We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This villa and its surroundings are beautiful. My friends and I stayed there at the end of May this year during beautiful weather, and the villa looks just like it does on the internet. Enzo and Liliana and their sons take beautiful care of the place. The landscape and the landscaping is incredible, as was every aspect of our stay there. I would go back again tomorrow if I could!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family stayed a week on the upper floor of the villa and loved every second of it. The online villa pictures simply do not do it justice - the property has been meticulously decorated and maintained. The rooms are large with beautiful stonework, exposed beams, and antiques. The grounds are perfectly groomed, with apricot and plums available for the picking. We had wonderful meals of local produce and wine outside as the sun set over the Tuscan countryside. The property is close to Siena and many beautiful hill towns, but isolated enough (about 2K from closest town) that the only sounds at night are the crickets and an owl or two.

It was very hot during our stay, yet the thick walls of the villa kept it cool during the day. My teens also enjoyed a fantastic pool in the nearby town.

Thank you Enzo, Liliana, and Max for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This property is at least as good as it is represented on the website. We spent a delightful week at the villa, and accessed Siena, the surrounding towns in the Chianti, and further down to Montalcino. Nothing is more than an hour's drive.

The villa is well equipped and spotlessly clean. Bedding is comfortable, bathrooms are modern and well presented. Kitchen is very modern with an espresso machine though the other equipment is basic, but we were not there to cook. The surrounds are very peaceful and very beautiful, with only one other residence in view.

A car is vital. The only downside is that there is no village that is particularly close, with good local restaurants - though there is plenty of choice within 10 to 15 minutes' drive from the villa. In particular, La Porta in San Gusme is fabulous and the guys are very friendly - particularly if you warm them up with some poor attempts to speak Italian - as are restaurants a little further away, in Radda and Castellina. Further still, Volpaia, Lamole and Greve have good restaurants, and are worthwhile destinations in themselves.

Enzo and his sons provided a comprehensive introduction to the villa and good operating instructions, and were punctual for the checkin and checkout.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to book again. Highly recommended if you are looking for a great base in the southern Chianti, Siena Montepulciano and the Crete Senesi. The Villa would comfortably accommodate 10, using the apartment downstairs, though the two lower bedrooms share one bathroom.

All in all, great value and ideal for our needs. And it is as beautiful as it looks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed one week at the Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo in May 2012 and enjoyed every moment. This is the perfect 'Tuscany Villa'. Very nice and large stone house in a quiet area in the middle of vineyards. The view is beautiful and the hosts are wonderful. We rented the entire house with our family and some friends. This place exceeded our expectations. Enzo, Liliana and their sons made our experience even more memorable. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Perfect place for family or trip with friends. You can rent one of the two appartments or the entir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful villa in July 2011 for a week, two families of 8. The house is located in Chianti region, about 9 miles away from Siena. This was a perfect place to enjoy the view, taste, and the culture of Tuscany as it offered not only a central location, but also a great accommodation with a perfect view.

The house has a gated driveway and has 4 parking spots. You need a car to get around the area as there's not much within the walking distance. As we drove in the driveway, our first impression was that we hit the jackpot, not knowing what to expect booking online without seeing the place first. The view of Chianti Vineyards was exactly what I imagined for a perfect Tuscany vacation. The outdoor area offered a beautiful outdoor stone deck, many lounging chairs to relax, a BBQ grill where we cooked scallops and steaks, colorful flowers, and plenty of space for our children to run around. Inside of villa also offered a great accommodation with two fireplaces, beautifully equipped kitchens, and a shower with a view.

The villa is separated into two floors. Top floor can accommodate 6 people with 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, a kitchen, a living room, and a separate entrance. Lower floor can accommodate 4 people with 2 bedrooms, a bath, a kitchen, a living room and also a separate entrance. We rented the top floor, plus had an access for one bedroom (yellow) on the lower floor. We got lucky that no one rented the other room during our stay, so we enjoyed the privacy. If you have a party of 7 or more, I highly recommend renting the whole house.

We would like to thank Max for being a perfect host, accommodating to all our needs, offering his knowledge to enhance our Tuscany experience, and even giving us a bottle of wine to enjoy. Everyone agreed that one week was definitely not long enough. We cannot wait to go back to relive the experience as one of our children said, “This must be a heaven!”

Room Tip: For food shopping, go to a supermarket in Siena. Local stores do not have a lot of selections with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PragueParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family and I just returned from at week spent at Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo and we were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of this villa. It was a spectacular holiday thanks to Enzo, Liliana and Max! We were literally speechless as we drove up the driveway and laid eyes on the villa for the first time. The views are breathtaking. The interior of the villa is charming, clean and very comfortable. The decor is a perfect blend of modern conveniences with old-world charm. It was fascinating to hear about the history of the villa from the family. We stayed in the second floor apartment for six nights - it was perfect. The location was ideal! The drive from Rome was very easy. We took day trips to many surrounding cities/towns, including Florence, Siena and Greve. The scenery, in every direction, is spectacular. Autumn in Tuscany is gorgeous. The olive oil from this time of year is heavenly. It was great being so close to so many beautiful vineyards - wine tastings are a must. On the nights we wanted to eat out at a local restaurant there were many choices thanks to Max's recommendations. We also prepared several meals at the villa - the kitchen was terrific and very well supplied. I could honestly go on and on about every detail we loved about our stay. We will most certainly be back! Thank you very much to Enzo, Liliana and Max - we appreciate all of your efforts to make our stay so memorable...including the fresh rosemary!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Can't say enough about our stay at Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo. We rented the upstairs apartment (3 bedroom/3 bathroom) with another couple and absolutlely loved the villa. Very open, roomy and the views from every window were spectacular. The apartment downstairs (2 bedroom/1 bath) was rented by a lovely couple with baby from Australia. We felt like we had plenty of space even sharing the grounds of the home. Max and Enzo, thanks for the wonderful hospitality. Our week in the Chianti Region was amazing and we hope to be back again someday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaiole in Chianti hotels
6.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
707 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
80 reviews
3.8 mi away
Castello di Tornano
Castello di Tornano
#3 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Loggetta
La Loggetta
#30 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
10 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castello di Meleto
Castello di Meleto
#4 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
398 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo

Address: Strada C24 - Loc. Lucignano n.17, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: $192 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo - Charming Villa in Chianti - Tuscany. Villa divided in 1 apartment at first floor + 1 apartment at ground floor: 5 twin/double bedroom, 10 sleep, 4 bathroom, garden, panoramic terrace, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Lucignano Secondo Agriturismo Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing