We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiencing the magic of Tuscany”
Review of Adine in Chianti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaiole in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adine in Chianti
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband, sister, friend, and I just spent a week at Simonetta's guest house in Adine. Every moment of the experience expressed what we know and love about Italy. Simonetta's radiant smile as we drove up the road to the ancient village typifies the arm's-open charm of Italy. Our quarters spoke of history and of the love that Simonetta put into bringing her home back to life. We slept well in the comfortable beds with silky soft linens. The dear kitchen and living room were perfect spots for evening's spent at home. Simonetta is a wealth of information about where to eat, what villages to visit and how best to get there. She made dinner reservations for us, checked to make certain we were comfortable and having a grand time. Staying at Adine was like staying with a dear friend. And Adine is located perfectly for day trips to charming towns in Tuscany. We can't wait to return to Simonetta's Lodge. What lovely, happy memories we have of our time there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 35 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 5 days at Simonetta's agriturismo and we couldn't have asked for anything better! Near Rada in the heart of Chianti, the ancient house (dating from the year 1000) has an incredible amount of personality and Simonetta keeps the grounds looking wonderful and natural. The apartment was clean and the sheets on the bed were white and crisp! No bed bugs here! The kitchen had all that was necessary and she even had some coffee and milk and bread and jam to have breakfast the first morning.She was an excellent host, inquiring every day if we needed her assistance with anything. She made reservations for us at the Sienna tuscan wine school (which is a must if you're going to Tuscany) and so is her cooking class! We learned so much and it was simple things that will make you want to cook all day (even if you don't like to cook!) You must buy from her, her olive oil. you will not find better anywhere! I had to wait until getting home, 2 weeks later to taste it and I wish I had bought more from her. Staying at Simonetta's was a pure delight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PookieMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Well, I've been coming here for ten years, and every time I do it just keeps on getting better and better. Simonetta is like family and coming here is just like coming home. As long as she runs these two gorgeous villas (the small one suitable for a couple and the larger one which sleeps four), my husband and I will keep staying with her. The villas are part of a larger complex (Simonetta lives in the main house) which form an 11th Century hamlet. It is peaceful, serene and gorgeous. Her terrace, which is available for the guests to use, has the most incredible view. Particularly when the sun is setting. Sit out there with a glass of red wine and some anitpasta and just enjoy the beauty of nature surrounding you. It really does invoke inner peace.

So, the apartment. We stayed in Il Ghiro as there is a bit more room, even though it's just the two of us. This villa also has it's own private patio (no view of the rolling hills and vineyards, but it looks over the inner courtyard of the hamlet and the private chapel, lovely). We tended to go out for lunch and cook dinner at home in the evenings and the kitchen is perfectly set up for this - it's fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, cutlery, knives, condiments, seasoning and Simonetta's very own (delicious) olive oil, which is available to buy (we left with three litres on this occasion).

The main bedroom is enormous and has an en suite bathroom. The bed is simply massive and the sheets so clean and so soft. There is no IKEA furniture here, nothing cheap or nasty. It is, instead, decorated with vintage furniture and antiques. Pieces with history, and a story to tell. It is real and grounding and beautiful. There is a real rustic charm throughout the villa that we are totally in love with.

There is no swimming pool, and these days apparently everyone wants a swimming pool. But let me tell you that if that is the only reason you don't come and stay here, you are really missing out on something special. In years to come you won't remember splashing around in a pool. What you'll remember is the experience of having stayed in a piece of Italy (a distinctly Tuscan piece of Italy) in which the air was cleaner than any you've breathed before, the sky bluer, the hills more picturesque, the food more delicious and the history closer to you. The serenity far surpasses the need to swim, and we didn't miss it in the least. Neither will you, I promise.

Room Tip: Il Riccio is a small villa suitable for two (or at most three) people. If you want a bit more room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurjBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Simonetta is a wonderful and caring host and makes everyone feel welcome and wishing they could stay forever.
I have stayed here before and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience both times. It's very quiet and relaxing and everything is on your doorstep, Siena, Florence and San Gimignano. It really is a holiday and not just a vacation.
I will be coming back.
Fantastic

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanffBoy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

When people ask us about our time in Tuscany we just sigh and shake our heads. Simonetta, proprietor of the WONDERFUL place, made our trip what others dream their trip will be. A quick story sums it up. Before arriving we decided to stop and pick up some groceries (btw, NOT an easy thing to do in the middle of Toscano :)). At the store a couple was asking if anybody spoke English. We said yes and they proceeded to tell us about the place they were renting that had nothing stocked, including toilet paper, so they were wandering around a grocery store trying to find, and think, of everything they needed. When we arrived at Simonetta's she had STOCKED the refrigerator all kinds of things we would need and had a homemade breakfast tart waiting for us (she has been featured in National Geographic:)). The 2 bedroom apartment was rustic in the BEST way, and her terrace out back looked out over miles of Tuscany. We spent a lot of time out there just enjoying. Take Simonetta's advice and map with you. She never steered us wrong. Finally, we fell in love with Simonetta. We still email her and in our photo albums from the trip she is featured prominently because seeing her instantly makes us smile and relax. If you want to experience Toscano, SImonetta and her beautiful place are for you, just like for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallygoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Simonetta and her home were everything we dreamed of for our stay in Chianti! Our room was like no place we had ever stayed. We kept pinching ourselves to make sure it was a dream come true!

Located in the village of Adine the house is convenient to the wineries we visited. Simonetta was available to make recommendations for our itinerary each day.

Radda is so close we could go to the market and get food for breakfast and snacks.

We loved the huge patio looking over the olive trees! We sat there every night with a bottle of wine and wished upon a star we could stay forever!

We took Simonetta's cooking class and what a treat! We learned so much about the Italian cuisine and about her life. We got to participate in the cooking - not just watch. At the end of the class we all sat outside and enjoyed the food, wine, and wonderful company!

Simonneta's is the experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsT2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Simonetta's lodge was the perfect place to stay after spending a week driving through Belgium and Germany. After a week on the road as sightseers, cramming in every tourist attraction along the way, eating good food and stopping for pictures and walks and breath-taking scenery, we were just a wee bit tired by the time we drove into Adine. Simonetta met us with keys in hand, and from the moment we stepped into our quaint apartment, all of the stress of travelling fell away. We were home. Simonetta sat with us and showed us places in the Chianti region that she recommended (wineries, old churches, restaurants). We had a full list of things to do by the end of our first day. Later we took wine and cheese out to the terrace and Simonetta joined us for just a little while, and we had the privilege of talking and getting to know someone we quickly knew to be special. For our first two days we simply stayed close to Adine. Simonetta had made us a beautiful tart for breakfast, and we made coffee and enjoyed our home-made tart, then sat on the terrace overlooking her olive trees and read and napped. We were so happy to have a chance to simply BE in this beautiful region, savoring all of it. Later in the week we visited Radda, went on a winery tour, got lost several times on the winding roads in search of an old church and on our return from Siena, and each time we ventured out, we fell more in love with Toscana. It is simple, beautiful, quiet, slow-paced -- everything our REAL lives are not! Simonetta's lodge is a treasure. It will restore your soul.

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger apartment with two bedrooms and a kitchen. It was nice and roomy, with a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaiole in Chianti hotels
1.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
707 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
80 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castello di Tornano
Castello di Tornano
#3 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Castello di Meleto
Castello di Meleto
#4 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
400 reviews
4 mi away
Badia a Coltibuono
Badia a Coltibuono
#2 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
283 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adine in Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adine in Chianti

Address: Loc. Adine, 60, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: $73 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Siena less than 30 minutes away and Florence just over an hour distant, Adine is the perfect location for a holiday. It is incredibly peaceful. Accommodation is offered as two self-contained apartments which are the ideal base for exploring the Chianti region. Il Riccio - one bedroom, one bathroom, kitchen, dining area, private courtyard. The perfect getaway for two. Il Ghiro - two bedrooms (each with ensuite bathroom), kitchen, dining and sitting areas. The prefect holiday home for two couples or a family. Simonetta, the friendly owner, will be happy to share the secrets of Tuscany with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adine In Chianti Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing