We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic family vacation”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I almost want NOT to post a review here because I want to keep this place a secret. It is that wonderful!!

Everything was just lovely: the postcard worthy location, the place itself, the manicured grounds, the friendly owner and staff, the amenities, the food, the recommendations they gave us for restaurants and day trips... EVERYTHING was just great. We came from Venice and Rome (which are pretty pricey cities) and I was also pleased with the price of the room.

I think it is a really good place for a family reunion (perhaps soon!); we brought our 9 months baby with us and they had everything we needed: high chair, baby bath, baby cot, etc.

Pool wasn't heated but when it's hot, that is refreshing. We loved having breakfast every morning in the garden.

I would love to be back again and stay for a month or so...
Irene, Chiara and Dori were great!

Room Tip: I have not seen the other units, but the Alloro suite we had was facing the pool and was absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaInger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at Al Gelso Bianco in April of 2012. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right selection. The entire staff is a pleasure to be around, truly service oriented. We especially recommend the cooking classes and private chef service they offer. Susanna (the chef) is an amazing cook, and went out of her way to prepare food our whole family would enjoy.

The resort itself was extremely clean and very centrally located. We visited Sienna and Florence, as well as some of the smaller nearby towns. The Chianti they produce on site is also very good, and they prepared a great tasting for us.

We were traveling with a 9 month old baby and they provided everything we needed (portable crib, monitor, high hair etc. ). They also loved having kids there and made our 4 year old feel right at home.

If you are looking to experience Tuscany, I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The place is indeed a nice spot of paradise in Chianti. We loved being able to reach San Gimignano, Florence, Siena and the Chianti-Classico villages all within half an hour's drive.

As a small family, we stayed in the smallest apartment "Rosmarino" with our baby and it was very pleasant, although not extremely spacious. We liked being somewhat apart from the other apartments and having the view on the San Gimigniano hilltops with a beautiful sunset every evening. Having a walk on the property among the olive trees or down to the vineyards is really relaxing. As we were there in April, it wasn't warm enough to use the swimming pool, be we appreciated the other amenities such as being able to get a bottle of wine at any time in the shop or being invited to the wine-tasting (with plenty of food too). Irene and Chiara are just charming and helpful at all times.

All in all a great experience I would renew. I would not say it is excellent value, as everything in Tuscany is comparatively expensive, but with the free perks (we weren't charged for most of the extras, even though there is a price list) I feel content and can recommend the location warmly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

In july 2011 we organised our wedding at Al Gelso Bianco and it ended up being a truely magnificent experience. Our families stayed at the property for a week there where Irene and her family made our experience a true pleasure. The scenery and property itself were amazing and the care we recieved was outstanding. The morning after the wedding the clean up was 90% done by the time we got up and by 1pm we were able to enjoy the pool and the fact a 100+ person wedding had occured the night before was unapparent.

The rooms were immaculate, the care and attention were perfect as well. We would highly recommend Al Gelso Bianco. Furthermore a number of our guests will be booking rooms there in the summer of 2012 if any are available as Al gelso bianco's reputation seems to have spread.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alejandro h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Al Gelso Bianco is a more than perfect place to stay in Tuscany. It has excellent location, you can easily get to all major attractions. Siena, Florence, Chianti villages are short drive from there. The accommodation is superb - traditional little houses with a modern design inside. The owners are wonderful. Irene is an excellent guide for sightseeing but also for the best restaurants, little trattorias and best local food and wine producers as well traditional craftsman. She will suggest you the best itinerary for foodies you can imagine! The property is very beautiful surrounded by olive trees with magnificent view to Tuscan hills and San Gimignano towers. The swimming pool area is also excellent with spectacular view to Tuscan countryside. The owners produce their own wines, olive oil and jams - don't miss to try them, especially amazing jelly from Vin Santo! Summing up - it is an absolutely wonderful place for Tuscan holidays.

Room Tip: The best apartment is Gelsomino with a terrace with spledid courntryside view over the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I cant say enough great things about our vacation at Al Geiso Bianco. We were there for 10 days and didnt want it to end. Our cooking class with Susanna and Stefania was so much fun, I cant imagine a better way to make new friends than over good food and wine in one of the most beautiful settings in the world.

Irene and Ciara were so helpful in suggesting just the right places to visit as well as eat. But I must say that the property itself was so beautiful that if you never left you would have had a magnificent time.

The apartment itself was very nicely appointed and the views were spectacular. The pool and gardens were just perfect to relax and recollect in between visits to the most beautiful cities and towns in Tuscany. The location is just the perfect distance to Florence and Sienna and in close proximity to some of the most special little towns and villages.

I hope to be lucky enough to go back and I continue to reccomend Al Gelso Bianco to everyone I know who traveling to beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had the best time. We took over the property with 6 other families for my 40th birthday- 13 kids and 14 adults. Everyone there was amazing- so helpful and nice. The property and housing is immaculate and everywhere you look, you feel you are in a painting- gorgeous!. We can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoledevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.9 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
562 reviews
14.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
625 reviews
14.4 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Romitorio di Serelle
Romitorio di Serelle
#4 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fattoria Sant'Appiano
Fattoria Sant'Appiano
#7 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
58 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Canonica di Cortine
La Canonica di Cortine
#4 of 11 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort

Property: Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort
Address: Strada di Sant'Appiano 47 | 50021 Barberino V.E, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Gelso Bianco is located in one of the most beautiful valleys of the Chianti area, the Val d'Elsa, just a stone's throw from the cities of Florence and Siena (16 miles from Florence and 19 miles from Siena). Arriving to the resort along the cypress lined avenue will give visitors a preview of the love and care that the owners give to this enchanted place. Practically a hamlet in itself, it enjoys the privileged position of sitting opposite the 10th century Romanesque church of Sant'Appiano (X a.C) and the soaring towers of San Gimignano in the distance. Al Gelso Bianco is immersed in the green of the Valacchi Agricultural Estate Typical products of this marvellous land, such as Chianti DOCG wine, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Grappa and Vin Santa dessert wine, have been produced here for many years. During your stay at Al Gelso Bianco you can enjoy a wine and olive oil tasting in the cellar, a relaxing time at the swimming pool, a visit to the most important cities of Tuscany just few kilometres away, a cooking classes, a Tuscan dinner prepared in our amazing garden or having fun at a pizza party. We are available to help you in booking museums, licensed professional guides for private tours, restaurants, mountain bikes, baby sitters, and whatever you need to make your stay a pleasant, relaxing and true Tuscan experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing