We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vecchio Fienile Casa Vacanze
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our stay in Vecchio Fienile was amazing. It is set in the countryside and very relaxing yet very close to different places.....you can get to Florence, Pisa and many of the hill towns and yet be back to rest in your apt. here. We loved it. We enjoyed the ability to have the kitchen and cook in when we chose to. Mauricio was great and had many helpful recommendations for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dawn7629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Vecchio Fienile Casa Vacanze
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been holidaying in Tuscany for a number of years and have been lucky enough to stay in some brilliant apartments/villas. But I have to say Vecchio Fienile is up there with the best of them.
Firstly the location is excellent. 1.30 hrs from Pisa airport but more importantly approx 30 mins from both Siena and Florence. San Gimignano is 15 minutes up the road and you are also on the edge of the beautiful Chianti area - homes to villages such as Radda, Castellini and Panzano. Poggibonsi is only six minutes from the apartment - not much to see here but it has an excellent Coop and you can access the dual carriageway which runs between Florence and Siena. So as a base for exploring the best of what Tuscany has to offer Vecchio Fienile is excellent.
The villa itself is stunning - the grounds are manicured and typically Tuscan with views across the hillside which is covered in Olive trees. Our apartment (La Balla) was spacious enough for my wife and I, our two sons and my mother. The owners made sure the rooms were arranged to suit us ahead of our stay. The apartment was well kitted out with kitchen utensils, flatscreen TV, bedding, towels, outdoor furniture and wifi - pretty much everything you can think off is catered for.
The pool area was excellent - the pool itself was spotless - but more importantly for us it was perfect for our kids - close enough to the villas but at the same time just far enough away that they wouldn't stray when our backs were turned.
Vecchio Fienile is minutes from a very busy town (Poggibonsi) but you would never know it - the place is so peaceful and tranquil that it is very easy to switch off and unwind. But at the same time you could be in the centre of Florence within 45 minutes (if you are lucky enough to get a parking space at Piazzale Michaelangelo) and many more of Tuscany's treasures within a similar timeframe.
I wholeheartedly reccommend Vecchio Fienile and I have no doubt we will return in the future.
My tips!
Arrive and head straight to the Coop in Poggibonsi -
Visit San Gimignano and eat at Le Vecchie Mura restaurant - it offers some of the best views from any restaurant in the whole of Italy - and the food is fantastic too.
In Florence visit Santa Maria Novella Pharmacy, buy aftershave/perfume from Lorenzo Villoresi - great products and the world's best view from a shop.
In Siena park at the football stadium (follow the football signs) It's a five minute walk into the centre from here.
In Chianti visit as many of the towns as possible they are all stunning - Castellini and Radda in particular.
And finally drink as much Chianti as you can - you will begrudge paying the prices when you get home!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a home from home with views to die for. A fantastic location not far from "Most of the have to see" Towns and vineyards in this part of Tuscany. Our villa had everything you needed for a very comfortable stay with one of the best kept pools in the most tranquil gardens we have come across, a very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: The apartment Bracciante is the closets to the pool with views from the main bedroom of the towers i...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubySdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I'm amazed there are only 2 reviews for Vecchio Fienile, I can only presume that having found such a wonderful place, noone wants to share it with you.

We are just back after a wonderful 2 weeks. This was our 5th time there (& yes we're hoping to make it No. 6 next year), 2 other couples had been there before and had come back again as well, so I think that says it all.

The location is perfect, San Gim. is 12 miles up the road, it's almost slap bang in the middle between Florence & Sienna (20 miles or so either way) and Sant'Appiano with it's gorgeous restaurant within walking distance & Poggibonsi (with its wonderful supermarkets) 3 miles away.

I wish there was an award for cleanest, best kept pool in Italy because I feel Vecchio Fienile should win, their pool gets as much attention as a new born baby and is an absolute delight. The property is owned & managed by the meticulous Sr. Maurizio Tordini and ably assisted by his lovely daughter Ilaria, they are wonderful at making sure you have the best holiday experience ever, extremely friendly with always great advice about the area & anything else you want to know.

Facilities really are excellent at Vecchio Fienile, the houses & laundry are immaculate (I'm a meticulous dust finder & they give me a run for my money :-)

My favourite holiday moment at Vecchio Fienile is standing with a chilled prosecco in hand at the beautifully made BBQ area, fresh seafood sizzling on the grill, looking out at a spectacular Tuscan sunset & the lights of Poggibonsi twinkling below.

Holidays don't get any better than Vecchio Fienile & that's why (crossing fingers) I hope to be back next year for a 6th time.

Ciao Vecchio Fienile, a presto!

Kerry xo

Room Tip: Buy a fan in the supermarket at Poggibonsi, only 10euros so you can leave it behind. It's hot a...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryMcClernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week in early june and have already asked the owners for a provisional booking next year.
Villa= spacious 2 bed 2 bthroom clean comfortable and well equipped.
Grounds= relaxing, spacious , lovely pool, flowers and enjoyed tranquil evenings watching the sun set and listening to the owls hooting.We were blessed with ideal weather, very warm sunny and a little cloud cover, perfect for sight seeing.
Location=this really was excellent with a good local supermarket providing great produce in Poggibonsi. The beautiful San Gimignano could be seen in the distance from the bedroom window, this was a wonderful place to visit and only approx 25 mins away.Sienna was also easily accessible in addition to Volterra. we liked Sienna but really loved Volterra and best of all SanGimignano.
Thanks Moritzio, we hope to return next year !!

but a little cloud cover at times



perfect for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotcatGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacopo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria T, Owner at Vecchio Fienile Casa Vacanze, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barberino Val d'Elsa hotels
2.8 mi away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#6 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casina di Cioccolata
La Casina di Cioccolata
#8 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Semifonte
Hotel Semifonte
#1 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
83 reviews
3.0 mi away
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area ...
#1 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bosco ai Marzi
Bosco ai Marzi
#3 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vecchio Fienile Casa Vacanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchio Fienile Casa Vacanze

Address: Strada di Poppiano 34, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: $562 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vecchio Fienile Casa Vacanze 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vecchio Fienile is the ideal base for visiting the most interesting cities of Tuscany. It has 5 apartments and each one has private entrance and terrace. Also there is a swimming pool and a big garden around the house. You can bring here your pets during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vecchio Fienile Casa Vacanze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Fienile Casa Vacanze Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing