We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant of Our Trip!”

Il Paese dei Campanelli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got married at Borgo Petrognano right across the street in June. We had rented out the borgo for the week and were excited to see this gem so close. It’s literally across the street, everyone walked there. I had no idea how amazing it would turn out to be! When we walked up, we saw the beautiful view that spans for miles. And the driveway is lined with rose bushes that were in full bloom. As we entered the dining area the decor is so charming, homey, and warm feeling. It’s like you’re going into someone’s home. The owner’s adorable children were playing tag in the lawn and their sweet dog was sleeping on a chair. It was like something out of a movie. We had a very large group (around 25 people) and they were able to accommodate us. There are what look to be homemade tablecloths on the tables which is such a lovely touch. The service was fantastic. And the food...amazing! Everyone who ate with us loved their meal. The overwhelming consensus was that it was the best food of our 2 week trip. We had a mix of family and friends from all walks of life. This food was a hit with everyone. The house wines (both red and white) were delicious. I can’t say enough good things about this place. We ate here every chance we got and every time it was superb. If you are anywhere close to the area, you must come by!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank MichelleMcNett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked in a nearby farm and with our great surprise left us the keys in this beautiful restaurant, with a great service, very friendly staff and great kitchen, we will definitely be back

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank NickMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were greeted with warmth and friendliness by the host despite not being ready for service (our fault for being too early!). We enjoyed having nibbles in the lovely garden. The decor in the restaurants was eclectic but yet very well done and pleasing on the eye. Lots of choice on the menu and when the food came was beautifully presented, extremely tasty and great quality. The staff also very friendly and accommodating.
Was also great value for the quality of the food.
It’s tucked away in a very picturesque tiny village but definitely worth the visit!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MARTY101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

We had a group of 10 an we were staying nearby. What fortunate people we were! First, the building is cool and historic with lovely grounds next to a vineyard. Part of the building was the original gateway to the old town built in 1200. How neat is that! Food was terrific,owner and his son in law waiter treated us like royalty and the prices were really reasonable. Wine list was just right and very reasonable. Many in the group had sea bream entree which was very good, Bolognese pasta was A1 and don't miss the incredible tiramisu for desert!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank JimmyB726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Not just the food, but also the views, the settings, the hospitality - everything!! This was one gem of a find that we chanced upon as we were staying in a B&B across the street. The owner himself was at our table, and the most gracious host ever. We sat outside in the patio and had a truly wonderful dining experience. He then gave us a tour of the property, a 1200 year old main building that has now been turned into a wine cellar and more dining space - beautiful property and worth a visit!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank ramps55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Paese dei Campanelli also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
Montespertoli, Province of Florence
 
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Paese dei Campanelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing