We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful villa for a week and everything about it exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect for day trips to Gaiole, Siena, San Gimignno and Greve. The villa was beautifully decorated and immaculate. It was fully equipped with everything we needed. The outdoor patio areas with incredible views were perfect for relaxing with a book and a glass of wine. Exzo, Max and Duccio were wonderful hosts- friendly and so helpful with suggestions for wineries and restaurants. One of the highlights of our stay was our cooking class conducted by Max and Duccio. We laughed, cooked and ate incredible food. We'll never forget it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastbaybnb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Podere Lucignano Secondo villa is a beautifully restored farmhouse that combines old world charm with all the modern conveniences. We traveled with another couple and enjoyed the comforts afforded in "Le Logge" - a large fully equipped kitchen, ensuite bathrooms, comfortable sitting areas and wonderful outdoor patios. It was easy to obtain groceries at the local grocery store in Pianella and at the large supermarket in Siena. We also enjoyed exploring the Castle Brolio and several of the towns nearby (Gaoile in Chianti, Radda and Castellina). Enzo and his son Max were delightful and very helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better Tuscany experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our stay here was one of the many highlights in Italy.

Podere Lucignano Secondo was everything we imagined and hoped it would be - rolling hills, spectacular views, tranquility, deer roaming around the villa and a secluded location.

Enzo and the boys were extremely friendly and helpful while the the fully renovated villa had all the ammeneties you could ever need,

A truly wonderful stay - especially suitable for 2 or more couples/families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spend a few wonderful days here.
The apartment is absolutely outstanding.
It is beautifully kept .
Eating outside with views over the Tuscany country side is an amazing experience
We had trouble with the rental car.
Enzo and family gave us great assistance and went way beyond what would be expected.
We hope to return and spend longer

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This villa and its surroundings are beautiful. My friends and I stayed there at the end of May this year during beautiful weather, and the villa looks just like it does on the internet. Enzo and Liliana and their sons take beautiful care of the place. The landscape and the landscaping is incredible, as was every aspect of our stay there. I would go back again tomorrow if I could!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family stayed a week on the upper floor of the villa and loved every second of it. The online villa pictures simply do not do it justice - the property has been meticulously decorated and maintained. The rooms are large with beautiful stonework, exposed beams, and antiques. The grounds are perfectly groomed, with apricot and plums available for the picking. We had wonderful meals of local produce and wine outside as the sun set over the Tuscan countryside. The property is close to Siena and many beautiful hill towns, but isolated enough (about 2K from closest town) that the only sounds at night are the crickets and an owl or two.

It was very hot during our stay, yet the thick walls of the villa kept it cool during the day. My teens also enjoyed a fantastic pool in the nearby town.

Thank you Enzo, Liliana, and Max for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This property is at least as good as it is represented on the website. We spent a delightful week at the villa, and accessed Siena, the surrounding towns in the Chianti, and further down to Montalcino. Nothing is more than an hour's drive.

The villa is well equipped and spotlessly clean. Bedding is comfortable, bathrooms are modern and well presented. Kitchen is very modern with an espresso machine though the other equipment is basic, but we were not there to cook. The surrounds are very peaceful and very beautiful, with only one other residence in view.

A car is vital. The only downside is that there is no village that is particularly close, with good local restaurants - though there is plenty of choice within 10 to 15 minutes' drive from the villa. In particular, La Porta in San Gusme is fabulous and the guys are very friendly - particularly if you warm them up with some poor attempts to speak Italian - as are restaurants a little further away, in Radda and Castellina. Further still, Volpaia, Lamole and Greve have good restaurants, and are worthwhile destinations in themselves.

Enzo and his sons provided a comprehensive introduction to the villa and good operating instructions, and were punctual for the checkin and checkout.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to book again. Highly recommended if you are looking for a great base in the southern Chianti, Siena Montepulciano and the Crete Senesi. The Villa would comfortably accommodate 10, using the apartment downstairs, though the two lower bedrooms share one bathroom.

All in all, great value and ideal for our needs. And it is as beautiful as it looks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaiole in Chianti hotels
6.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
707 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
80 reviews
3.8 mi away
Castello di Tornano
Castello di Tornano
#3 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Castello di Meleto
Castello di Meleto
#4 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
399 reviews
8.3 mi away
Badia a Coltibuono
Badia a Coltibuono
#2 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
283 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo

Address: Strada C24 - Loc. Lucignano n.17, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: $193 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo - Charming Villa in Chianti - Tuscany. Villa divided in 1 apartment at first floor + 1 apartment at ground floor: 5 twin/double bedroom, 10 sleep, 4 bathroom, garden, panoramic terrace, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing