We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families and close to everything”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Al Gelso Bianco is a perfect for a family vacation to Tuscany. It's well situated conveniently between Siena and Florence and you can easily access San Gimignano. We stayed in the Salvia apartment with our two year old son - it is spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped too.
The pool is a great addition -it's large!

The staff at the farm are wonderful too - incredibly helpful and offered amazing tips!

Room Tip: I would ask for a comforter to be put on the bed - we found our bed quite hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at Al Gelso Bianco twice now. It was lovely both times. As a family of five it is not easy to find a place that we can stay that is both well appointed and spacious. This is the place!
The location is fantastic. 45 min to Florence, 45 minutes to Siena, 20 Minutes to San Gimignano. You will never run out of things to do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki07928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday at Al Gelso Bianco with three children. We had the most amazing time, great weather, great location. Plenty to do with the children although a play area would be good. The location was good very central to alot of places like Siene, Florence, San Gimignano. Definitely do the pasta making even though I thought it was expensive but an experience. The staff are amazing and friendly.
We will be back !

Room Tip: We stayed in Alloro which was plenty big enough for our family of 5. It was overlooking the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonatiFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved the region and this place and thoroughly recommend it, particularly for families! Beautiful setting on a family-run wine and olive farm with great views of the Tuscan countryside. All apartments tastefully appointed with their own outdoor eating space. Extensive, well maintained grounds. Lovely pool surrounded by gardens which allow plenty of space for play and quiet relaxation. Thoroughly recommend the cookery classes with Stefania and Susanna, using fresh produce from the garden cooked in their beautiful kitchen, followed by a civilized lunch in the lovely dining room (Stefania's apple cake particularly delicious!). Wine and olive oil tasting also recommended. The owners and staff are delightful and helpful, notably Chiara and Dori, and Celestino the new kitten provided hours of entertainment! Warm, friendly, idyllic. We'll be back! P.S. Finding our way around the region's roads could be stressful - use SatNav!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a must do with kids, from Siena/ Florence. Did the kids' cooking class with 3 kids aged 6, 8 and 10, this was the highlight of their entire European holiday. After picking the vegetables from the farm, they made pasta and sauces in the fabulous rustic kitchen. Grown ups sampled the very good home made wine, and then ate the best meal we had in Italy. All of the staff speak perfect English, the cooking lesson by Stefania and Susanna was brilliant and the kids were captivated. They were knowledgeable and entertaining. We even had a sneaky swim in their fabulous pool and a look around the luxurious accommodation. The kids are already asking when we're going to stay.... if you're not lucky enough to stay, it's an easy 40 minute drive from Siena or Florence and will make your Tuscan experience. See http://algelsobianco.it/pdf/algelsobianco_002.pdf.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Last week we were at Al Gelso Bianco, and we have had a most fantastic time!
The apartments, as well as the garden and swimming pool, are nice and perfectly maintained. The region is beautiful, with San Gimignano (45 min) and Sienna (60 min) to be visited, and lots of cozy restaurants in the neighborhood (advised to us by Chiara). We also participated in the guided visit to the domain's winery and wine tasting (a must do!). The most valuable asset of this agroturismo is the staff: everybody is very friendly and available. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilipD865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First family holiday in Tuscany and we'll definitely be heading back next year. Very friendly staff, wonderful location and everything you could hope for as a young family. The small number of apartments means there's never a fight to get a place round the pool and the whole set up feels very tranquil and relaxing. Local restaurants had plenty to offer and nearby towns meant we had everything on our doorstep. And nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy_McTavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.9 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
652 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#6 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
230 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Semifonte
Hotel Semifonte
#1 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
85 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Casina di Cioccolata
La Casina di Cioccolata
#8 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area ...
#1 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort

Address: Strada di Sant'Appiano 47 | 50021 Barberino V.E, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Gelso Bianco is located in one of the most beautiful valleys of the Chianti area, the Val d'Elsa, just a stone's throw from the cities of Florence and Siena (16 miles from Florence and 19 miles from Siena). Arriving to the resort along the cypress lined avenue will give visitors a preview of the love and care that the owners give to this enchanted place. Practically a hamlet in itself, it enjoys the privileged position of sitting opposite the 10th century Romanesque church of Sant'Appiano (X a.C) and the soaring towers of San Gimignano in the distance. Al Gelso Bianco is immersed in the green of the Valacchi Agricultural Estate Typical products of this marvellous land, such as Chianti DOCG wine, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Grappa and Vin Santa dessert wine, have been produced here for many years. During your stay at Al Gelso Bianco you can enjoy a wine and olive oil tasting in the cellar, a relaxing time at the swimming pool, a visit to the most important cities of Tuscany just few kilometres away, a cooking classes, a Tuscan dinner prepared in our amazing garden or having fun at a pizza party. We are available to help you in booking museums, licensed professional guides for private tours, restaurants, mountain bikes, baby sitters, and whatever you need to make your stay a pleasant, relaxing and true Tuscan experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing