We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice find off the beaten track”

Osteria L'Antica Quercia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice find off the beaten track”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed nearby at the Fattoria Sant'Appiano in April, 2012. Lovely dining experience. Felt like on of the family. Steak Florentine was an other worldly experience. Only locals in the joint. Doesn't get much better.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RFM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    81
    21
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“ate here twice”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

lovely tuscan food served on lovely terrace. lots of tourists but still has authentic feel. Excellent fish served (not every day though, best to check in advance)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davieeeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bad service - beware if you have a nut allergy”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The quality of the food was good but we had an unhappy experience here.

One waiter tried very hard to help us BUT
1. A second waiter was very loud and distracted the other waiters (such as shouting across the seated customers to his colleagues). He thought himself very funny .
2 this waiter also did not take our concerns about one of our party who has a severe nut allergy at all seriously - he merely made fun of it - this was very dangerous
3 The chef forgot to cook our order of roast potatoes
4 The staff were distracted by the loud waiter so much the actual service between courses was too slow for a lot of customers

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank whinfellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Hidden Gem'”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have visited Osteria L'Antica Quercia 6 times over the past 2 years and we have never been disappointed.
In May 2003 We brought our wedding party here near the end of our trip, approx. 36 people, where we sat outside in the terrace with beautiful views and atmosphere.
As we were a large group, we were happy to eat a selection of foods recommended by the owner and staff.
The food is excellent value for money, quality and flavour is truly wonderful.
Every time we have visited we are always remembered (probably due to the fact that we took over the terrace at one point).. which I have to add that 2 days after we had our large dining experience, my husband and I went back for a meal and to say goodbye - the food yet again was perfect, service and wine delicious.

May 2013 - we visited again with with 12 in our party - service, food and atmosphere great with a lovely vibrant atmosphere. Complimentary glasses of prosecco while our food arrives.
We will never miss a visit here when we are over in Tuscany. Menu - hard to choose just one or two dishes as all so lovely! local produce used, wild boar and rabbit dishes are fantastic!! The roasted potatoes are to die for!! garlic, rosemary and breadcrumbs!!
Deserts...chocolate pizzas...what else is there to add...heaven !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G3m48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Wonderful food and servers”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had dinner here on our recent trip to Tuscany. It was one of the most beautiful settings I've ever seen. The owner and servers were charming and accommodating, even taking a chef in our party into the kitchen to meet and speak with their chef. The tab was very inexpensive for all the delicious food (and wine) we consumed. Ask for Vanessa to serve your table -- she was charming and lovely!!! I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria L'Antica Quercia also viewed

Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
 
Poggibonsi, Province of Siena
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria L'Antica Quercia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing