We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rating of 5 for each of the metrics was not our intention - a rating of 10 will be more likely if that existed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rating of 5 for each of the metrics was not our intention - a rating of 10 will be more likely if that existed!”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Thank you Alba & Andrew, for your wonderful hospitality, generosity & friendship. You both were the most wonderful hosts ever, making our Tuscany stay possibly the best ever of our travels within Italy! From the driving directions to the dinner recommendations and to the very comfortable homestay you provided us... We are and will always be immensely grateful! We wish you both the very best and hope to cross paths again soon someday.

A & W
April 2012
Singapore

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalexisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear both, we are flattered by your review and kind words ... it was a pleasure to have you in Ponzano and we are happy to know that, although your stay was short, you made the most out of it also thank you to our information.
We wish you all the best for your life together and hope you will be back some days in Torre di Ponzano. All the very best to you too. Alba & Sonny.


P.S. I bet you have made a wonderful album with the so many pictures you took in the surroundings with that marvellous camera!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
121
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Extremely clean and tidy house! I don't remember the exact year it was built, but this house has been kept to it's original. It's exactly the way one should experience in Tuscany! The price is reasonable, but the service over delivers! The view is breath-taking and we just wish we have spent couple more days there.

I can't say enough good things about Torre di Ponzano, but more importantly the host Alba and Sonny.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducatista79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for your good review! Your visit was indeed very short but we hope you can come again some time in a not so far away future, call us and ... we will keep another bottle of Merlot ready for you! All the best to you both. Alba & Sonny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor before, but felt I needed to write one for Torre di Ponzano. We stayed in July 2011 and ever since coming home, I have thought about our fabulous week there at least twice a day. It was pretty much the perfect holiday!

Alba and Sonny are fantastic hosts - they were incredibly helpful with suggestions for local restaurants, and were always keen for an entertaining chat. Alba very generously brought us the most delicious homemade cakes to eat a few times during our stay. (Alba, I would love the recipe for the apricot cake!)

We took Il Fienile for the week (there were five of us - all adults) and had the most wonderful time driving around Tuscany exploring the nearby villages and towns during the mornings, then spending long lazy afternoons by the lovely pool with its outstanding view. The kitchen is excellently equipped, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and large and the private garden with BBQ area was the perfect place to watch the gorgeous sunset, with a Campari in hand.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampbellandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Hello! And thank you very much for the excellent review ... which one was the apricot cake?
I would loved to give you the recipe but I normally take a recipe and ... modify it.
Actually, if I well remember you were the Australians cooking marvellous dinners with huge 'bistecche alla fiorentina' on the BBQ, enjoying the food & sunset & the wine so much so that the only thing we needed to do to relax was to watch you eating in the garden!!! It is such a pleasure to see guests enjoying the place so much! I am not too sure but I think that the apricot cake was an apple crumble recipe where I put apricots instead of apples ... try it out and, in case it does not come out that nice, jump on a plane and it will be my pleasure to offer you one for you.
Best wishes to you all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Losangeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

OwnerSony and Alba make the differnce in this hotel. This is a long overdue review, We stayed at Ponzano in May 2008. We loved every bit detail of this Hotel, rooms are gorgeous and view is spectacular. We loved eating our breakfast outside near the swimming pool with Olive Grove views. loved it!
Sony & Alba made us feel at home. they were extremly helpful with all the details. loved it!
Thanks Sony & Alba :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdadabhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear both, thank you so much for taking time to write a review on our place.
No problems if you posted it late -as your stay was in 2008- it is a pleasure for us to know that the good memories of your holidays at Torre di Ponzano lasted so long.
Thanks again for remembering us and giving us such a nice review.
Wishing you both a nice holiday season we take this opportunity to send to all our guests
-old ones, new ones ... and even the future ones- our best wishes for a
Very Merry Christmas
Hoping that the New Year could bring Peace, Joy, Health and Prosperity to all
and knowing how precious and gentle and kind you all have been to us,
we'd like to think that during Christmas, you will not only buy presents for the ones you love
but that you would spare something .... a thought ... a penny ... a prayer for all those who are a little less lucky than we are.
May your 2012 be happy
Alba and Andrew

P.S. We will still be in Torre di Ponzano for the 2012, waiting for you all to come and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I would say that the owner is very helpful and friendly, providing information about the places to dine and also to visit. Torre Di Ponzana I would say is excellent. It has nice view and the rooms were cosy and comfortable. It's really the hard work and detailed services of the owner that I must say that the hotel provides such an impeccable service.
As I have said Ponzano is excellent, I would say that the it's time that the hot kettle need to be changed to the flat type of kettle without the ironing rods, nevertheless this is not really a problem as they have the microwave to heat up water. I wish Ponzano would have wireless internet and that would put Ponzano to 100%.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Good morning and thank you so much for your review! During your stay in Torre di Ponzano I (Alba) did not have the pleasure to meet you but when I came back my husband told me about "the four extremely nice guests from Singapore".
Thank you for pointing out "the hard work and detailed services ..." which means for us trying to give our guests information & suggestions in a personalised way so as to make them feel 'at home' and, also, trying to maintain a 'human touch' that is often lost in the big resorts.
I am sorry about the kettle with the ironing road! It is entirely my (Alba) responsibility. I loved this suggestion as it comes a few days after I changed the kettle in room n°2 putting the flat type saying to myself 'sooner or later I have to change all the kettles' but .... I was waiting for them to die! They are such a good trade mark ... they still work so well ... it is so difficult now a days to find things that work so well ... Nevertheless, you are right!
As for internet, there is normally a connection available in the main lounge which can be access with a password.

Thanking you very much, again, for posting such a nice review
wishing you a nice holiday season
Kind regards
Alba & Andrew

P.S. Sorry about the kettle,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I went to Italy for our slightly delayed honeymoon. This was BY FAR out favorite place. If you are planning to visit Italy, your trip will not be complete without a stay at Torre di Ponzano. Sonny and Alba are beyond amazing. We like to have our freedom when we travel but could not have asked for more. Staying at Torre di Ponzano is like staying with your good friends (that you never knew that you had). We stayed five nights and could have stayed at least five more. We had a car and used this as a home base - it was perfect. We very honestly could not say enough. It was by far the best part of our two week trip and we only wished that we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We opted for a deluxe room (it was either #2 or #3) - it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you - thank you - thank you for such a lovely review! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our place so much. You indeed pointed out what it is normally hidden in our job,
especially for small places like ours: the hard work and detailed services which translates in spending our time to try to help with itinerary, information, suggestions and advices.
So thank you again for having appreciated that.
Wishing you all the best for the holidays season
Our best regards
Alba & Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is an amazing place to stay if you are planning a trip to the Tuscany area. The owners are a fabulous couple and went out of their way to help us plan our daily trips during the four days that we spent there. The service was beyond our expectations and the exquisite farmhouse is in a great location for day trips, being close to Florence, Sienna and all of the Chianti. We can strongly recommend the farmhouse for your next vacation to this region

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear both, thank you very much for the nice review and also for the book you sent which we really enjoyed and appreciated very much. As you told us, this was ... how to describe it? your "first/second Honey moon"? So we are really glad we contributed it to make it successful.
We hope you are now having a lovely time with your family back home and wish you all the best for the holiday season.
Our best regards
Alba and Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
615 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#3 of 11 in Poggibonsi
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#7 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
211 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
80 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Canonica di Cortine
La Canonica di Cortine
#4 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -

Property: Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Address: Strada di Ponzano 8, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone house built on top of a hill with a marvelous view over the Chianti hills. Easily reachable (only 4.5 Km from the exit Barberino on the main road connection between Florence and Siena). Many typical Tuscan Restaurants near by. We can arrange wine tasting and visit to the cellars of different farms. The central location of our property will allow you not only to visit Florence, Siena and San Gimignano (which are only 30 minute away by car) but also to visit Pisa and Lucca - on the north of Tuscany - and Montalcino, Pienza and Montepulciano - on the south of Tuscany - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany - reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Ponzano - Chianti Area - Tuscany - Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
Torre Di Ponzano - Chianti Area - Tuscany - Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing