We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectular stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Il Santo

Villa il santo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views view of villa il santo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views
view of villa il santo
villa il santo sitting room with fireplace
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo living room with view
villa il santo tv sitting room
villa il santo masterroom
villa il santo master room
master room bath room
vilal il santo twin/double bedroom ground floor
twin bedroom
living room with views
annex bedroom at swimming pool  level
villa il santo master room fire place
il santo dining room
villa il santo dining room
al fresco dining area
Villa il santo areal view
Contemporary look renovation in a 1000 y old villa, heart of Chianti, stunning views, great location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cagojet
Glenview, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spectular stay”
Reviewed December 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for a week with a group of 15 adults. We enjoyed every moment.
The accommodations were beautiful and the food delicious. Annagloria was so helpful with day trips and activity recommendations.
A dream come true.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2017
HI Peter, thank you for your beautiful words, it will help our future guests a lot
happy you enjoyed your stay n can't wait to meet you in a few weeks.
have a Merry Christmas with your family n a marvellous 2018!
annagloria n enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorer7...
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great villa, beautiful, near town. Definitely recommend if traveling with multiple couples or family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to host you soon again
Annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcge22
northeast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular home, incredible views, amazing vacation”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I think it's safe to say that we all wish we were still at Villa il Santo! Two families traveled (13 people in total) from two parts of the U.S. to come together for this magical vacation. The home is exquisite. Simple yet lush at the same time. There was ample room for all of us, with various indoor and outdoor sitting areas. We took advantage of the whole property, including the garden area (which became a bocce tournament court), refreshing pool and hot tub (it was hot when we were there - we spent a LOT of time in that pool!). We enjoyed dinner at the home a few evenings, as well as a lovely breakfast one morning. The home is surrounded by olive groves and grape vineyards and the views are amazing. Sitting outside in the morning with coffee and gazing at San Gimignano in the distance will make you not want to leave. The sunsets are equally gorgeous.

Annagloria was wonderful in assisting us with restaurant and activity recommendations of all types. In general, she and her husband Enzo were very responsive to any needs we had before and during our trip. A highlight of our time was a welcome dinner/jazz concert at Annagloria & Enzo's home's outdoor gardens under the stars. Just fantastic.

If you're looking to cook at Villa il Santo, everything you could need is there. There is WiFi connection throughout and a TV / DVD setup (though we didn't turn on the TV once when we were there - even with two younger kids in our party).

Driving is a must. There are many lovely restaurants and shops, as well as two grocery stores, nearby. The home is very close to Siena, San Gimignano and Florence. And please don't miss the lovely home town of Barberino Val d'Elsa and nearby town of Tavarnelle Val di Pesa. You will fall in love with Villa il Santo; collectively our family can't say enough about how great our experience was. Grazie mille Annagloria and Enzo for a wonderful trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
well...I am speachless...thank you for your review, you are too kind!! so happy to read our guests enjoyed the vacation!! soo happy!!!
hope to host you soon again , it has been such a pleasure for us to meet you n your lovely family/friends
Annagloria n Enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikaamer...
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We chose the perfect spot for our very discerning and well traveled group of 3 families for a total of 14 adults and young adults at Villa Il Santo. We have stayed in many places and we all agreed this was our best venue as far as quality of the villa, lay out, views and comfort. It was casual but with style, in very good condition and we had the cleaners come every day and they did a great job. we loved the different options for being together throughout the villa which offered different views and sun or shade.Everyone was happy with their rooms, and we can't always say that.

Some of us had a lovely morning walk each day through the country side. We would make our own breakfast and then hop in the car and were off for yet another Tuscany experience. All of our visits were easily located, Florence was the fastest to get to, 30 minutes or so, but then you had to find the parking which took a bit longer.

We had a minor plumbing issue one day and owners had immediate service on it, which we were happy about. Heading down the gravel driveway took us a couple of times to get acclimated, but after that we were accustomed to our private drive!

We deemed the location and privacy of Villa il Santo perfect and we enjoyed incredible views of the valleys of Tthe Chiati region and will remember this trip for years to come as beautiful and touching...we will always have fond memories of our very gracious hosts as well, the beauty of the people, the food and the gorgeous countryside. Bravo Anna Gloria and Enzo, you are wonderful! Please come and visit us soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2018
hi Erika
so sorry for delay in replying to your wonderful review
happy to read it n to see how much you enjoyed your stay. we loved to meet you n your family n friends and to know about Persian culture
hopefully will see you next wintering California or back in italy
ciao Annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jochanim
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beautiful spacious villa in the Chianti region”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Incredible setting in a postcard perfect tuscan hillside within driving distance of the most beautiful historic, quaint towns of Tuscany, Chianti and Umbria. Accommodates large families and groups. We spend some of the most memorable moments in this setting! Watched the most spectacular sunsets from the side patio and enjoyed delicious home-cooked dinners in the outdoor dining area.
Hope to get back there soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thank you for your nice review n it has been a pleasure to meet you n your friends kids...we enjoyed meeting you n to talk about Iranian culture!
happy to know you have fond memories n hope to host you soon again
annagloria and enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsoncnati...
north carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“perfect family vacation”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Villa il santo is the perfect Tuscan villa. W had an extended family of 5 couples plus 3 small children, all coming from different parts of the US. My husband and I got very lost trying to find it, but Annagloria, our host, saved us by coming to us and leading us there.
The villa is beautiful beyond belief, with views that are amazing. There was plenty of space for everyone. We used the chef service every night, which was a dream. The food was traditional Tuscan, which means a lot of food, but it was delicious and varied. They cooked and cleaned up, so we just relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful sunset with wine every night.
The streets in Italy are challenging and very curvy, so we chose not to venture out at night.
The air conditioning worked great as did WIFI. We did a lot of wine tastings and ate lunch out. We loved San Giminangna.
I cannot recommend this villa strong enough. I hope we can all go back some day and would like to stay longer.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2018
hi so happy to hear about your review n sorry for my delay in replying.it was wonderful to me you n your family in friends n to rescue you too!!!
Next time you come I will help you in exploring some other nice little villages so you will have fond memories of ur architectural, rural like
a big hug
Annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A truly spectacular villa with amazing service and great views. One can really feel at home here and enjoy the country vibe of Tuscany. Higlhy recommended !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
HI Rob
great to read your review n happy to see you enjoyed your stay and you still have fond memories of your stay. hope to host you soon again
have a great summer
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing