We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tuscan Dinner in Charming Setting”

Osteria Il Papavero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This year to OSTERIA IL PAPAVERO you can have exciting cooking class! Call or write us, we wait for you!!!
Reviewed July 3, 2017

We stayed in the town of Barbischio recently and ate two wonderful dinners at Il Papavero. Great food and wonderful, personal service. Francesca, one of the owners, waits on tables as does an extremely friendly waiter named Claudio. And the town is a charming village, population 21. A short drive up the hill from Gaiole. If you are in Chianti, don't miss this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PWin512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 935 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of eating at this restaurant during our honeymoon trip to Italy last year July 2016. Reminiscing on a year later on our wedding anniversary about our fabulous Italian honeymoon we kept coming back to our favourite dining experience which was here at this little restaurant in Gaoile, Tuscany. Everything about this restaurant was amazing, the views from the restaurant are beautiful overlooking the Tuscan hills and little town of Gaiole, the service was outstandingly friendly, the restaurant itself was very charming and beautiful, the food was by far the best food we had in all of Italy, and all the food we had on our trip was great and we ate at many restaurants from Michelin star to little hideaway places. This restaurant took it to a whole other level. The fiorentine steak was absolutely amazing. The dessert we had was a lemon chocolate cake which was delicious. The entree of prosciutto and fig was fabulous! We still talk about this place all the time and if we are ever lucky enough to get back to Tuscany again the number one place to go for dinner will be here! If your in Tuscany go see this little gem, it really was our absolute favourite restaurant, not just in Italy but probably our favourite of any of the places and countries we have visited. We tell everyone about it, we are still so happy we got to experience the beauty of Tuscany and our dinner out here truly left special memories we will cherish forever. Thank you for an amazing culinary experience with true Tuscan charm and beauty and food we will never forget!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank debk16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommended for lunch or dinner - superb menu, great service, charming and unique setting, extraordinary views, family-friendly, great atmosphere, intriguing artwork and all in a beautiful medieval hamlet. Faultless.

Francesca and Riccardo, the ever-present hard working owners, along with their very friendly and professional staff, are very welcoming. The food is traditional Tuscan cuisine but with a flourish. So good that we ended up here three times!

Book or arrive early if you can - the restaurant and terrace are small and fill up quickly.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank foodiesontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

If you are looking for incredible authentic Tuscan food in a beautiful, cozy, quaint town, look no further than Il Papavero. The restaurant is the one business in the small town of Barbischio (town size: 21), near Gaiole en Chianti. The two servers are well-versed in English, hilarious, and kind. The food is outstanding (try any of the pastas and you can't go wrong). Highly recommend it!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

Have eaten here now several times over a number of years and the food, services, wine and view are all great. Well worth taking a detour to dine here. They offer a number of seafood specials at weekends in the summer in addition to their usual Tuscan menu.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Convie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Il Papavero also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Il Papavero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing