We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Il Paretaio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Paretaio
Certificate of Excellence
Staffs
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Me and my sister had a wonderful time. The riding was great, very sensitive horses that really made us focus on all the details so important to ride well! Wonderful enthusiastic teaching guided us both through the week, albeit being different level riders we both came home with lots of inspiration, my sister began her riding experience in the best way possible while I am now focused on improving my horse in all the lateral movements I worked on so hard! Thankyou to all of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    20
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
68
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Rooms: very basic but clean (not a lot of warm water so you have to shower quickly), a lot of noise if your room is next to the dining room.

Food: excellent!!

Horses: excellent horses if you are a beginner: they are very trustworthy but they don't have a high level of training. Don't go here if you already have a good level in dressage., most of the riders we met at Il Paretaio were beginners in dressage.

Instructors: Christina is a very good instructor. Jenny is excellent for beginners.

Nice holiday, very well situated to visit Tuscany, price is a bit high for the basic quality of the rooms and horses.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rambo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This was one of my favorite vacations. My eight year old daughter and I are beginner riders and my husband has never ridden classically. I was worried that two lessons a day for a week was going to be too much, but I was wrong. We all loved every minute. The instruction was first class and so were the horses. We were close enough to travel into towns to site see a bit but were always ready to get back. This place is magical. I loved eating family style. You really had a chance to get to know the other guests and by the end of the week you felt like family! We also went into town to take a pasta making class at Pasta Fresca. Wilma, the owner, was so delightful and I felt like I was in the kitchen with my Italian mom! We got to take our pasta back to IL Paretaio to cook up for lunch and it was delicious. I have even made it since I have been home! Wilma would be so proud. The trek out to a small winery was quite a treat as well. The tasting room was right out of a movie and the cheese and wine...bravissimo! I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janaerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Had a fantastic time at Il Paretaio. Came with my non horse riding mother and thought she may be a little bored, but no, she happily watched me ride, relaxed with a book, enjoyed the sunshine and the beautiful scenery. We loved the fantastic food, the towns we visited and the lovely people we met from all over the world. Although I have been riding all my life I had never had a dressage lesson before, but Jenny was patient and the horses were chosen to suit my abilities. I fell in love with Notte and wanted to bring her back with me! Cristina, Giovanni and all the staff made us feel so welcome and at home. I hope to come back again before too long.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We are just back from our second stay at Il Paretaio. We are so in love with the place, the people, the horses and the food and wine!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank line66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Make sure you take enough ridng clothing, you get hot & sweaty if riding every day and I was too relaxed to be concerned with washing clothes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djl_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Went with my wife and 4 yr old daughter. The staff was wonderful, location perfect, and food fantastic. We had no experience with Dressage riding when we arrived and by week's end felt transformed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.5 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
592 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area ...
#3 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#7 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
211 reviews
14.9 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Romitorio di Serelle
Romitorio di Serelle
#3 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Paretaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paretaio

Property: Il Paretaio
Address: Strada delle Ginestre 12, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Paretaio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL PARETAIO is a classical riding centre situated in a picturesque valley surrounded by vineyards, olive trees and woods. Its central location, in the Chianti area, makes it a good base for touring the area without changing accomodation (Florence and Siena are just 30 min. by car; San Gimignano only 20 mins). We offer riding programmes for all levels of riders from beginners to advanced or hacking out in the wonderful tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Paretaio Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing