We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable. Good base for visiting Chianti wineries.”
Review of Hotel Semifonte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Semifonte
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location is both easy to find and quite good for visiting many of the Chianti producers. They did not receive (or notice) my request for a bath tub (online reservation), but they found one for us once I asked in person. Noticeable failure: There was some promotion that included a glass of local wine to participants. The wine was on display and two glasses were poured for two people who checked in just before me. The lobby was hot (at least 80 degrees F) and the sun was directly on the bottles. This is a complete disservice to the winery and people who live in this area should know that! Warm red wine is awful. Chianti should be served closer to 65 degrees than 85 (I assume the wine they were serving was Chianti).

The hallway was carpeted down the middle, but it wasn't installed properly and had ripples in it that may cause tripping or problems with roller-luggage. The room was a bit larger than the first, with a decent bed, small reefer and a hairdryer. There was a very nice, large window overlooking the parking lot and the city. While it was warm in the late-April afternoon sun, it helped cool the room very quickly after the sun set. The room had the common requirement of a key to get electricity in the room; This hotel's key was a cable jack (like for stereo headphones). Fortunately, this jack can easily be removed from the keys so that batteries can be charged while you're out of the room.

The clerk helped me with a dinner reservation and provided directions which may have been good for a local who knows the area, but I must say Italian streets are chaotically laid out and are littered with lawless drivers that all led to wasting 40 minutes to travel a mere 2 km as the bird flies.

Breakfast was typical of Italy, with lots of pastries, cereal and yoghurt. There was a good selection of fruit and beverages, though the juices were offered from the bottle; I can’t think of another hotel or agriturismo I have stayed in (over a dozen) that didn’t serve juice in a pitcher – especially when it’s cheap juice.

The woman at the front desk that morning who checked us out was less than interested in my alerting her of the previous day’s wine abomination.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 443 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Chianti region in Tuscany, so if you are by car and you are visiting the region, it is a good place to stop. The rooms are clean, large enough, the breakfast is plenty and the staff is there if you need them. It is advisable to have a GPS if you don't know the area. I would recommend it only as a stop point in the region.

http://www.semifontehotel.it/Homepage-eng/

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalomaBlanca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Rooms were a little bit small for 2adults and 2 Teens, but it was manageable, considering the perfect location between Pisa, Siena and Florence. Staff was more than helpful with directions, train tickets, winery tours and more. The minibar didnt work, but reception offered to replace it right away. Nice room, clean, good standard, air conditioning worked […] perfectly. Dog friendly with some areas for walking the dog nearby. Other reviews say it's located in an industrial area which is partly true, but if it is a spectacular view you are after, choose an agritorismo up on the hills instead. Semifonte lies close to a big supermarket, Pam, and a big shoe store and some other stores. Train station and the village of poggibonsi is just a mile away. Good food and service at the hotel restaurant. Really good value, would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here one night in May, but only for the location. It's a nice place, but has faults. The desk staff are really weak - rare in Tuscany. Wrong room (wanted smoking), wrong info about shopping in this very urban area, and wrong directions to local sites. When I finally settled in for the night, the TV just didn't work and the only place I could plug in my laptop was the bathroom. The only reason I'm giving a three is for the nice pool and good breakfast and free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed the at Hotel Semifonte for 10 nights recently. We were delighted by the welcome we received and impressed at how clean and inviting it was. We were shown to the bar first for a cold, fresh beer by Daniele who was extemely helpful and answered all our questions about Italy. The room was clean and functional, in fact spotless, and the beds were very comfortable. We were treated wonderfully for the duration of our stay, our room was cleaned daily, fresh sheets and towels every day. The restaurant, although basic, was neat and tidy. The food was lovely with a good choice on the menu for all. Breakfast was good, with staff constantly refreshing everything. The wine was great, we favoured prosecco by the pool!! The pool was a welcome relief considering the heat (between 30-40 degrees most days).
The only thing we would say is the location is not very pretty, very industrial and on a main road. However it was easy enough to hire taxis, (with the help of reception) and get buses and trains to our chosen destinations, and there are plenty of tours to choose from too. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and felt very looked after and comfortable at all times. The local town (Poggibonsi) is only a 15 minute walk and is very historical when you explore it properly. So a HUGE thank you to all the staff, especially Daniele, Firiane and Paulo for making our first stay in Italy a very pleasant one. We will certainly return one day!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrshope77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

After reading all the reviews my fiancee and I were very excited to stay but the room is nowhere as nice as the pictures displayed, the service was terrible and the hotel is located in what feels like the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival, the man at reception told us that he did not have our confirmation which was placed with hotels.com. Only after searching around and lots of waiting did he find it. Secondly, we dined in the hotel's dining room where we were treated with some disdain. Finally, upon checking out, we inquired about an item on our bill just to be treated again with some disdain. Certainly not the service that seems to be reflected in these reviews.
On the flip side, perhaps we just got served by people who were having a bad day and so be it. Nonetheless, definitely not worth the US$100 we paid. We have stayed at many hotels throughout Italy at less than this with much better service and higher quality. I would say it would be a good deal at around US$60.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bouvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Matteo Rosa at the reception on May 19, 2012 was most helpful !
Our NEW iPhone fell in the hotel lobby just when a large Italian group of tourists entered the lobby. Thank you Matteo for all your help with locating the new iPhone couple of hours later, which was with one of the tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonbonbon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
1.9 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
685 reviews
4 mi away
Quercia al Poggio
Quercia al Poggio
#4 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
56 reviews
3.6 mi away
Borghetto di San Filippo
Borghetto di San Filippo
#3 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#5 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
31 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#6 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
232 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Canonica di Cortine
La Canonica di Cortine
#4 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Semifonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Semifonte

Address: Via Pisana 1, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: $64 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Semifonte 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Semifonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semifonte Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing