We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If Only I Had More Time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Canonica di Cortine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Canonica di Cortine
Certificate of Excellence
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If Only I Had More Time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I only had a one night stay here but would have gladly stayed longer. The staff were wonderful and very helpful, Stefano collected me from San Donato and also took me to catch the bus the next day. The room was clean, huge bed, and the grounds were beyond immaculate. A real oasis. The pool area and conveniently located seating areas throughout the grounds were so inviting. The breakfast room was lovely and the food delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon from Cortine!
Thank you very very much for your nice review : we are happy to read your nice words about the room, the pool, our breakfast and the gardens! All our staff does a really good work to maintain the property the way you have enjoyed it!
Awaiting to welcoming you again, we send you our warmest greetings!
Stefano, Lucia & all Cortine staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    30
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
84
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have stayed here in the apartment villa (4 adults). The place is spacious, on the lover floor is a living room and big table to dine at. Outside is small private patio which is very nice. The kitchen is little bit tool old and the dish washer has been there for a long time I guess. Also bit more glasses and spoons, etc...would help. However there is a full fridge which was great for us. On the top floor there were 2 bedroom and large bathroom. The plumbing must be very old as you could hear some strange noise coming out of the sink when downstairs there was running water. But again the house is really couple hundred years old so that is reason.

Locations as such was great, close to nice San Donatto village as well as to couple of vineries such as excellent Casa Sola in walking distance. There is a lot of trees, and flowers just around, so the whole resort is really green. However beware that ideal time to go is when it is really hot outside, as in May we have been a bit cold inside and the heating did not worked.

I have never been to similar accommodations, however was surprised to hear that when we have ran out of the toilet paper we were told to buy our own (strange...). On the other hand the stuff was very help full in advising what to see around how to get there, where to park etc..

I suggest to well look on the map before you get there as it was bit hard to find it without a good map or GPS. How ever the people in San Donatto where very helpfull.

In my opinion you need to have car here, but that is most likely obvious. Over all we had a good time here, however next time I want to check something else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukinnko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good afternoon from La Canonica di Cortine, and thank you for the time you spent with us last spring and for leaving your feedback.
We are sorry to read you did not completely enjoy your stay with us and we will take into great consideration your suggestions in order to improve our services.

We hope to welcoming you in the near future again and remain with best regards
Lucia Fusi, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is one of the charismatic places we love so much. A set of villas with some history, distinctive Tuscan interiors, lush gardens and beautiful views. Very tranquil and comfortable base for exploring Tuscany - most of interesting places are just a short drive (and if you drive the country roads, you will enjoy the spectacular views).

Room Tip: We particulary loved the Villa rooms and halls; however, this is a difficult catch because it is usu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleksandr_Svyryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your stay with us and your feedback. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope to welcoming you once again in Cortine in the future.
Best wishes and regards

Lucia Fusi and all Cortine staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I plus our 26 year old daughter and her significant other spent 5 nights in this wonderful setting. This was on our "bucket list" - to find a romantic place to stay in the Tuscan countryside and La Canonica di Cortine http://www.chianticortine.it/en/history.html was perfect. The ancien parsonage has been exquisitely re-built by the current owners Stefano and his wife Lucia, who along with the staff Most speak good English), made us all feel very welcome. Thanks to careful renovation, the mansion, the group of houses and the small church in front of them, exude the charm of a fne, hilltop aristocratic mansion. The location is perfect - almost exactly halfway between Florence and Siena and not far off the main road between the two. We visited both magnifient cities, world-famous nearby San Gimignano, multiple quaint towns in Chianti, and the lovely nearby medieval villages of San Donato and Castellina in Chianti. We went wine tasting at the beautiful 57 acre vineyard Castellare di Castellina 2 km from Castellina and had wonderful meals everywhere we went. If you want a special treat (and have some extra money) make sure that you eat at Osteria di Passignano in Loc. Badia a Passignano http://www.osteriadipassignano.com/ - about 10 minutes drive from La Canonica and a truly memorable experience.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Solatio house, which was originally a barn of the Castle of Cortine. It had a pleasant dining room and a romantic fireplace with a compact kitchen that led directly onto a delightful outdoor patio. On the ground floor there was one bedroom and a bathroom with shower and an ancient stone staircase lead up to the other bedroom, with its en-suite bathroom. This arrangement is probably perfect for families but - being a little picky - not ideal for two couples since the upstairs bedroom is private (it is, after all, on the 2nd floor) but open to sounds from below. We made breakfast every morning and cooked most eventings. The only other drawback was that the cable TV arrangement was difficult to operate and there was only one channel (news) in English but that simply meant that we opened a bottle of wine and enjoyed each other's company instead! In sum, this was a magical place - we hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SD3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Good day from La Canonica di Cortine.

Thank you for your time and for your nice words. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with. We hope to welcoming you soon and send you our warmest regards!

Lucia Fusi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My 2 girlfriends and I spent one week on Rome and one week in Tuscany. During the drive from Rome to the Villa we were robbed while in a rest stop. Upon our arrival we were quite stressed but very excited as soon as we saw La Canoncia di Cortine. Stella and Stefano were very warm and welcoming and had waited for our late arrival. The accomodations are picture perfect and the people in the surrounding area are warm and welcoming. It was the most romantic trip (Even if I was with friends) and La Canoncia di Cortine was enchanting beyond description. I plan on going back to La Canoncia in May 2012.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Janet,

thank you so much for all your nice words. It is a pleasure reading that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your time in Cortine.
We are all waiting your next visit next year.

Warmest regards
Lucia Fusi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This place is what we dreamed about to stay during our Tuscan holiday. Initially, we planned to stay for one night (booked using www.booking.com) but when we arrived at the place we were surprised by the beauty of this property and the surroundings. Bedroom is typical Tuscan country style, spacious bathroom There is wi-fi available in the lounge (outside the breakfast room) and the lounge was so comfortable we stayed hours reading books and surfing internet and chilled out at night. There was a fireplace but dormant, pity they didnt use it.

I highly recommend this place for romantic escapade or family holiday (they have villa for bigger party). We will definitely come back. Btw, the restaurant nearby "La Locanda di Pietracupa" is great and quiet (well maybe I went during their off season in winter time) and very private, serving modern Tuscan dishes. 5 minutes drive from the property.

My only negative is the location, we came to Tuscany to visit Siena, Pienza, Montalcino. It is quite a drive to these places, though it is a good base if your goal is to relax and explore the Chianti regions and taste their wines. Well, thats what we did anyway - we changed our itinerary to explore Chianti region, Panzano in Chianti, Volpaia, Radda in Chinati, Greve in Chianti - these are really beautiful villages. We had no regret. Drank lots of excellent Chianti wines.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Good day from Canonica di Cortine, and thank you for having found the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcoming you again soon.
Warmest regards
Lucia Fusi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Two of my sisters and I originally planed to visit La Canonica di Cortine in 2002. We had put a deposit down but in the end opted for a cruise. We passed on the deposit to a friend and she has returned 3 times. That was all we needed to hear when we planning a big birthday
celebration this fall. This time however, there were 9 of us coming so we needed the largest villa possible...Castrum. We were coming from Kuwait, Arizona, New Hampshire and Atlanta, so communicating all the details could have been a challenge. Right from the very beginning Claudia and Erica took care of every question and detail and very promptly as well. They recommended a local hotel for our first night (a Friday) that was perfect for our first night in Tuscany. I had trouble emailing them and they took care of forwarded messages back and forth for me....great service. By the time we checked into Villa Castrum & Meragio we felt like we were already old friends with the staff. They accommodated everything we asked including great restaurant recommendations. The villa was very well stocked w/ everything we could ever need. We ate 3 large meals there and every breakfast. They were able to steer us to the co-op to buy food, the train station, etc. The grounds were exceptional and we felt the photos on the internet do not do them justice. Absolutely glorious. We were lucky with a very hot Tuscan sun the week we were there and able to use the pool. The bathrooms and bedrooms were spacious and plentiful. There was so much room you could easily spend time by yourself but most of the time we spent either in the kitchen or on the terrace drinking wine!! It was a wonderful vacation for all of us and we all agreed we would return as soon as possible.

If we could leave one recommendation it would be: add a microwave oven. You have every other convenience...but that would have been great. We would also say that you must have a car unless you are there in summer and only want to use the pool and the beautiful grounds. We took day trips every day which we had planned on. We could not recommend this hotel enough....way exceeded our expectations...which were already high to begin with. You can't go wrong with La Conica....they're the best.!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlfoodieAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.8 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quercia al Poggio
Quercia al Poggio
#3 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Canonica di Cortine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Cortine

Property: La Canonica di Cortine
Address: Localita Cortine 20, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Canonica di Cortine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Canonica di Cortine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Cortine Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
La Canonica Di Cortine Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing