We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hospitality in Chianti!”
Review of Fattoria Casa Sola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Casa Sola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had the privilege of meeting the owners of this beautiful agriturismo three years ago. The owners and the staff at Fattoria Casa Sola always provide charming accommodations and, in my opinion, some of the best wines and olive oil in Italy.

As a celebration of a recent event, I hosted my parents and 22-others there. They were so kind in helping my family navigate around Italy, not to mention that they hosted a wine tasting, a tour of the vineyards, and a dinner for the group. There are many great restaurants in the region, but there chef will happily make an authentic tuscan meal right in your own kitchen.

The accommodations were absolutely perfect - with our large group, we took over much of one property, but they can accommodate many sizes.

I live in Rome, but have greatly enjoyed staying there on many occasions. I have even had their wine shipped to Rome. Don't hesitate to ask - they are more than happy to ship, even to the States.

You'll fall in love with Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

first of all the area is beautiful. Totally isolated, the villa was in the middle of the vine yard, amazing view. the closest little town has pretty much everything and just a short drive. the house is very comfortable, though because there were no available villas for couples we actually stayed in a 2 bedroom villa- so we had lots of space. The area is full of amazing restaurants, beautiful routs and ancient little towns and we enjoyed just wondering around drinking wine and eating amazing food.
we didn't use the pool since it wasn't the season but I can see why it's annoying the pool is so far away from the accommodation. Probably would have been disappointed if was thinking of using it but- that wasn't the case so didn't mind.
The service is a bit lacking and a bit absent at times. For the first two nights we were freezing and didn't understand how to turn the heating on- turns out you need to ask in advance cus it takes 12 hours till it starts! So if I can advice you to ask in the morning to turn the heating for the evening.
Their wine is fabulous, the view is breathtaking, and just what we wanted from Tuscany! We had a wonderful time and would definitely go again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jasmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Casa Sola is a great place to spend at least a week.
It is a working fattoria which also gives it it's charm.
The red appartment is located at a 10 minute walk from the main house and is a charming little house with a lot of privacy. It has a small pool shared with some of the other appartments and at the main house there is a large and pleasant pool.
People at the front desk are very helpfull and will arrange and advise on where to eat and which places to see and visit.
Lots of charming litttle villages and great restaurants from top of the bill to great local finds.
Ilaria will go out of her way to make you comfortable and create a fantastic holiday experience. The Casa Sola wine and olive oil are not to be missed: really superb wine and olive oil.
Do join the tour of the fattoria and the wine tasting.
We can certainly recommend a holiday here, both with and without kids

Saskia and Ralph

Room Tip: red appartment is a bit separate and has a lot o privacy and is very cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgr164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during our honeymoon tour of Tuscany, and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. We stayed in the newer satellite site (not named after colors) and found the room to be wonderful. The bed was very large and comfortable. The living area was clean, although our couch was broken, so difficult to sit comfortably there. The kitchen and bathroom are both very typical for Europe and thoroughly adequate for what we needed. We booked a private cooking lesson with a local woman one evening, and while she did bring a couple of nicer pans, she cooked a 3 course meal (including homemade ravioli) using the small stove, fridge and counters without difficulty. Our terrace was private and lovely, although very buggy (it's a farm in Tuscany). It was a bit disappointing how far the pool was from the facility, but it could be walked on the hiking path in 15 minutes, or we could drive the 5 minutes down from our room. Wifi was only available on a small patio near the pool. There is no TV or phone in the apartment - as this was our honeymoon, the limited electrical entertainment was perfect for us, but may not be for everyone. The poolside also had a lot of games for families - table tennis, bocce, swing set. The office was happy to help us find restaurants or activities all over Tuscany. We went on the wine tour and tasting, which we thoroughly enjoyed, and would recommend to people who didn't want to stay at the hotel part. Overall, very conveniently located - only 30 minutes to Florence, 60 minutes to Siena and most Tuscan towns under an hour.

Room Tip: Salvia room was great for a couple - felt very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kam239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in Casa Sola for 2 weeks in the summer of 2013. The location is really (but really) distant of any kind of civilisation. We like it that way, since you can really escape in Italy. Closest town worth visiting is a 20 minute drive, closest supermarket (big enough) is a 30 minute drive. Plus: there is a centre for horseback riding close to Casa Sola, so you can enjoy the Tuscan landscape in a different way.

Casa Sola itself is divided in three locations. There is the part with the reception desk and the swimming pool, where also the owners live. Then there are 2 'satellite' locations where the visitors stay. These extra locations are, however, not just a short step of the swimming pool, but a (minimum) 5 minute drive on roads you actually need a 4x4 car. You can't walk to the swimming pool from your accommodation, but you always have to take a car/scooter (scooter rent is 50€/day in a 'close' village). For us, this was really disappointing since we were two couples. If one couple wanted to visit a city in Tuscany or other, the other couple had to stay in the accommodation or at the swimming pool during the other couples visit. In one of the two locations, a very small swimming pool was installed to cope with complaints, but is not satisfactory. The central swimming pool itself is quite large, but not big enough for all the guests. Beautiful view though.

The accommodations are all divided in colours (green, pink, etc...). We stayed in the Pink apartment. We had a terrace that served as entrance with enough chairs etc. The main floor is divided in the living room and the kitchen. The living room had one sofa for 2 persons and a table with 6 chairs. Let's say it's not luxurious, but it was fine. The kitchen is not fine at all. On the website there is talk of a 'fully equipped' kitchen, but this is not the case. Words can't describe how disappointing this was. Small (3 m²), no equipment at all and dirty. When talking to other visitors, it appeared that was the same for all the houses. On the second floor there were 2 rooms and the bathroom. The rooms were as the living room, fine but not very comfortable. The bathroom is in a real need for renovation. Still, everything worked, even the shower when we complained is didn't work properly.

Summary: for this kind of money (2500€ for two weeks) you can certainly find a much better accommodation in Tuscany. We came home and were glad that was the case.

Room Tip: Not the pink room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent almost two hours touring the vineyard at Casa Sola. Our tour was prearranged and upon arrival, we were met by the owner and were taken on a very intimate look at the behind the scenes secrets of his vineyard and wine making. This tour was very special because it was conducted by the owner who was able to verbalize how different and unique his vineyard is. The wine tasting was very special, our family and the owner. The owner walked us through each of his wines, unique features and distinctions. Casa Sola is not a mass production vineyard. CASA SOLA is a small boutique vineyard producing amazing wine and olive oil.

Room Tip: We did not stay at Casa Sola, we just took the tour and tasting at Casa Sola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagotennisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had rented 2 apartments (villa) at Casa Sola. We had paid in full 2 months in advance. We had a 2 hour drive from Modena to Casa Sola area in heavy rain and notified staff in the afternoon that we may be late checking in. Upon this, they were wanting to charge 50 euros if we checked in between 6-8 PM and 100 euros after that. Bear in mind we had paid close to 1500 euros for 3 days already for our stay. Maria and Ilaria whom we had dealt with all the while defended their position that they have to pay their employees overtime to stay late. Aren't you in hospitality business? They did refund the 50 euros back because we bought quite a few wine bottles.
The location is good, and peaceful. However there seems to be better amenities at other winery/villas in this area. The villa was clean, but very very dated. Shower heads falling apart, no microwave, very uncomfortable beds. If it was not for a specialty experience we would have not stayed here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisvilleRamadaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barberino Val d'Elsa hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#6 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
230 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Semifonte
Hotel Semifonte
#1 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
440 reviews
4 mi away
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area ...
#1 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
172 reviews
2.2 mi away
Borghetto di San Filippo
Borghetto di San Filippo
#3 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
35 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bosco ai Marzi
Bosco ai Marzi
#3 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Casa Sola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Casa Sola

Address: Via di Cortine 5, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: $82 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These are apartments and rates are per week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fattoria Casa Sola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Casa Sola Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
Fattoria Casa Sola Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing