the car and found the place no problem in Gaiole. There is a small driveway in front of the door to offload the car and a parking just above the B&B where you can park (for free). The B&B is incredibly clean. The rooms, the common areas, the garden, the parking, the pool, etc.. Everything is spotless.
We got there and were greeted by the owner, Andrea who showed us to our room, which was everything we hoped for: comfortable, not too small, with free internet, and view on the valley. The decoration was nice and tasteful. The building itself is really nice, old and full of character.
We spent two nights there in total. Andrea, the owner recommended us some restaurants in the area which were great. He also spent some time explaining us the traditions of the area and giving us some tips for our daily trip to the Orcia Valley. Really friendly and helpful!
The breakfast was good and the breakfast room is just outside the room which makes it easy.
There is almost no traffic below the room windows and the B&B is very quiet.
I could go on for a long time, but I'll conclude by saying that it exceeded our expectations. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gostram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This charming b&b, located in the middle of Chianti region, is a wonderful starting point to explore the surrounding areas (and vineyards!) as well as a pleasant home away from home after an hard day (full of rain, in our case...). Rooms are cosy, well-sized and impeccably clean. Breakfast are healthy and yummy, with home made cakes and ham. Don't miss the chance to have a chat with Andrea, the very nice owner, who deeply knows the area and its hidden gems: thanks to his advice we had dinner in a very nice restaurant (which actually is a butchery during the day!) and we purchased some very good olive oil in a near farm.
Would come back for sure!

Room Tip: Vertine room has its own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldcitizen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Cavarchino B&B is a fantastic place to stay in the Tuscan hills, 10 minutes walk from the village of Gaiole in Chianti. My room was very comfortable, impeccably clean, tastefully decorated and had a beautiful view of vineyards and olive groves with a couple of castles in the distance. The grounds and pool look out onto the hills and I whiled away several lazy hours here enjoying the sound of the birds and the smell of the rosemary and jasmine.
A special mention has to go to Patrizia and Andrea who are exceptional hosts, going beyond the call of duty and giving us a lift when we got stuck and thoughtfully leaving our (delicious) breakfast out until midday the morning after a big night at a wedding party!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanbae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Andrea & Patricia were lovely hosts, nothing was too much trouble (late breakfasts and lifts), they went far beyond what was expected. Rooms lovely and clean, setting was lovely. They have solar panels and air con.

Perfect place to relax, the village is small but 3-4 easily walkable restaurants!

Would thoroughly recommend if you are looking for a quiet and relaxed holiday.

You can get 1 hour free internet a day, I think, but we didn't.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
0.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
3.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
592 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capannelle Wine Resort
Capannelle Wine Resort
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavarchino B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavarchino B&B

Address: Via Vertine 12 | gaiole in chianti, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: $134 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Cavarchino B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavarchino B&B Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing