We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite spots on earth...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Lecchi B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaiole in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borgo Lecchi B&B
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorite spots on earth...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The people, the location, the food and wine. Absolutely amazing spot, especially if you like to ride a bike in the tuscan hills. This is a great base for exploring nearby wineries and is a short drive/ride from Sienna.

I stayed here for a week in 2012 and the room was very clean and comfy. It also had a little roof deck with a stunning view.

Also, I must mention that the breakfasts and meals here are of a very high standard, I have waking dreams about Morgaro's fire-grilled steaks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marceire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
44
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Everything in "Borgolecchi" is perfect.
A picturesque old stone-house in the small peaceful village Lecchi, clean, bright rooms with lovely furnishing, serviced daily, nice views on the hills of Chianti from the beautiful small terrace.

But this you can have in many other B&Bs or hotels.

The 2 big differences to all accommodations I was before are the emotions and the cooking in Borgolecchi!!!

Emotions:
Anna and Morgaro are so friendly, warm and helpful I never had seen before. I was integrated from the first moment into the family with Anna, Morgaro, his mother and Ettore, an amiable big Labrador dog.
Looking for an accommodation for the L'Eroica race in octobre, Anna supported me with all her forces to find a perfect solution together with her friends in Gaiole.
For breakfast with everything you can imagine and for the superb dinner every night we all sat together at a big table and had very nice conversations with guests from nearly the whole world and the Boscheros.
I found in this week some nice friends for ever and got many informations and tips from my exceptionally hosts.

Cooking:
You only have to look into the bright eyes of Morgaro working in his kitchen to understand why the food in Borgolecchi is so outstanding good.He uses only fresh ingredients from the local countryside and works with unbelievable accuracy, mastery and a lot of love like the most famous chefs in the world and the result you can smell and taste, just wonderful.
When I came back in the afternoon from my bicycle rides over the hills of Chianti mostly there was a lovely smell from freshly baked cakes or freshly made Pasta sauce in the air and two happy faces welcomed me with "Ciao Hermann, come stai?"

Borgolecchi is highly recommendable for all who like italien food, the italian way of living and warm open people.

Grazie di tutto cuore a Anna e Morgaro per una delle migliori settimane della mia vita!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights.
Our room was lovely; spotlessly clean, with panoramic views of the stunning Tuscany countryside from our balcony.
We also dined here in the evening. The fantastic food, using local ingredients freshly prepared by Anna's husband, added to our feeling of well being. A good selection
of Tuscan wines was also available. Choice at breakfast was wide and plentiful.
The owners created a special, warm family atmosphere so there was great social mixing with other guests. All requests were dealt with efficiently and with a smile.
We will stay longer when we next visit the region.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsixsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My stay at Borgolecchi was the exact Italian experience that I was hoping to have. Anna and Morgaro welcomed me into their home as a friend not just a guest. Their hospitality was superb. The food was amazing. Breakfast was a wonderful selection of cereal, fruits, nuts, juices, croissants, meats, cheeses, bread, tarts and cake..... Dinner was different every night and the beef, chicken and Florentine steak were mouth watering, not to mention the pasta and desserts. My room was gorgeous with the most wonderful views of the Tuscan countryside. It was serviced daily and had great amenities. Tea and coffee and a hot water jug were a great touch. Morgaro shared his cooking expertise with me and we enjoyed a lot of fun times. Both Anna and Morgaro offered wonderful advice on places to see and instructions on how to get there. Anna's English was great and she enabled communication to be so much easier as my Italian vocabulary is very small. I would return again to Borgolecchi and would definitely recommend anyone to stay there to have a true Tuscan experience with the most amazing, friendly and fun hosts you could meet. Grazie Mille. Veramente molto bello!!!!!

Room Tip: My room was The Margherita room. Gorgeous room with doors to a private terrace overlooking the Tusca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosanky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We recently went on a 7-day Honeymoon trip to Italy where we visited Rome, Tuscany and Venice. While we enjoyed Rome and Venice just fine, our stay at B&B Borgo Lecchi was most definitely our most memorable destination! Anna and her husband were the most welcoming hosts we encountered in Italy! The food was to die for....we feasted on homemade noodles, delicately prepared meats and delicious custom desserts! Each meal was a four course meal and the wine selection included local chianti wines as well. The breakfast had a bountiful selection of meats, cheeses, pastries and cappucino! We were able to skip lunches because of the large breakfast, which saved us money and time while driving through the Tuscan countryside. The location was perfect for visiting wineries and castles as they were all within less than 20 miles and many within 5-10 miles. We stayed in the Margherita room, which was well appointed with a comfortable bed, armoire stocked with extra blankets and pillows, and a nice seating area with a desk and water, coffee, and tea. The restroom was also clean and had a working towel warmer. The heater worked well in the room and the television had a few English channels to choose from. The view from our balcony was the most beautiful feature of our room; I even woke up extra early to enjoy the in-room coffee and sunrise, which is not characteristic of me! I cannot say enough about the location and accommodations of this establishment! Most importantly, the hospitality is unmatched and offered an authentic Tuscan experience, which we would never have had in Rome or Venice or at a well-known hotel in Florence. This is a must-stay and we will definitely be coming back to visit during our next trip to Italy!

Room Tip: The Margherita Room had a fabulous view and was right upstairs from the kitchen and living area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgolecchi B, Proprietario at Borgo Lecchi B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear gueste,
thank you very much for taking a little of your time to write about us and your Italian vacation.
What we tried to convey is naturalness, simplicity and tradition.
It's nice to know that in our little house that we can give something to tell your heart remains.
Thanks again for everything and see you soon.
Anna e Morgaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

What makes inGamba so special is the people you come in contact with while in Lecchi. While staying at Borgo Lecchi, Morgano, our gracious host, takes you in as part of his family and shares his wonderful inn with you. I found it so easy to forget about everything and decompress. The simplicity of it all should not be missed. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The views of the valley from the rooms with patios are a Tuscan dream come true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and Mother spent 10 days in Italy and this was the best accommodations, food and overall experience we had on our entire trip (Our travels included Florence, Cinque Terra, Rome and Naples). The Owners Anna and Morgano are the most warm, kind and attentive host– I dare you to find any moment that Morgano is not laughing or smiling. All I wanted in Tuscany was a view and what a view we got from our lovely patio off our room...rolling countryside, complete with vineyards, olive groves and a castle! The set up was great for a family or couples traveling together as the room my husband and I had was adjacent to my mom's.. as were the patios. It allowed a lot of privacy, but enabled us to sit outside together at the end of the day and share a glass of wine (Our room was called Margherita).
The room and attached bathroom were immaculate and very comfortable. We were able to open our patio doors and fall asleep to rain by night and wake up gently to the roosters caw by morning.
The town is tiny but also offers a small market that we picked up wine/beer and chocolate from and there is also a restaurant. It is very charming.
The common space and dining table was spacious and accommodating and It was fun to come down before dinner, read a book on the couch, and watch Morgano and Fabio cooking away in the kitchen while listening to music and laughing.
You HAVE to eat dinner at the B&B (forget eating in Siena)... it was the best food we had in Italy. One night was florentine steak... the other was the most amazing roasted chicken to ever pass my lips. The wine flows, the conversation is great and we got to meet a couple from Flanders and Argentina. There was nothing you couldn't ask that Anna or Morgano wouldn't provide for your comfort. Our day of check out we were headed to Rome we requested a packed Lunch because we had a tour as soon as we got into the city. Morgano went to the store that AM just to get us fresh loaves of bread for the most delicious prosciutto and cheese sandwiches with fresh fruit. Amazing!
We wish we could of packed up Anna, Morgano and B&B Borgolecchi for the rest of our Italian adventure. B&B Borgolecchi is magical...

Room Tip: The Room Marherita and it's adjacent room face the stunning Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgolecchi B, Proprietario at Borgo Lecchi B&B, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear guest,
we have no words to thank you. Read these words from us strength and courage to move forward in our job.
Also this year we are bringing small updates to Borgolecchi, everything to give the best to our customers.
This is our commitment and our love for you.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaiole in Chianti hotels
2.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.4 mi away
Capannelle Wine Resort
Capannelle Wine Resort
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cavarchino B&B
Cavarchino B&B
#1 of 9 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Canonica Di Nusenna
La Canonica Di Nusenna
#6 of 9 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castellare De' Noveschi
Castellare De' Noveschi
#2 of 9 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Lecchi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Lecchi B&B

Property: Borgo Lecchi B&B
Address: Via San Martino 50 | Lecchi in Chianti, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Borgolecchi is found in the heart of Lecchi, 25 Km from Siena. The dominant position of the hamlet invites excursions on foot or by bicycle for exploring the beauty of Chianti.The B&B is situated in an historic bulding dating back to XV Century.There are six rooms with private bathrooms, air conditioning and you can enjoy a splendid view from their terraces.In the morning we offer an abundant buffet breakfast with local and homemade products. The care and attention which we dedicate to gastronomy can also be found at dinner time with our typically tuscan,homely menu.B&B Borgolecchi is included on the famous "EROICA" bicycle race circuit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Lecchi B&B Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing